We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my research paid off”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #5 of 183 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
stourbridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“my research paid off”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you have read my other reviews you may think I am easily pleased because I am generous with the scores, that isn't the case, quite simply I do my research on TripAdvisor and else where.
I don't apologise for giving La Scala 5 stars because it is stunning.
We were in Paignton because my wife was in the half marathon the next day, with that in mind we decided a large meal was required, antipasta, pasta, a main course and a Pud !.
I will sometimes test a restaurant by ordering a very simple dish, the sort you can easily do yourself to see if they can lift it a little higher. I chose a penne arabiatta, so simple, and it was one of the most wonderful dishes I have ever had.
When I told the owner my views he was more than happy to talk about it for ages, unfortunately I have forgotten his tips.. will have to go back sometime

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickoStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    44
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Was Not The Best”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The first surprise about this restaurant is that they have no website, so had to rely on Tripadivsor!
Did not have the friendly atmosphere as stated on previous reviews.
The food was nothing special, had much better Italian meals elsewhere, for what we had, we thought that it was rather pricey!
Would not go out of my way to re-visit this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tavipirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“An Ok Italian”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My Carbonara was ok but my wifes Beef ragu not too interesting. It was fairly quiet and my starter plate was nicely served with lots of different antipasti. Owner was really friendly and nothing wrong with service. An ok option in Paignton

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing food and owner”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The food was exceptional and Max (the owner) was fantastic. He will chat to you and talk you through the menu and is a brilliant host.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and attention to detail”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a really good reception, food and attention to detail excellent. Would recommend this restuarant and will most certainly visit again when next in Paignton

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargaretMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing