We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #25 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was my third vist to this little gem tucked away on a side street off the main costal road in Paignton. The owner, Pauline, was ever cheerful even thought I was running late and checked in mid evening. After a visit to the local Thai (excellent) a very comfortable bed awaited followed by a good nights sleep. A good hot shower in the morning was followed by an amazing breakfast that was so good I didn't bother with lunch! I ate about 10 hours later!!!The best breakfast I have had this year I think!!! I will come again. A lovely hotel. Thanks Pauline!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSBRSB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

This review is two weeks late owing to the amount of time spent in the gym trying to lose weight from the breakfast provided by Pauline and Sue.
We were welcomed like long lost family even though we had never been there before. We have stayed in other establishments in Torbay, but this by far has to be the best stay we have had, it is in a nice quiet location and very close to the centre of Paignton.
All the review bar one are absolutly spot on and you can beleive them.
We will be returning in the near future without fail.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan4914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had a lovely time at the Cherwood its an exellent hotel with everything thought of and catered for (should be more than a four star).Pauline and Sue are fantastic hosts helped make our holiday as good as it was.
And the breakfasts are as everyone else has said LOVELY.
We will definitely book here again when we are next in Devon.
Thanks Steve and Christine Hazell

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great place to stay. Excellent location close to the beach, town centre and attractions. Beautiful hotel and very comfortable EnSuite rooms.The breakfast is fantastic and plentiful and this alone will keep you going to teatime!!!. Pauline and her staff make you very welcome and give some useful advice on where to visit and the better restaurants of the area. Had a great time and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrightyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigntonEmma, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you so much for your valuable time and effort in writing your comments. Very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back for another smiley time! Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Another visit to the Cherwood and nothing has changed, it is still the best place to stay in Paignton and we again highly recommend to friends and family.

Pauline and Sue attend to your every wish, the breakfast are to die for and mean after starting the day as such, there is no need to worry about finding somewhere to eat at lunchtime as you will have no room!! Locally sourced Sausages, Bacon, Mushrooms, and Free Range Eggs, plus the array of cereals and fruit on offer, plus homemade farm marmalades makes this hotel untouchable by the hotels and bed and breakfasts in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We planned to stay 3 nights, but stayed 10 nights.This hotel is so friendly and comfortable,the breakfasts are huge and nothing is too much trouble for Pauline the owner.The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the shops.Parking is free 50 yards away, and the No 12 Brixham-Torquay bus runs every 10 minutes if you don't fancy driving

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brickie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Probably the best B & B we have ever stayed in. The standard of cleanliness was first class, the bed was as comfy as ours at home! Breakfast was so big we had to ask for less !!!! Pauline and Sue were so welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel is great, only a couple of minutes walk to the seafront or the town centre. In fact, our car stayed in the car park all week. If we wanted to go anywhere we just went on a bus - a first for us! Would highly recommend the Cherwood to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillynJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £42 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing