We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
156
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam railwaybiscuitsguest houseon arrivalceiling fanrugby clubclean houseb bbreakfast menubreakfast was excellentresidents loungeroom was spotlesshomemade marmaladeeaster eggspleasant place to stayon easter sundaymemorable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Wonderful welcome from Mick and Hazel on arrival which included a much needed cup of tea after a 4½ hour journey!! Our room was clean and was very luxurious. Breakfast was superb having been prepared to guests individual requests as well as eating in a beautiful breakfast room. The guesthouse is located near the beach, shops and harbour and a train station. Overall, the guesthouse is clean and comfortable. Mick and Hazel are friendly and attentive to all their guests-because of their hospitality I will have no hesistation to book at the Ashleigh when we visit Paignton again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were greeted warmly and genuinely by both Hazel and Mick who gave us a knowledgable rundown of the local area etc. Although we were early and had planned on just dropping our bags off at the hotel until later, our rooms were ready and we were allowed straight in.

We had a double ensuite room on floor 1 which was lovely. Quite compact with everything we needed and tastefully decorated. We had a quiet fan on the ceiling too which we certainly appreciated in the warm nights. Our bathroom was very spacious and the shower was lovely and easy to operate. My teenage children had the twin bedroom on the top floor. This was lovely also with a skylight window and some lovely views. Just perfect for 2 older kids.

Breakfast was consistently delicious, cooked by Hazel and served by Mick. We had to order the night before what we would like the following morning which seems sensible.The menu was varied with a few unusual choices such as scrambled egg with salmon which I must say was truly yummy! Atmosphere was relaxed and informal and Hazel and Mick were never too busy for a chat.

The hotel is just minutes away from the beach and Paigntons shops and high street and the bus routes in the area are brilliant running regularly for cheap prices.

We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Only downside is my cooking skills have taken some serious complaints after sampling Hazels ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missacorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent two nights here at the beginning of July. We were greeted by Hazel who provided us with tea and biscuits when we arrived. Our room was spotless and very quiet. The guest house is situated a short walk from the beach, harbour and shops - a great location. Breakfast was served by Mick and was well presented with as much tea and toast as you wanted. There was plenty of choice with fruit, cereals, fruit juice and full English on offer. The only negatives were that we had to choose what we wanted to eat for breakfast the day before and the breakfast slot is between 8.30 and 9am - a little early if you are on holiday!

Room Tip: Room 8 is at the back and overlooks a rugby pitch. It was very quiet during the night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned from weekend break from the Ashleigh guesthouse Paignton mick&hazel were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was excellent . The b&b was spotless &had everything you needed. The location was perfect for the beach &shops. We will be defiantly be returning for a second visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinbaulch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Ashleigh Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Hi Bev and Colin thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for the Ashleigh Guesthouse it is greatly appreciated, we are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us and it makes it all worth while.
Kind Regards
Mick and Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at The Ashleigh and cannot praise it highly enough. Mick and Hazel have created one of the most spotless, well run, and friendly establishments we have ever stayed at. The care and attention to the needs of the guests is outstanding and the quality and choices offered for breakfast are worthy of many 5 star hotels we have stayed at in various parts of the world. We shall certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonPaulaParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Ashleigh Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Ashleigh Guesthouse it is very much appreciated by us and any future guests that may be looking to stay, we are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us as it makes it all worth while thank you.
Kind Regards
Mick and Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews