We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, spotlessly clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay, this is a spotlessly clean B&B run by a very nice couple who make you feel very welcome. The rooms are compact but have everything you need, you are made to feel very welcome on arrival and throughout your stay. The location is excellent for both the seafront and the town, we will definitely stay there on our next visit.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Richbsgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Ashleigh Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review for the Ashleigh Guesthouse, we are always glad when our guests leave on a happy note and have really enjoyed their stay, it helps us and also helps other guests who may be looking for a nice place to stay, we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Paignton.
Kind Regards
Mick and Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

4 of use stayed on our yearly bike trip and from the start Mike and partner were very welcoming. Rooms were clean and tidy and had a decent sized en suit, breakfast was fantastic and I was shocked when they had gone out of there way to buy the lapsang tea that we drink!!! Fantastic and roll on next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minelab81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We was a group of 4 males on a biking trip to Paignton and stayed for 2 nights here. The owners were very welcoming with a hot drink and biscuits on arrival. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We could not complain about anything in the rooms. The breakfast was also perfect. One of the group asked if they had his favourite tea, which they didn't but they went out and fetched some for him. We will certainly stay here again on our yearly biker trip.

Room Tip: No sea view but we was facing the back of the guest house and it overlooked the cricket pitch. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taze1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at the Ashleigh in June 2013. On arrival we were met by Mick and Hazel and given tea and biscuits then shown our spotless room on the 1st floor. Everything you could want was there: a wide choice of beverages, colour TV, ceiling fan, plenty of storage space and good quality towels in the en-suite. Breakfast items are pre-ordered and there is a huge choice available. Everything was cooked to perfection and set you up for the day ahead. The main street of Paignton is a 2 minute walk, with easy access to buses and the Paignton - Dartmouth steam railway.
We stayed here in 2011 and can say that the service provided by Mick and Hazel has retained its very high quality.
A first rate holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Ashleigh Guest House is in a quiet road, yet close to shops, harbour and railway station. I received a warm welcome and a cuppa from Mick and Hazel, a lovely couple. I stayed in single room 1 on ground floor, on a hot weekend in June. There was a comfy bed, ceiling fan, Freeview TV, good size en suite, ceiling fan and a view towards the cricket ground. There was access to a patio area if required. Breakfast was excellent and served in a very pretty dining room. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swanbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

On arrival met by Mick & Hazel, with a warm welcome & a nice cuppa & biscuits. They are a lovely couple can't do enough for you.
We stayed in room 7. A large room with bay window overlooking a lightly used road, with two armchairs to view from.The room has a lovely king size bed with gorgeous bedding & lovely decor. A very clean and spotless on-suite with shower with lovely big thick towels & lovely toiletries topped up daily. The room also has a small fridge for fresh milk if you wanted. also coffee, teas, hot chocolate, & lovely biscuits.with a bottle of fresh water every day. The wardrobe had loads of lovely strong wooden coat hangers(better than plastic ones), it also contained a lovely necessity box with those odd things you forget to take with plenty of draw space in other units in the room.
Plenty of choices for breakfasts including fish, which set you up for the day. We really enjoyed our stay with them. and it felt just like being at home we were sorry to leave. The property is central for the shops, beach, bus and train, all within a few minutes walk also all on the level with no hills. Good value for money, and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilma_daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at Ashleigh Guesthouse in July '12 and had a wonderful stay! The owners Mick & Hazel have truly put their guesthouse on the map. They were warm & friendly - we were greeted with tea & biscuits, shown to a spacious and spotless room and the next morning given a hearty and delicious breakfast, with a hugh amount of choice. They supplied us with leaflets and lots of invaluable knowledge about the local area, that enabled us to have a full & interesting holiday.
We can't rate this guesthouse highly enough, so we just hope there will be a room left to book this year..............!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zzookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Ashleigh Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Hi Simone & Rick,
Thank you for your kind review, we are looking forward to seeing you again in July.
Best Wishes,
Mick & Hazel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Sonachan House
Sonachan House
#6 of 97 in Paignton
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Guesthouse

Address: 15 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £64 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian building overlooking Queens Park and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway situated close to beach, town centre, rail & bus terminals, 3D cinema, pubs, restaurants, harbour, boat trips, pier, children's free Geo-Park Play area, gardens, parks & coastal walks. A family run guesthouse with 9 en-suite bedrooms consisting of 1 single, 2 twin, 3 doubles and 3 king rooms each having hospitality trays, flat screen TV with free-view, fan, free WiFi, hair drier, towels and complimentary toiletries. Award winning breakfast is included in the price and a wide choice is offered on the menu. Limited free private parking at rear of property with free on street parking available. Alison and Barrie offer you a very warm welcome, a friendly and homely atmosphere and a nice cup of tea/coffee on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ashleigh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Guesthouse Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing