We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehill Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty and Noisey”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were very disappointed this was our first visit to this campsite and we were looking forward to our family holiday after reading the reviews. However our experience was very poor. The site looked lovely on arrival and we were shown to our pitch we asked to move as we were put right next to a road with 2 small children we were moved but were made to feel this was a real issue. The ladies showers were smelly and dirty with mould in the grouting and the floor was dirty. The toilets were horrible again dirty for the 2 nights we stayed the same dirt was there throughout. We never seen anyone clean. The site is a family site however our kids were unable to sleep due to noise until nearly midnight. After 2 nights we left the site ending our family holiday 5 days early. The bar and bistro looked nice but everything you touched was sticky and greasey. It was a ruined family holiday for us and even the kids were happy to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeavons_Family1, Owner at Whitehill Country Park, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Whitehill Country Park. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed on this occasion. We would like to re-assure our guests that all touring arrivals are personally taken to their pitch by a member of the Whitehill Country Park team, and should you wish to move we will do everything we can to accommodate your needs.

With regards to our facilities, our dedicated housekeeping team pride themselves on ensuring our guests have a clean environment at all times, and make regular checks throughout the day to meet this end. Furthermore, Whitehill Country Park is a family site and we kindly ask that guests keep noise to a minimum in the evenings, with our Evening Customer Service team on hand should you require assistance. Thank you again for your feebback and we hope to see you at Whitehill Country Park soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    99
    54
    17
    8
See reviews for
241
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a great 10 days camping here. Will definitely be back again. Was a bit quiet when we went, enjoyed that. The hay loft bar was ok only went in for a couple of drinks. Lots of things to do and places to see in surrounding areas.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjela68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Whitehill country park for 16 years every august we used to set of and be excited to get to the site and set up! We decided to change our holiday date to July 4 years ago as we had lots of trouble in august e.g gangs of teenagers, balls been kicked at caravans/cars, loud music, domestics, vandalism in the toilets including teenagers ripping toilets of the wall, smashing mirrors in the toilets. This is not the staffs fault the staff were brilliant. There used to be a teenage disco every night, a children's entertainer every night, the cafe used I be open all day until 1am when the pub closed for takeouts. The last few years we have been in July and cannot complain one bit about the service the site has been fab. However we returned this July and we were very disappointed, we arrived on a Sunday and the site was pretty busy, by 4pm it was dead hardly anyone about. After talking to other regular holiday people the weeken people were all there because of the groupon vouchers, which I don't have a problem with the problem was kids kicking footballs at caravans and parents sticking up for there children! There was no respect for others property, ball games should only be allowed on an open field especially not near cars or caravans I no everyone is there for fun. The bar staff were extremly rude not all of them just one to be fair, no glasses were been collected through the week! They would shout last orders at 10.35 and kick you out 10 mins after! Apart from weekends they would shout last orders until 11 and you would leave between 11.30 and 12.00. During the week after been told to leave the bar they would follow you out and lock the door like they couldn't get you out of the bar quick enough. Years ago we used to be in there till 12.30+ when James was running the bar. No takaway open or cafe for food. No entertainment at all during the week, I know regulars on the site that used to come three times a year and we are all considering never coming again as the site has really gone down hill and isn't what it used to be. Very disappointed. We are defiantly trying somewhere different next year and so are others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samlambert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeavons_Family1, Owner at Whitehill Country Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback with regards to your recent stay. All feedback is closely monitored and circulated among our teams and we greatly appreciate all comments. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed on this occasion.

We would like to re-assure our guests that Whitehill Country Park kindly asks customers to respect one another’s property and refrain from playing ball games close to the accommodation and tourers. Every effort is taken to uphold these rules and our grounds team are on hand to assist where possible.

We would also like to take the opportunity to make our guests aware that our Hayloft Café & Takeaway is open daily during July and August, with the Hayloft Bar is open until 11pm each night. Also, we operate a lighter style of entertainment during the off-peak season, but during the school holidays guests will find a wide array of evening entertainment seven nights a week, together with a wealth of daytime activities including pony riding and a climbing wall. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks camping in our tent , 10/10 from the first day to the last , facilities spot on staff very polite & helpfull , good security , well kept fields , booked up for next year while at site , would recommend catching the bus for trips out as car parking is a bit of a nightmare , try the PARKERS
ARMS for a meal or two recommended , just one thing I would like to see is speed limit signs around the site . Overall we enjoyed our stay .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a pod for 4... Great time, kids loved it too! Toilet block impeccable with really good showers and not a spider in sight! We visited Paignton for the amazing Geo Kids park! Would recommend! Swimming pool was fab and the whole site felt safe and clean!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risca, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This site was beautiful! Pitches were a good size- We were close to everything. Pool spotless, take-away food reasonable and tasty. My only compaint is we didn't feel there was enough seats/tables for how large the site is in the entertainment barn, on all 3 nights we could not get a seat and so our son missed out on the fun as we didn't want to sit in another area and let him go there alone. Apart from that we had a fab time :o)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem_walker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had an amazing time! Really friendly site and not too hectic, the vibe is brilliant and chilled which gave me the confidence to let my boys ride around on their bikes which they arnt usually able to do at many sites. Nice spacious pitch aswell! We will be back again this year!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
3.1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
22.7 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
1.8 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 22 in Paignton
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehill Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehill Country Park

Property: Whitehill Country Park
Address: Stoke Road, Paignton TQ4 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Whitehill Country Park is nestled in rolling Devon hills making it the perfect spot to get back to nature with its endless walking trails and quaint on-site facilities. The dog-friendly holiday park boasts camping pods, boutique holiday caravans with hot tubs, luxury lodges, touring and camping and a wealth of on-site facilities offering something for all ages. Situated in 40 acres of glorious grounds, the surrounding fields are home to 130 species of flowering plants and ferns, with a private woodland providing perfect family walks, plus Letterbox and Nature Trails, outdoor heated pool, Shire Craft Centre, outdoor play areas, table tennis, amusement arcade, pool table and much more. On-site facilities also include a Hayloft Bar and Terrace, Hayloft Café and Takeaway and Country Shop selling a delicious range of local produce. In the evenings, enjoy music from local musicians or head to The Granary for children's discos and more. Plus in the daytime take part in pony riding, birds of prey demonstrations and poolside BBQs to name just a few. Situated in a perfect setting to explore the English Riviera, Whitehill Country Parks is close to many picturesque beaches together with a wealth of attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Whitehill Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehill Country Park Hotel Paignton
Whitehill Country Park Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing