We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing the place already” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitehill Country Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Whitehill Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Missing the place already”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Whitehill country park is everything a camper needs. Kids enjoying outdoor life - playing football, laughing, running around - and freedom. The showers can get crowded but this should be expected at the peak of the holiday season. Our pitch was on the top of the hill with a beautiful view - couldn't believe how near to Paignton we were. Recommend the Parkers Arms at the turning into Stoke Road - Lovely meals and good value. Would definitely go to this site again. Everyone friendly and the pool is actually a decent temperature. There are sloping pitches but they seem to be mainly non-electric.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    96
    51
    16
    8
See reviews for
224
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having experienced the other Beverley Holiday Parks we decided to call in to check out the Whitehill facilities. As we were staying with Beverley Holidays we could use all the facilities at Whitehill during our holiday. This is a really large spacious site with plenty of facilities that are kept clean and tidy. Static caravans, pods, lodges, caravans and tents can all be found on site. Evening entertainment is provided in the Hayloft where all the usual drinks can be purchased. There is an outdoor heated swimming pool and plenty of children's play areas.
It is a little inland from the coast but there are loads of lovely walks to be taken to nearby villages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back from a fantastic relaxing family holiday at Whitehill, we stayed in a lodge which was spacious and clean, plenty to do on site, heated pool and very friendly helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this park and hope to visit again soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

As avid campers we are always on the look out for well maintained camp sites with enough facilities to keep the children entertained, with 4 children ranging from 1 to 14 (we are not the 'Haven' 'Butlins' sorta fan, just too much) - we certainly found this to site to be one of the best so far! - We camped at Whitehill for 9 nights, choosing a large level pitch and were pleased to find on arrival we had been given just that - situated in Sweethill with views out over the countryside. Staff always friendly, pool always manned and great fun for all ages (busy at times, but to be expected) Bar great and also good pub grub and takeaway till 10pm (pizza was lush!). Large shop with very reasonably priced goods. We were worried that as with past sites they would not be enough for the children and the arguing would start!! - however the boys had a great time and having other activities bookable through reception (wall climbing,archery, pony rides) they were kept entertained in the day, it did help that we actually got some sunshine!. I did like the fact that there was a separate lounge for entertainment in the evening so you could decide if you just wanted a pint at the bar or something a bit more lively!! - Pool 50p a game! All in all a great find - obviously some people find fault be we understand if there is evening entertainment you will have noise, if you have children, there will be crying, screaming, laughter and ball games, but isn't that what a holiday is all about? as long as the respect for your neighbours is there then i am sure you will have a great time - didn't need to leave the site! Thank you Whitehill, my search for next years holiday has now begun - i am having a hard time trying to find something similar!

Room Tip: Sweethill (top of field) large flat pitches
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cackles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from a very pleasant 8 night stay at whitehall country park. We are campers, arrived just at 12 noon and was welcomed by a lovely staff member who quickly booked us in and had another very friendly staff member escort us to our pitch. We had booked this pitch online and through a 3rd party....hence our first problem we had booked an extra large pitch for large tent and gazebo however what we were given was to small and on a total slope ( now we don't expect a billard table but didnt expect such a slope) the gents who escorted us were very helpful in trying to find us another pich and in really good time. Still on a slope but looked like most pitches had a slight slope so took what we could reception lent us some bricks so we could prop our bed up to a decent level. The showers and toilets were very clean i went in the one nearest us and was impressed till our neighbours told us about the new block...lovely too! Never had to wait for a shower either. Bar is nice (bit warm) but the bartenders again a lovely friendly bunch, live music most nights, we didnt stay in bar for long most nights but could still hear music at tent, however but about 11.30 all was quiet. Swimming pool was nice. Well stocked shop for any emergency requirements. The views were lovely too. We probably wouldnt stay again but only because of the slopes and we like to venture about...plus i do like a slightly smaller site just for touers and tents but that is personal preferance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgoodearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from an amazing 12 nights here. Friendly staff' clean site and good facility's. Bar open till late a lovely heated outdoor pool and quiet and peaceful unlike what other reviews say would return year after year top quality place to stay. Good kids entertainment and local singers in the bar most nights even the shops prices are almost if not the same as supermarkets offsite can't fault the whole experience

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first time camping & as we love the Torbay area we decided on this site as it also had a pool.
First impressions of the site are very good, you can see the lovely setting & everything looks well looked after & clean. We were very quickly escorted to our pitch, which i though was a very nice touch.
The camping pitch we were designated was lovely, not too far from the well kept amenities.
There was a small amount of noise but not excessive at night, mainly from kids & teenagers enjoying their holiday, (we were all young once!), but everything was quiet for 10:30. Being a very light sleeper I was never woken in the night so all must have been quiet.
The pool was awesome, smallish but excellent none the less, we were in every day at opening time & our little boy loved it.
Only went to the bar once as we're not drinkers but it had a nice atmosphere, the staff were very polite, service was excellent & reasonably priced. The cafe was good but again we only ate from there the once as we tended to eat out more often than not.
The shop was very good, well stocked & reasonably priced to say there was no competition in walkable distance.

I could go on about how much we enjoyed the site but I won't bore you all. What I will say is we enjoyed our first camping trip so much & the site impressed me & my wife so much we've booked the exact same pitch for summer 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMJFLETCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
2.0 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 22 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
22.7 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
14.5 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehill Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehill Country Park

Property: Whitehill Country Park
Address: Stoke Road, Paignton TQ4 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Whitehill Country Park is nestled in rolling Devon hills making it the perfect spot to get back to nature with its endless walking trails and quaint on-site facilities. The dog-friendly holiday park boasts camping pods, boutique holiday caravans with hot tubs, luxury lodges, touring and camping and a wealth of on-site facilities offering something for all ages. Situated in 40 acres of glorious grounds, the surrounding fields are home to 130 species of flowering plants and ferns, with a private woodland providing perfect family walks, plus Letterbox and Nature Trails, outdoor heated pool, Shire Craft Centre, outdoor play areas, table tennis, amusement arcade, pool table and much more. On-site facilities also include a Hayloft Bar and Terrace, Hayloft Café and Takeaway and Country Shop selling a delicious range of local produce. In the evenings, enjoy music from local musicians or head to The Granary for children's discos and more. Plus in the daytime take part in pony riding, birds of prey demonstrations and poolside BBQs to name just a few. Situated in a perfect setting to explore the English Riviera, Whitehill Country Parks is close to many picturesque beaches together with a wealth of attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Whitehill Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehill Country Park Hotel Paignton
Whitehill Country Park Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing