We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & very welcoming”
Review of Birchwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchwood House
Ranked #42 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at Birchwood House for one night for a family occasion and Dawn & Steve couldn't have been more welcoming. The offer of tea on arrival was particularly welcome after a long day anyway and set a tone that continued during the stay. The breakfast was fab & everything a full English should be!!! The relaxed and gentle atmosphere and lovely comfortable room made for a nice break. Will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Have been here several times. Dawn and Steve always make you welcome. Good homely food and a good bar too! Rooms comfortable and clean. Will be visiting again very soon. We like it as it is easy reach to goodrington and also torquay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just had another brilliant stay. It has been our 7th holiday in a row with Steve and Dawn. Both are very friendly and make us feel at home immediately.

There is so much choice at Breakfast with a excellent selection, from full english to cereal. Always plenty of fruit available also. Evening meals are also lovely and Steve cooks everything from fresh.

Fantastic hosts who have become very good friends and look forward to returning each summer.

Will be back again next year with more family joining us this time around.

Thank you Steve and Dawn, from Chris and Lynn x

Room Tip: All rooms have been nice and clean. Would advise ground floor for less able bodied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Steve and Dawn are so friendly and have a lovely property, the rooms are really homely with everything you need; bottled water, tea coffee making facilities hair dryer etc. Well stocked bar downstairs, steve is very good at meeting requests if they dont have what you like! Breakfast is always fantastic, choice of cereals, fruit, jams, juices and cooked menu to choose from. Have been visiting Birchwood house for 7 years and always have a lovely time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have just returned from a two night break in Paignton wish we had stayed longer. Dawn and Steve make you very welcome. A lovely cup of tea when you arrive, and a fantastic breakfast choice. Nothing is too much trouble. The room was beautifully clean with the finishing touches of toiletries, bottled water etc. Ideal for a stroll down to the town, front or Goodrington, no need to drive anywhere. Would definitely stay again and recommend.
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takeme2themoon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we stayed here for three nights july/august and the hosts were some of the nicest and friendly owners i have met. on arrival we were given tea and biscuits which was very welcome after our journey. i requested a ground floor for my parents which we got and we had a lovely four poster room. the hotel was very clean excellent choice for breakfast. nice touches of showergel/shampoo botlles in room. the hotel is in a nice quite road but only a short walk to the beach. i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if you have difficulty with stairs request ground floor and would recommend four poster room very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here 2wks ago, Dawn and Steve are very friendly people and made us very welcome. Very clean to high standards, bed comfortable, large en-suite, Lovely breakfast fresh fruit,cereal followered cooked breakfast which was nice and hot. Easy parking, great location to beach and lovely walks, will highly recommmend.

Room Tip: Room 11 very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#84 of 97 in Paignton
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood House

Address: 33 St. Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England (Formerly Birchwood House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £66 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawn & Steve warmly welcome you to the Birchwood House, conveniently situated just a short stroll from both the lovely beaches at Paignton and Goodrington. At the heart of beautiful English Riviera, which covers the three towns of Torquay, Paignton and Brixham. Paignton is a resort in the true sense of the word, attracting visitors of all ages and interest throughout the year. Guests benefit from free hotel car parking and close proximity to good local transport link's for those who stay without a car. All bedrooms have central heating, digital television, hairdryer and drink making facilities.Fully licensed bar.Comfortable lounge with freeview television. Traditional and varied home cooked food.Special diets catered for. Safe and secure car park.Open all year round.Special breaks available. Credit/Debit cards accepted(2% standard charge for credit cards). We are a non smoking hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Birchwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing