We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central B& B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ratcliffe Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ratcliffe Guest House
Ranked #31 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great central B& B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I had a week at the Ratcliffe in June and we were thoroughly happy with our stay so much so we booked another stay for the following August. Anna and Kevin were so welcoming that we felt quite at home. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean and breakfast was really excellent. The Ratcliffe is so well situated central to everything and the shops are just around the corner. We would recommend the Ratcliffe Guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you peter
we really appreciate it when people take the time to write reviews for us especially good ones.
see you soon all the very best
Kev, Anna and Isabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
39
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from our stay at the Ratcliffe guest house and I can't recommend it highly enough. The guest house itself was spotless we had room 5. superior double with en suite. spotlessly clean and very cosy,and a lovely size. comfy big bed and lovely double size shower cubicle.

The cooked breakfast is some of the best ive had and the sitting time slots mean its fresh cooked and piping hot. superb!!!

A very welcoming and homely place and I would return without hesitation when we visit Paignton again. excellent value for money.

TOP CLASS

Thank-you Kevin and Anna :)

Room Tip: Rooms to suit all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phildewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi guys
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us,
we are very grateful for your custom.
And myself Anna Isabelle and George, would be more than happy to see you all in the future at some point.
Wishing you all the very best .
Kev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I and our 5 children have just returned from a fantastic week at The Ratcliffe Guest House. The rooms were very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The kids sometimes requested items not on the main breakfast menu and these requests were always accomodated. Location-wise, we loved the fact that the Ratcliffe is literally only a minute's walk from the seafront and so really convenient for our beach trips. The owners Anna and Kev are very friendly and there's a lovely relaxed vibe to the guest house, perfect for a holiday with children. We are all very much looking forward to returning again next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a kind review it was a pleasure having you all glad you had the good weather to help make your holiday a memorable one thanks once again kev anna and isabelle not forgetting George look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolpertshausen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a stay of 3 nights at The Ratcliffe Guesthouse. The hosts Anna and Kev are friendly. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable. The Ratcliffe Guesthouse is near to shops, pubs, restaurants and the beach. The breakfast was good. We had a nice stay with wonderful trips to Dartmoor and Dartmouth!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilliWolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review,we really appreciate it.
so glad you enjoyed your holiday in England it was a pleasure to meet you all
thank you again best wishes Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Ratcliffe and again we were not disappointed. The room was clean and spacious, with a HUGE bed and a sea view. The breakfasts were always cooked well and we particularly like the ticklists that we filled out every night so that we knew what we would get the next day. Anna and Kev were both friendly as always and willing to go the extra mile to help or give tips on where to visit. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlestephm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
it was a pleasure to see you both again and looking forward to your next visit thank you for taking the time to write your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having just spent 5 days at this very cosy and very clean hotel ,on June 9th -13th 2014 , Ihave no hesitation in thanking Kevin and Anna for there great hospitality .
I also recommend this hotel for its prime position and easy accessible location .
You couldn't wish for better hospitality ,than what you receive at the Ratcliff hotel Paignton.
Thanks for an excellent stay Kevin and Anna
Regards
Carol-ann Barker

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol-ann1959271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much Carol for taking the time to write such very kind words.
it never fails to cheer me up when our guests leave having had a nice time with us.
We are as always,very grateful for your custom and hope to see you again in the future
many thanks once again Anna and Kev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I booked a room for a friend of mine from Germany who came to stay here in South Devon for eight days. She was absolutely delighted with the guesthouse, the wonderful hosts Anna and Kevin and the excellent service both provide. Many thanks :-) The room was bright and spacious, clean and tidy.
Big advantage that the guesthouse is situated close to the station and coach station and easy to find. Town centre, beach and pubs are just round the corner. What a great place to stay, and I can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snotgoblin, Owner at The Ratcliffe Guest House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad your friend enjoyed her stay with us it's always a pleasure to meet interesting people from home or abroad ,we really appreciate you taking time out to share with other people your feelings . Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray House
Sea Spray House
#48 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#19 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bristol House
Bristol House
#66 of 100 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ambassador
The Ambassador
#17 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Weonards Hotel
St. Weonards Hotel
#35 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ratcliffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ratcliffe Guest House

Property: The Ratcliffe Guest House
Address: 4 Garfield Road | Central, Paignton TQ4 6AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive, late Victorian b&b, The Ratcliffe Guest House is run by Kevin and Anna Hunt. for our breakfast we use home cooked locally sourced produce and home made bread. We are situated in the heart of Paignton, Devon with the beach, town center and local amenities all within a few minutes stroll. Our goal is to make your stay in Paignton as enjoyable as possible.As an added bonus if you book 4 nights or more you can have a free portrait shoot and a free 10*8inch print ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ratcliffe Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing