We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merritt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merritt House
Ranked #5 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I took my partner here over valentines weekend and we had a lovely stay.

On arrival we had a friendly greeting and then offered tea and cake if we wished, we were shown our room that was lovely and clean and then left to enjoy our stay, we were told to knock downstairs if there was anything we needed which was great as it meant we did not feel as if we were being watched unlike some other places.

The beds were lovely and comfortable and the room included everything we could need even our own iron/board etc.

Signal on the tv was good and all channels available and internet signal was also good.

I also liked the no children policy.

Breakfast menu was amazing and all cooked to a high standard just as I like, the food was also good quality, I had an English breakfast and pancakes!!!

very good value for the money and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
109
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I can only echo what all the previous reviews state, this is a great little B&B, good location, friendly and welcoming owners, off street parking, nice room - we stayed in the ground floor double.

We arrived there from South Wales at around 11:30am on a Friday for 2 nights and were able to leave the car in one of the 4 spaces around the back.

We have been to Torquay, Dartmouth and Brixham before and would certainly recommend this place to stay if anyone is considering Paignton.

Lastly, the breakfast in itself deserves a special mention and has to be right up there with the very best iv'e had, a top quality, good honest bit of food fair play, cooked to absolute perfection.

Will no doubt visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozzy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary here. Everything was fantastic and a warm friendly welcome upon arrival. You could see the owners take pride. And the breakfast menu was out of this world! Thankyou so much... WIll VISIT AGAIN... :-D

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great location, owners really friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and very warm. A huge choice for breakfast,something for everyone.
Everything was in walking distant, the beach is less than a 5 minute walk, the town is at the bottom of the street. Torquay is less than half an hours walk following a costal path.
Only downside the b&b only has car parking spaces for 3 cars, however we did get a space outside the b&b.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcde616275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excellent accomodation with the owners going the extra mile all the way along the line. We have just spent three nights there and everything we could need was catered for and ieverything shone like a new pin. We were all very impressed especially with the detailed information on everything you could possible want to do on a holiday whatever your interest or budget. ..

Room Tip: All of top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at Merritt House as a short break at the seaside.

We could not recommend this place highly enough! The rooms were clean, comfortable and had absolutely everything you could want. The owners were brilliant, really friendly and could not do enough for us to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

One of the standouts for us was the breakfast! Their AA Award is definitely well earned! The menu was great and varied - something for everyone. The food was absolutely delicious and you could tell that all the ingredients were fresh and carefully prepared.

The location is very convenient for Paignton beach, the town centre and all of the surrounding area / attractions. The parking spaces to the rear were also great.

We are recommending Merritt House to all of our friends and family as a place to stay. The rates were extremely reasonable and I would recommend this over most hotels!

Room Tip: The steam railway runs to the rear, which is great to watch the trains run by, but you can hear them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

What can I say our room was spotless very modern very comfy bed with a great view of the steam trains the breakfast menu was exceptionally good wide range to suite everyone and was a delight to eat the hosts were lovely I recommend this b&b made my holiday that much more better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#6 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House

Property: Merritt House
Address: 7 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merritt House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merritt House offers high quality AA 4 Star accommodation and delicious award winning breakfasts. All rooms have private bathrooms, with free Wi-Fi and a warm friendly welcome. Set in a quiet residential position, just off the sea front and close to the town centre, the traditional Victorian townhouse accommodation is light, airy, and well appointed, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Five minutes easy walk to bus and rail stations and many good restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merritt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing