We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merritt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merritt House
Ranked #5 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were pleased that Dianne has not let her standards slip, in fact it was better than the previous stay.
From welcoming you with a big smile, hot drink and cake/scone. Staying in a comfortable room with the usual facilities to the glorious breakfasts each morning that caters for all tastes and appetites, from continental, American to the large double English and many others between. Always on hand to help out and offer advise on where to visit.
Well worth staying here for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
109
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Dianne greated us with tea and cake ,the room was spotless and every little thing had been thought of , sewing kit sweets flannels dressing gowns too name a few. The breakfast was the best I have ever had and so much choice . we will be going back again 10 out of 10

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This was are second stay here. You are welcomed by a warm friendly smile and tea and coffee waiting and home made cakes. Every morning you are greeted in the breakfast room and asked uf you would like tea or coffee. Which gives you time to look at the menu. From a traditional breakfast to american style. The choice is yours!.....we will be visiting again :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank starrlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A very warm welcome, tea and cake on arrival. Very clean and comfortable everything thought of, toiletries, iron, hair dryer . Most amazing breakfast wonderful choice. We would recommend to anyone, short walk to sea front

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1967julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A very warm welcome, tea and cake on arrival. Very clean and comfortable everything thought of, toiletries, iron, hair dryer . Most amazing breakfast wonderful choice, and I am a difficult customer due to being a coeliac and dairy intolerant everything catered for gluten free bread, soya milk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I took my partner here over valentines weekend and we had a lovely stay.

On arrival we had a friendly greeting and then offered tea and cake if we wished, we were shown our room that was lovely and clean and then left to enjoy our stay, we were told to knock downstairs if there was anything we needed which was great as it meant we did not feel as if we were being watched unlike some other places.

The beds were lovely and comfortable and the room included everything we could need even our own iron/board etc.

Signal on the tv was good and all channels available and internet signal was also good.

I also liked the no children policy.

Breakfast menu was amazing and all cooked to a high standard just as I like, the food was also good quality, I had an English breakfast and pancakes!!!

very good value for the money and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I can only echo what all the previous reviews state, this is a great little B&B, good location, friendly and welcoming owners, off street parking, nice room - we stayed in the ground floor double.

We arrived there from South Wales at around 11:30am on a Friday for 2 nights and were able to leave the car in one of the 4 spaces around the back.

We have been to Torquay, Dartmouth and Brixham before and would certainly recommend this place to stay if anyone is considering Paignton.

Lastly, the breakfast in itself deserves a special mention and has to be right up there with the very best iv'e had, a top quality, good honest bit of food fair play, cooked to absolute perfection.

Will no doubt visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozzy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#6 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House

Property: Merritt House
Address: 7 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merritt House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merritt House offers high quality AA 4 Star accommodation and delicious award winning breakfasts. All rooms have private bathrooms, with free Wi-Fi and a warm friendly welcome. Set in a quiet residential position, just off the sea front and close to the town centre, the traditional Victorian townhouse accommodation is light, airy, and well appointed, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Five minutes easy walk to bus and rail stations and many good restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merritt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing