We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely premiere inn but poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely premiere inn but poor restaurant”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this premiere inn last year on our holidays The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and most of them have a sea view.The reception was welcoming and informative.The only thing that let it down again was the restaurant! Although the menu has improved slightly (not as much fried foods) the cleanliness and service still need to be addressed!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpfcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    179
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
240
276
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Arrived sat 16th august check in was quick and efficient, the man on reception was very nice and helpful, only thing to watch is the parking is pay and display so any one can use the car park so it can be hard to get a space before 5pm it is free for premier inn customers they give you a ticket to display the rooms are very nice very comfy beds tea and coffee available would go back again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West molesey, surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for a week 1st-8th aug, and could not fault anything.... The hotel was lovely, the room we was in ( 29) double aspect, sea view, massive! The staff were lovely and the on site restaurant was great too... The cooked and continental breakfast was lovely, as were the staff, and the evening food and staff again lovely..... I didn't want to leave ! Will defo be back x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonimarie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely hotel, family room, 1 double and 2 singles and still plenty of room! We had 2 windows both with excellent sea view, hotel reception very friendly and accommodating. Wifi £3 for 24 hours. Room was clean. Would definitely stay here again. The biggest negative would be the brewers Fayre restaurant associated with the hotel! Beer garden very untidy litter everywhere, our room looked over the beer garden and the beach and the mess was awful and unwelcoming.
Breakfast was okay warm not hot, mugs and glasses dirty had to look at a few before finding a clean one! Quite disappointed with the restaurant and needs a good clear up to meet the standards of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dft2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Ideal place for the beach and visiting attractions. Busy in the summer, as would be expected. Have stayed many times out of season and found it very good.
Local bus stops very close ans also the stem train.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedukeofearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Small hotel but very friendly and helpful staff.Rooms were large,air-conditioned and clean.The view from our window was great.There was no lift which may pose a problem for some.The breakfast was great and unlike other P.I.hotels ,cooked our choice for you which made the eggs lovely.The bacon was fantastic-and our waitress was lovely,chatty and funny! Evening meals at the pub was great-good value.Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: family rooms are lovely.Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOLO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, and the hotel itself was nice and quiet. We had a sea view (room 6) with wi-fi as an extra (£10 for a week) which was great for my son.
Comfy beds and couldnt hear outside unless the window was open (of course).
However, although 5 stars for the hotel...I have moved this down to a 4 because of the restaurant.
It didn't seem that clean with "sticky" menu's and tables. Paid for all you can eat cooked breakfast and on the first day the egg wasn't cooked properly and the vegetarian sausages were rock hard and looked and tasted like they had been microwaved.
For the rest of the week my wife and son went for the cold (continental) breakfast which was much better....and I could't be bothered to ask for a refund in the difference between the cooked and cold breakfast (£8.95 compared to £6.95 each).
I tried an omolette the day after - was rubbery and I really don't know how you can cook these incorrectly - but that was somehow managed!
A table nearby complained that the 2nd day running their eggs were cold when they arrived. A few minutes later they came back with the plates so hot they couldn't be touched (obviously the microwave operative inthe kitchen...cannot call him / her a cook.....was on overdrive!).
Obviously they had just reheated via a microwave oven!

A real shame as the waitresses / waiter were really friendly and helpful.
If they either replace or train the kitchen staff to cook properly, then this would be 5 stars.

Room Tip: Getting a sea view made the trip for me! (Room 6) This was on the ground floor....although the upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.5 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Address: Tanners Road | Goodrington, Paignton TQ4 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paignton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#5 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With far reaching views across the beach, close to Paignton Zoo and beside Splashdown Waterpark ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Paignton (Goodrington Sands) Hotel Paignton
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing