We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub”
Review of Flagship - CLOSED

Flagship
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A nice pub which can get very busy, we ate there a couple of times during our stay and were never disappointed, there was one occasion when we were told it would be a 30-40 minute wait for food! But they were incredibly busy at that point.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    119
    100
    97
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stopped off in Paignton on the way home from our holiday in Cornwall and decided to eat lunch here; we were glad we did. It was typical pub grub but I thought the menu was great, so much to choose from! My partner and I both had the steak in the 2 for £12 deal and a couple of kids meals (it was nice to see the option for a smaller version of food from the main menu for older kids). We were served very promptly and when the food came it was lovely; my steak was cooked perfectly for me - it was exactly as I'd asked for and melted in the mouth!
We thought it was great value too being less than £30 for 2 adults and 2 children for both food and soft drinks.
Location is obviously great, right on the seafront and next to the Geopark. We will definitely eat here again if we find ourselves down south!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wotton fitzpaine
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“family holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The flagship is a friendly family pub on painting seafront the meals are tasty and good value for money. Also have a bbc challenge for £24.99. Which is a right handful, you have to eat n as chaos first as they tend to go soft after a while, my wife as and I share this and don't always finish it. It is quite pleasant pub. The children love it as huge playground right outside well worth a visit with family.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigal3961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited here as a group of 4 for lunch.

Food was well priced, drinks average price, service quite good, if a little slow at times (due to under staffing we thought)

The food was well cooked, table took a while to be cleared, but again, the limited number of staff were doing all they could.

I would visit here again, perhaps of an evening instead of during the day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank firsttimenerves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Think Twice”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location is the only real plus for the Flagship. Indeed this is probably the only thing which makes it busy, making us think it was actually more popular than it merits.
We did not mind waiting 45 minutes for a meal. We did not particularly object to the price of the food (the drinks are a different matter and require a second mortgage). However I had to request the table be cleaned before we could sit at it, something the staff were in no rush to do. Then when the average meal arrived the underside of the plates had managed to collect something from other dishes and then spread on the table. Furthermore they also managed to get one of four items wrong when it was brought to the table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flagship also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing