We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely break at waterside.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have just returned from our annual holiday at waterside holiday park. We stayed in the gold plus accomodation which was lovely and clean with a good location and spacious outdoor area where our children could play safely. One criticism I want to add is the lack of daytime activities, luckily for us the weather was superb but had it have been bad we would have struggled for things to do especially for the children. Our children loved the pool and we would like it if you could pass on just how fantastic the pool staff this year are, especially chris. In the 14 years that we have been visiting waterside, we have never come across a member of staff as friendly, enthusiastic and helpful as chris. He helped both our daughters gain a lot of confidence this week in the water, if he did swimming lessons on site we would definitely have paid for the privilege. He made a point of talking to everyone and knew us all by name which always means a lot. The entertainment team seem quieter this year but Richie was great with the kids and a great entertainer. Overall another great time was had, we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will_scarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for review Will_Scarlett, we are pleased to read you had a great holiday with us.

Thank you for your kind comments, I have paid special attention to your "lack of daytime activities" comment and I will review our current programme with Richi, our Entertainment manager, to see where and if we can improve.

I will pass on your remarks to Chris, we are receiving great feedback about him and Hannah, he is a very friendly chap who is happy to go the extra mile to ensure our guests are safe and enjoy our swimming pool, the swimming lessons are a wonderful idea and are aimed at our younger guests gaining confidence in the water, your daughter being a fine example of this.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked a Sun holiday at Waterside and stayed from Friday to Monday.

The site is in a wonderful position, but it's VERY hilly. It's located along the main road from Paignton to Brixham, just past the Waterside pub. The Dart Valley Railway passes by the site and this makes to a lovely view of the trains. The beach at Goodrington is a short walk away albeit up a very steep hill. The view from the top of the hill are breathtaking and well worth the climb.

The caravan had seen better days, It was clean but little things let it down. Veneer trims were missing, wallpaper was peeling in places, curtains in two of the bedrooms fell down when you tried to open or close them and one of the bedroom doors did not have a handle on the inside.

The site has some facilities but we didn't use them. There's an entertainment venue, a bar that serves food and an outdoor pool.

A special mention to one of the team Gina who went out of her way to help us when we arrived. She is a credit to the business. Some of the other staff were surly and rude. One of the reception team had a terrible attitude. We queried something with him and his attitude was "well you're on a Sun holiday, what do you expect?" Quite frankly we could have been potential purchasers and his attitude would have lost them a sale. We've stayed on Haven sites on many occasions and they treat all guests with courtesy and respect regardless of how they booked.

The site is an excellent base, all areas of Torbay are easily accessible. If the caravans were a little more modern then I'd give a higher rating.

Room Tip: Climb the hill and enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ade_D66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Ade_D66, thank you for your review.

I am disappointed to read that your accommodation was not up to our usually high standard and have taken this issue up with our housekeeping team. Having looked at the issues you have listed there is clearly nothing that could not have been resolved before you took occupancy of the caravan, please accept my apologies for this.

Thank you for recognising Gina (as many before you have done) however I am concerned with the surly and rude comment regarding some team members, especially the "comment" made by the male member of the reception team (this will be investigated and acted upon).

These comments are very disappointing not only to me, but to our company, as customer service is the forefront of our business and we spend a great deal of time and resources with staff training to try an ensure we delivery the best possible guest experience we can, I am truly sorry that you found this not to be the case.

Thank you for your comments, I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon to Waterside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked a Monday to Friday break Easter holidays and use the park as a base to visit the local area. Our gold caravan was lovely & clean.(Even had a few DVDs & books left for the kids, which were a thoughtful touch)The furniture, kitchen, beds-duvets etc very clean. The nights were a little cold, but soon warmed up when we put the heaters on (We still have heating on at home too!) Staff were really helpful and we ate in the restaurant 3 days. Food was really good value-used pre-book vouchers which saved overall - good quality-especially the mega ice cream sundays! Swimming pool was good-clean with very attentive friendly lifeguards. The park was so peaceful and relaxed and the entertainment & childrens clubs were there if you wanted them. The steam train which passes along the bottom of the park is an amazing sight every couple of hours. We walked south along the coastal footpath, which is quite hilly in sections (not suitable for prams/wheelchairs) to Broadsands beach and the kids loved the clean golden sands. It would have been really easy to drive to too, as there was a big car park right next to the beach. We visited Brixham harbour for the day (Freshwater car park really cheap & close to harbour) Paignton Zoo really good value & well worth a visit! There was so much to do in the area we will have to visit again! What a brilliant little holiday- couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotttt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

What a wonderful review Scotttt2014, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and thank you for specifically mentioning the swimming pool team and the cleanliness and comfort of your accommodation.

Not many people actually mention buying the half board option, this is a great money saving option which is proving more & more popular with our guests.

Thank you again for this fantastic review, see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a four night stay when we first arrived we were told our laundry wasn't at our van and could we collect it and take it with us save us waiting. There was a note saying the caravan had been cleaned but you could see it had hardly been touched, the heating system didn't work apart from on cold. The club and restaurant were closed in the day so no where to get a meal at lunchtime only the odd item in the shop. There were no showers in the cold supposedly heated outside pool and the entertainment was non entertaining not at the staffs fault but by the point of lack of staff. In the upside the views were lovely and the only reason the holiday gets a 2 on rating.
We did write to park holidays with our concerns and we're told that the laundry company were late delivering that day hence we had to collect our laundry, they said we didn't complain to reception regarding the cleanliness where we did but it didn't get noted down, the pool was up to regulation guidelines so obviously cold is what your going to get in April, they went on to say the entertainment has received many compliments to which I replied well a workman can only work with the tools provided and it wasn't the entertainers fault but the lack of staff. We were then told the restaurant opening hours work with how many people are on the park, the park was nearly full Easter week and we we're told quite clearly by staff that park holidays are saving money by not employing the staff to have the restaurant and club open in the day.
To add insult to injury park holidays offered us £50 food and drink voucher if we rebook with them. Why would I want a voucher for a restaurant that's hardly open ?

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you, Louise G, for your review.

Our facilities opening times are clearly displayed throughout the park and are not dependant on how many guests are on the park. We find that our staffing levels are adequate and no area is under-manned. The swimming pool does have a shower which is warm. The comfort of our guests is paramount and as such when any issues are reported to us we make a note of them in our office and relevant departmental diaries for their attention and resolution, we are sorry that your issues seem to have gone unresolved.

By way of an apology we have made a generous offer should you decide to re-book with Park Holidays UK. We are sorry that certain aspects of your holiday did not meet your expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have just got back from a lovely bank holiday weekend at Waterside Holiday Park. This lovely relaxed park was a perfect base for me(as a single mum), my children (8 & 10) and a pup (18 mths & his first holiday). Stunning views and lovely walks. This park is close to the excellent Goodrington beach, water park and steam railway. We spent time in the park pool, visited the nearby leisure pool (wave machine, slides) when it wasn't so warm, the woodlands theme park, paignton pier (twice!) and a stroll around the harbour. And there is so much more to see and do! we ran out of time so definately going back. This is a quieter park than some other holiday parks but if you like peaceful base during your stay, this is an excellent choice.

We had a gold plus caravan which was clean and comfortable. Caravans are cold in mornings and late evenings most of the year (perhaps a warm July/August being the only exception), I know this from experience of grandparents owning a caravan so we were well prepared for it with bed socks and extra layers for sleeping in.

Staff are helpful and welcoming.

My only recommendation for the site (and not sure if this is even possible, might have to work with council perhaps?) is if they could invest in putting suitable access to the cove (i.e. build proper steps down, perhaps wooden?) but a beutiful elivated area for exploring in the meantime

great site, we had what we needed and had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi Louise C, thank you for your review.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed what the park had to offer.

With regard to the access to the cove, this is dependant on the local council I'm afraid. However I will mention this when I have the opportunity to do so.

Thanks again for your comments, especially the welcoming staff and clean & comfortable accommodation, see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just had a brilliant weekend away at this park, close to zoo, Paignton etc.
The accommodation was very nice and cosy.
The staff was very friendly, we went half board and the staff and food in restaurant was excellent .
The children loved the entertainment , especially loopy and Cyril :)
We will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul290777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Many thanks Paul 290777 for this great review. Really pleased you enjoyed the entertainment, food and that you found our staff very friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice area and reasonable location, very close to beaches and lovely clifftop walks from the site. Goodrington Sands within walking distance and Paignton and Torquay seafronts/harbours within a short drive. Most staff very friendly and welcoming. Good shop selling basic supplies at reasonable prices. Nice outdoor pool area. Small but adequate amusements arcade. Good entertainments programme, shame about the singing - but entertaining all the same! One small play frame for children. Ate at on-site restaurant once - my meal was really lovely (green Thai Curry), some of the family has the roast, which wasn't really up to scratch and my husband was going to have steak but asked the chef what one of the sauces was and he said it tastes like shoe polish! Needless to say, my husband didn't choose the steak! Caravan not ready for early check-in so had to wait. Cleanliness of caravan not up to decent standard - spilt sugar and rice still in the kitchen cupboards and even the worktops hadn't been cleaned. Shower pressure could have been better but it maintained a good constant water temperature. Main gripe is that the caravan was absolutely freezing (in April), with only the gas heater in the lounge to heat the whole caravan, the bedrooms were like fridges so the three of us (us and out 15 month old) all slept in the lounge! Complained to reception staff on day 2 or 3 and they initially said to leave the gas heater on all the time - not good, health and safety conscious advice!!!!! Needless to say, we didn't do that. In fairness, within about 10 minutes of complaining, a maintenance man delivered an electric fire to us. However, the plug on that got really hot so we didn't leave it on for any length of time but it did mean we could have heating when in bed and to wake up to (switched it on an hour before getting up), as the bed was really too close to the gas fire to have the fire on when the bed was made up. We enjoyed our holiday and would definitely visit the area again. Not sure we'd stay here again though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to read that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay with us, except for the cold caravan first thing in the morning. However we did respond to this issue quickly by providing you with an extra heater.

For future reference all of our Gold & Platinum accommodation do have heating in every bedroom, a fact you may wish to consider if and when you book your next holiday. Louise C (a postee of a recent review on this website) has mentioned the same issue.

Thank you for taking the time to post your greatly appreciated comments and we hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.1 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 26 in Paignton
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Dartmouth Road | Three Beaches, Paignton TQ4 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Holiday Park, just outside Paignton enjoys some of the finest views in the region and is close to the fabulous beaches and attractions of the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Paignton
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing