We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #4 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
haverhill
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We ate here last week whilst on holiday. From the outside the restaurant doesn't look much but don't be put off as the food is amazing. The service was great and very attentive throughout with free bread and our drink was constantly topped up for us.
I had lasagne and my girlfriend had pasta which we both really enjoyed. For dessert my girlfriend had white chocolate and peach bread and butter pudding and I had a crepe which was made and flambed at our table which was great to watch and eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    43
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Back to its best!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

La Scala had always been our first choice for a 'special celebration', but unfortunately, the service of the front of house staff the last time we went was so dire that we did not go back for 18 months.
However, we felt that Max must have taken appropriate action and so for our recent 30th anniversary we returned....Max was as always the perfect welcoming host. The young lady that had so spoiled our last visit was nowhere to be seen.
Max had given us a 'private' table in the corner of the room and the table was adorned with 'happy anniversary' bits and pieces and a signed anniversary card from Max himself!
The service, food and overall customer experience was La Scala back to its very best and the entire evening was simply perfection.
Max even went the 'extra mile' as my wifes monkfish was on the small side and Max apologised and quickly rustled up another one on the house!
If you haven't tried this place yet, do so soon! By far and wide the best Italian in Torbay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vialli54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Michelin Star Level Food and Service”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

During a family holiday in Devon, we visited La Scala resturant.

First Impressions....
From the moment we step in the restuarant we recieved a warm welcome from owner Max, who made us feel at home right away. He could not do enough for us and also made a lot of time with my children and kept them entertained. Ensuring there was always drinks on our table and bread to keep us going, we felt we were royality.

The Food.....
Well what can I say. I have been to the finest restuarants around the globe, including michelin star restuareant like Purnell and Jessicas and I will put my hands on my heart and say this restuarant is on level. Max's menu is not only genuine authentic southern Italian, but it really burst flavours and medeteranian ingredients in your mouth. The portions are very generous too, and you certainly do not leave dispointed.

The Service.....
In a day where customer service has gone out the window, and everyone is a number, you get the exact oposite at La Scala. You can tell Max and his team make sure you receive execptional service at all times, and even when the restuarant was packed, you never felt negleted.
You also never felt like you were being forced to eat fast to get a turnover of customers. We were there for a evening out, and we were welcome to stay as long as we wanted. A lot of other restuarants can learn from La Scala

Recomendation...
Thats a 100% YES. If you are in that part of the world, you will be a fool not to dine at La Scala. For a very reasonable price you can dine like you are in a 5* restuarant.

FANTASTIC !!!!!!!

Mez (West Midlands)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MezChadry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For the service”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The food is always good but what it makes this restaurant special is the service. Max the owner is always attentive and very accomodating. The restaurant is bright and welcoming, Definetly a place to recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 613Thomas_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton Devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“6th Anniversary of The Commodore”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It has been about 18 months since we last ate at La Scala which is about 17 months too long. We celebrated the 6th anniversary since we purchased The Commodore in Paignton and they did us proud. The food was excellent and the service was on the ball. If you like Italian food then this is definately the place to go in Torbay, with it's views over Torbay Park and an interior that really sets the Italian mood. If you haven't eaten here then you must and we beleive once you have you will eat here again and again. Well done Max and his chef.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCommodorePaignton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing