We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterside holiday park, Paignton. ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waterside holiday park, Paignton. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The caravan park is alongside a stunning stretch of coast & is perfectly situated to visit all the things to do in the area. We had a fantastic holiday, all the staff on site were fab. We especially enjoyed the club on an evening, big thanks to the park stars & loopy & cyril whose shows were fantastic & made it a very memorable holiday. Would definitely recommend staying here

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jo2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi jo2359, thank you for this great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us, especially the entertainment along with Loopy & Cyril.
We hope to welcome you again soon to Waterside.
Many thanks for your comments and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    127
    81
    45
    43
See reviews for
300
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

So we came here as a family, we had to wait an 1 hour till the room was ready, and when we came in the room the floor was nasty, full of ciggie burns and dirt, urm, ew much? Yes because we had to where shoes inside the caravan because it was dirty. Beds were so uncomfortable and hard! Also reception closes at 6pm, and although they gave us an address book for emergency services it was hardly reliable as having something across the door. Only good thing was food, the trash bucket was lovely and the chips BUT this holiday should have a half and half selection between adults and children not 5 kid choices and about 30 for adults! Continuing one of the breakfast staff was very rude indeed and gave us dirty looks! Overall poor holiday!

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cxoxp_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you cxoxp_ for your comments. It is disappointing that your holiday with us was not as enjoyable as you expected, however when issues are reported to us we do resolve then as quickly as possible in order to restore the quality holiday our guests expect. I will relay your comments regarding the cleanliness in the accommodation to the contract cleaning companies management team for their attention, investigation and action, I apologise that the cleaning standard was not as it should have been.
We believe we have a very good choice of meals for both adults & children at affordable prices. I will investigate the "dirty looks" issue however I am sure this was not intentional, I know our breakfast team well and normally they are very affable & friendly people.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This summer we stayed here for the first time for a few days. There was a very large group of us and not one of us could find fault with this holiday park. For the price we paid we were not expecting the standard of accommodation we received. The clubhouse was fab for all ages, and the staff absolutely excelled themselves with the service they offered we had a slight problem with one of our party that needed sorting and the manager could not help us enough - top man! We spent the days down on the private beach there and the views are stunning.
For anyone looking for a great break away with their family at an affordable price this has to be the one!

Room Tip: Book early - don't miss out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks Vicki33 for your kind comments. I am really pleased you and your party enjoyed your stay with us, equally pleased to note that the slight problem you had was resolved quickly and professionally.
Thank you for your review and your recommendation, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here 2 weeks ago,on arrival found ourselves booked into what can only be described as a "cesspit".but this was soon sorted by a member of staff and we were moved into a better caravan,which wasn,t as dirty as the first one and after 15 mins of cleaning was ok(so please get somebody who knows how to clean!).The position of the camp is brilliant with amazing views.The short walk to the cove is well worth a visit.As said by others the entertainment is DREADFULL! and the state of the amusement machines is just as bad(worked in that trade for along time and there is NO excuse apart from POOR management!).Prices on camp are high my advice would be to shop out for the length of your stay and then maybe park holidays will drop their prices when no one is buying onsite!If you expect supper forget it the smugglers in closes at 8pm during the week so again shop out.So all in all What a same with the position of this camp it should be great but it seems if nobody cares.I Await you "get out of jail reply.

Room Tip: Take some cleaning equipment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi John B, thank you for your review. I have responded many times to the comments regularly made regarding our entertainment, we cannot please everyone. Our amusement arcade is maintained by a local operative, we report to him any issues we may have which he resolves at his earliest opportunity. Again the pricing in the shop is well documented, some think it's great, some think it's expensive. I personally think that we are very reasonably and competitive to the small local shops in the area, we will never be a Tesco or Asda. Our restaurant, the Smugglers Inn closes for main meals at 9.00pm, however the takeaway remains open until 10.00pm and pizza's are available in the main Complex until closing time, usually 12.00am in peak season. I have taken on board your comments and will use them to further improve the service to our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had a weekend stay in a caravan at the end of June. Booked very last minute and got a good price. Booked through the website by phone, and requested a sea view. We had booked a gold plus caravan, and it was fantastic. It was privately owned and extremely plush, with everything you could need - even had an en-suite main bedroom!. The view was amazing caravan had a large decked area that we enjoyed a lot. The site staff were very friendly and helpful at check -in. We pre-paid for breakfast and evening meals at the small diner. It was ok for the money, and the staff there were very nice and made it a good experience for us. Would probably pay as we go next time as it gives you more freedom to do other things.
Did not use the club, so cannot comment, site has no indoor pool, but does have one outdoors. Without the nice caravan and great view, our stay would have been much less enjoyable. Its a nice friendly place to stay for exploring the surrounding areas and attractions and it is well placed. Would not choose this site for families that have teens as not enough to do for them on the site. Overall, quiet, friendly, great views from some caravans,
good base to explore from.

Room Tip: request a sea view. Not guaranteed, but they will try. Higher spec caravans are in the best spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Really pleased to read that you had a great holiday with us andrew h. You have captured in your review exactly what we are all about, providing great, memorable, value for money holidays with friendly, helpful staff. Many thanks for the "room tip"! We will always try to accommodate our guests requests however we cannot always guarantee that we can meet them.
Many thanks again, here's looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a really good holiday would holiday here again everyone was friendly caravan was lovely with plenty of room not all cramped up like we have had at other camp sites beautifull views of the sea and beach short bus rides to all local towns buses every ten minuets lovely walks A+

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neenee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
What can I say Neenee78 except for see you again soon for more of the same.
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our 2nd visit, the last was 2 years ago. We hire a private van which didn't include the club passes but they were really cheap anyway, although never checked inside the club so only really needed them for bingo.
Still as impressed as the first time, infact I think the park looked much better, some newer caravans, the grass was cut and the plants/ flowers around the park were lovely.
The club could do with a lick of paint and the entertainment weren't as good as 2 years ago. We went every night 2 years ago but cut it down to every other night or so this year. There was a lack of staff and atmosphere for the adults. I felt sorry for the staff there weren't enough of them for banter and looked like the budget had been cut.i think this will need looking at this is a big part of people's holidays and just wasn't good enough this year.
I do think the childrens entertainment was excellent they were entertained throughout the night but adults were not so entertained.
Still love this location the view is amazing, it's close to everything.
I paid for the parks wifi while here I had 3 days worth then it refused to pick it up again, glad I never paid for more your better off using your network and paying for extra data. This needs sorting was a complete waste of my money it needs updating, I paid for a service that let me down.
The swimming pool was great and the staff on this were brilliant as always.
Hope to return again soon..

Hopefully the grass under the bridge on the coastal path could be sorted it was so high and dry, I know this isn't the sites fault.

Room Tip: Hire privately. Don't pay for wifi on the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Michelle C, I am really pleased you enjoyed your second visit with us (it's especially pleasing for me that you have noticed the improvements that we have made as I have been the manager of this park for just over 2 years).
We intend to redecorate our main Complex this winter, we did carry out some minor redecoration in 2013, you may remember that half of the Yacht Club was bright orange?. We have now resolved the staffing issue and we are working with a full team. Thank you for the kind comment regarding the children's entertainment, whilst I appreciate that the team is smaller than 2 years ago, I believe we still provide good, varied entertainment programme. I will pass on your comments to our WiFi provider for their attention and resolution. Likewise I will pass on your comments regarding the pool swimming team.
We have taken it upon ourselves to go out & the grass on the Headland, for some strange reason the local authority no longer cuts this.
Thank you for your review, I hope it's not 2 years until we welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Dartmouth Road | Three Beaches, Paignton TQ4 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Holiday Park, just outside Paignton enjoys some of the finest views in the region and is close to the fabulous beaches and attractions of the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Paignton
Waterside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing