We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little touches everywhere make a huge difference”
Review of The Mayfield

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mayfield
Ranked #70 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Little touches everywhere make a huge difference”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My son and I stayed for three nights - the room was spotless and very well finished, the decor was lovely but most importantly the hosts were simply amazing. They have a lovely attitude and the next time I go back to Paignton I will have no hesitation in picking up the phone to the Mayfield and requesting a room. Jeff and his family really are the epitome of everything you are looking for in a lovely place to stay with a great attitude. Thank you all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here in Paignton for three nights with my girlfriend and had an excellent time. Of the family we only met Jeff, but he was exceedingly friendly and very eager to put us at ease and help us in any way he could. The room was very comfortable, tidy, and clean, with complementary snacks, hot drinks, and bottled water. The breakfast menu contained an excellent variation of delicious meals, and I always left feeling nicely full for hours afterwards (I would probably recommend the half portion rather than the full english breakfast as I found that a bit much for my stomach to handle!) - the scrambled egg and smoked salmon on toast was especially tasty.

It is amazing how there seems to be so little compromise in quality for the low price that you pay for staying at this lovely little hotel. The shower on the top floor was a little lacklustre but by no means unusable, and the breakfasts are from 8.30-9.15am (which is only a problem for me because I'm such a night owl) but otherwise there was nothing to fault at all, and even those issues are trivial. For the price, for the comfort, and for the friendly atmosphere I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I spent a week at The Mayfield, and could not fault a thing. Stephanie and Jeffrey, and their daughter Tamyra are the perfect hosts. Nothing is any trouble. They are very friendly, and will help you with any advise you need for travel, restaurants, and places to see. Breakfast and dinner were superb, often with more than you can eat. All in all a lovely time spent in a lovely location.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished, and the south side the rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed for 10 days at this hotel. It is a very family run and friendly hotel to spend time in. The rooms were a tribute to Tamayra's eye for colour and flair. Tamayra is Jeffrey and Stephanie's daughter, It truly was the loveliest room I think I have stayed in and nothing was a problem to any of the staff. Breakfast too was lovely. In fact there was nothing not to like. Even lovely fluffy bathrobes were provided. (a very nice touch).

Room Tip: read reviews. I have always found them to be helpful so I would always leave an honest appraisal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#68 of 96 in Paignton
49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfield

Property: The Mayfield
Address: 8 Queens Road, Paignton TQ4 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mayfield Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing