We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #25 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had a lovely time at the Cherwood its an exellent hotel with everything thought of and catered for (should be more than a four star).Pauline and Sue are fantastic hosts helped make our holiday as good as it was.
And the breakfasts are as everyone else has said LOVELY.
We will definitely book here again when we are next in Devon.
Thanks Steve and Christine Hazell

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
77
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great place to stay. Excellent location close to the beach, town centre and attractions. Beautiful hotel and very comfortable EnSuite rooms.The breakfast is fantastic and plentiful and this alone will keep you going to teatime!!!. Pauline and her staff make you very welcome and give some useful advice on where to visit and the better restaurants of the area. Had a great time and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrightyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigntonEmma, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you so much for your valuable time and effort in writing your comments. Very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back for another smiley time! Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnborough, hants
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Another visit to the Cherwood and nothing has changed, it is still the best place to stay in Paignton and we again highly recommend to friends and family.

Pauline and Sue attend to your every wish, the breakfast are to die for and mean after starting the day as such, there is no need to worry about finding somewhere to eat at lunchtime as you will have no room!! Locally sourced Sausages, Bacon, Mushrooms, and Free Range Eggs, plus the array of cereals and fruit on offer, plus homemade farm marmalades makes this hotel untouchable by the hotels and bed and breakfasts in the town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We planned to stay 3 nights, but stayed 10 nights.This hotel is so friendly and comfortable,the breakfasts are huge and nothing is too much trouble for Pauline the owner.The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the shops.Parking is free 50 yards away, and the No 12 Brixham-Torquay bus runs every 10 minutes if you don't fancy driving

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brickie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Probably the best B & B we have ever stayed in. The standard of cleanliness was first class, the bed was as comfy as ours at home! Breakfast was so big we had to ask for less !!!! Pauline and Sue were so welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel is great, only a couple of minutes walk to the seafront or the town centre. In fact, our car stayed in the car park all week. If we wanted to go anywhere we just went on a bus - a first for us! Would highly recommend the Cherwood to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillynJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We just got back from a 3 night stay at The Cherwood, would have loved to have stayed longer but had work commitments :( My husband and I stayed with our 2 young children and we were all pleased with everything that was provided, including emery boards and cotton buds! Also loved the way Pauline and Sue provided a soft toy on the kids beds and a bowl of sweets in the room too!!! The whole guest house is immaculate, the beds are extremely comfortable with literally everything you will need for your entire stay. The breakfast is amazing the bacon and the sausages were the best we had ever eaten. You must also try the local jams they are too delish to avoid (we even bought a couple of jars to bring home). Pauline and Sue were fantastic guides of the local area by telling us their recommended restaurants and beaches and also the best place for cream tea you really must take their advice on this. We would definately recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Devon you surely wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: best beach we went to was at Goodington and the best cream tea was at The Rose Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from a weeks stay at this great hotel. We loved it so much last year that we just had to go again and we were not dissapointed.
Since last year Pauling has made numerous improvements to here great establishment including new bathroom suites, TV's, mattresses etc etc etc and this just made our stay even better than last time.
The hotel is spotless with not a thing out of place. I must say that the prices in the bar were very good and we sampled various tipples every night.
It was carnival week during our stay end every day and night there was lots to do on the sea front with a carnival procession to motorcycle night which again was great.
Now lets get back to the nitty gritty!!!!! Paulines breakfast is a sight to behold, it just got bigger and bigger and bigger every morning until I could not eat any more. You must try the homemade jams and marmalade as well as we just had to take a few jars home (they were going to be presents but they are just too good to give away).
We would like to thank Pauline and Sue for everything it is just the best place to stay and a wonderful holiday experience. What more can I say.
See you soon :) (sorry to say we will be back for more)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKY-DAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#13 of 96 in Paignton
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#3 of 96 in Paignton
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 96 in Paignton
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birklands Guest House
Birklands Guest House
#33 of 96 in Paignton
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosemead Guest House
Rosemead Guest House
#62 of 96 in Paignton
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Property: The Cherwood
Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing