We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night takeaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeymoon Restaurant

Honeymoon Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 179 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of Paignton, Honeymoon Chinese Restaurant boasts a wide selection of favourite Chinese and Thai dishes in a relaxed and friendly environment. The all-you-can-eat buffet is not only affordable but it also challenges our diners to be adventurous and try a variety of different dishes. If you'd rather stay in we also provide a takeaway and delivery service.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Late night takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Have our takeaway delivered to us by the honeymoon and they are efficient and friendly on the phone. The food is always hot and tasty when it arrives. The aromatic duck and pancakes is lovely. Surprised to see so many bad reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    48
    24
    6
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Went to the honeymoon on spur of the moment. Had to wait a few mins door to be seen and after 5 mins altogether a table was ready. We had the buffet option was lovely able to choose why had on plate and was very tasty. Only issue with food was that the chicken balls were pink inside.
The toilets were not to standard. Very small cubicles an paper towels over floor, Morris filthy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemzap84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Filthy and disorganised”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We looked through the window before we went in and thought it looked more like a transport cafe than a chinese restaurant but went in anyway because we were fed up with trailing about, wish we'd trailed about instead though. There was hardly anyone in and we were shown to a table. This was the point we should have left because on looking around the place was filthy, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months, even the paintwork was dirty. We went to the buffet but there were no plates so we had to ask and when we got to the food about half were empty. I told them and they asked which ones we fancied so that they didn't have to fill them all. I asked them to fill them all. The only good point was that the food was quite tasty. A few more groups of people came in after us and all had to ask for plates and to have the food topped up. Then we heard raised voices, a man was shouting empty empty empty empty and pointing at the food containers. His party then got their coats and walked. The owner came out and was about to follow them until one of his staff said that it was ok as they had paid for their drinks. So to cap, dirty place, useless staff, no atmosphere at all. Food not bad and they under charged us by four quid, didn't feel like telling them. Oh, and forgot to mention that the bar was stacked with dirty glasses when we arrived, just inches from the food, and it was still there when we left. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SPjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning and Clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Absolutely beautiful All you Can Eat restaurant. Great Value at only 6.95 on A sunday.... different variety of Chinese items to choose from and as I am a fussy eater they had lots that I liked too. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Paignton.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeJames2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Small, quiet buffet style restaurant, everything was clean and tidy and the food tasted good. It was a nice quiet evening for us to sit eat and have a drink, not the place to be if you're looking for a lively night out, but nice for family meals. Buffet menu means you can go and refill your plate as many times as you like - so you always leave full, small selection of puddings too. Must admit we prefer to have a take away from there and eat in the comfort of our home :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMM13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honeymoon Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Honeymoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing