We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #25 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Travel

We are from Scotland and decided to fly to Exeter airport, hire a car and then drive to Paignton. Certainly a good way to do it as short flight, great wee airport and only 30 minute drive to Paignton

Arrival

Chris greeted us at the door and explained how things worked, buzzer if we needed them, breakfast etc. he showed us to our room and showed us where everything was and left us to it.

Room

Room was fine, nothing particularly fancy about it but comfy bed, nice sofa and ceiling fan which was excellent given the weather. Plenty tea n coffee stuff and also shampoo etc in the bathroom which was good. Also a fridge was provided -also great given the weather as able to keep cold drinks and after sun in there!

Breakfast

Easily one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had in any hotel. Cooked fresh in the morning and plenty of choice. I actually also like the fact we were left alone just to eat it in peace!

Parking

Parking is provided at a car park on the next road to Garfield Road, beside the Inn on the Green pub and tickets for this were provided by the hotel so that was good too.

Location

On a road leading off a green which sits alongside the pier and the beach so good location and quiet enough for where it was.

Area

The area of Paignton, Torquay and surrounding is gorgeous. Must do visits are babbacome cliff railway to the beach and to the village of Cockington as both are stunning. Also Brixham is beautiful although busy. Dartmouth is also lovely.

Pubs

Inn on the green best for food. The factory round the corner also good. Not impressed with the wether spoons or Henry's bar.

Overall

Good holiday, good b n b. one major annoyance was almost every place we went to checking if they could accept our money due to their being Scottish notes!!!!! They are Pounds sterling whatever way you look at it!!!!! Incredibly annoying and actually began to make us very angry and it would actually put me off this area again to be honest. However, good outweighed the bad and, all in all, a good holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynnemch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for The Cherwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this quality b&b,beautiful, spotless room with loads of little extras, comfy bed, Breakfast wonderful selection, of cereals,fruit juice, fresh fruit , dried, fruit,and a beautifully presented full english!! the staff were friendly,seeing us off when we left, we will be going back to this little treasure. this the first b&b that i have been to that has a dish of sweets ,shoe polisher,and a sewing kit in the room!!! so hows that for caring .thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel was one of the nicest (for the price) that we have stayed in before. We stayed in May for a joint birthday weekend, when we arrived the owner welcomed us and asked us if we were parking (we were) and he gave us a parking ticket for the lot around the corner. We were then shown to our room which was lovely, everything we needed and more. Luxurious extras and lovely couch, double bed, en-suite with tv, digital radio and fridge. BUT...we then started to feel very unwelcome at the hotel, the owner didn't really feel as happy to have us their as all the other b&b's and hotels we have stayed in, this may be because it was only for one night over a weekend. We brushed it off as we were on holiday. Sleep quality was lovely and no noise from the outside. At breakfast it was a bit harder to brush off the bluntness of the staff. Breakfast was just given to us, not much good morning, how did you sleep. We really didn't want to stay much longer so we packed and went to pay our bill, in front of us their was a young family paying and the staff were laughing and giving them a discount card for next year, thanking the for coming, and saying next time ring us and will book you in with discount instead of using booking.com. Our turn to pay, we were given the discount card with not much explanation of how it works, we paid and this followed an awkward silence where they would normally thank us for coming and to have a nice day, but it didn;t come. We just said goodbye and left. We feel very let down by this, for what we paid we feel we did not feel satisfied with the level of service

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CornishJoe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your comments.We are sorry that you didn't feel welcome by us but we do try and make all of our customers welcome.We have a lot of people booking for 1 night stays as this is no problem for us at all but unfortunetly,when someone arrives late afternoon and is out for the evening, we haven't really the time to get to know you as much as we would like too.We ALWAYS greet our customers with a good morning and try to socialise as much as we can but breakfast time is always our busiest period and we find customers like to enjoy there breakfast without much interruption. Again, all we can do is apologies to you that you didn't feel welcome, but it was is no way intentional. lisa & chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for a week and can easily recommend it. Chris and Lisa work very hard to make sure your stay is a good one from having a good night's sleep in lovely beds to the superb cooked breakfast that sets you up for the day. Please support them when looking for somewhere to stay in Paignton.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickardowise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cherwood. The hotel was clean and the room that we were given was spotless, there were fresh towels, tea and coffee, radio, flat screen tv and even a small fridge in the room.

Breakfast was served promptly each morning and we were given a choice of times and a good selection of breakfast items to order the night before - cereal and juices were also available each morning. The cooked breakfast was the best that I had in a B&B. We took our little border terrier along with us and he was also made welcome and taken into consideration when we went down for breakfast.

There is no on-site parking but parking is arranged at the car park round the corner, which we had free for the whole stay.

The Cherwood itself is in a good location just off the main seafront and near the main street where the shops and amusements are. There are also 2 or 3 pubs nearby that allow you to take a dog inside (the main being Henry's Bar)

The price was very reasonable, even with the extra charge for Buster, I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Top notch hotel in a good location just a couple of minutes walk from the sea front and green. Run by Chris and Lisa who are warm, friendly and keep the place spotless. They also make just about the best breakfast I've had anywhere! The lack of on-site parking isn't a problem as Chris and Lisa will reserve a space for you at a large car park which is literally just round the corner. Next time we visit Paignton the Cherwood will be our first choice hotel. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay in Paignton at the Cherwood. Warm welcome from our hosts, clean and comfortable bedrooms in a family friendly environment.

Good selection for breakfast and timely service. Hotel is 2 minute walk from beach, and main high street with pubs and restaurants.

Only improvement I'd suggest is black out blinds for the windows. The current blinds are flimsy in the room we stayed in and light flooded into room from 6am.

Room Tip: Try dinner at the Cattlemans for a fabulous steak.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djfozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#27 of 96 in Paignton
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaches B and B
Beaches B and B
#11 of 96 in Paignton
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#14 of 96 in Paignton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 96 in Paignton
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#69 of 96 in Paignton
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Paignton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £61 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing