We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't fault it”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #27 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can't fault it”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Cherwood is excellent value for money. This is the second time we've stayed and the attention to detail is exemplary, very well organised. The full English breakfast is superb, you'd be hard pressed to find a more tasty one. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
78
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Cherwood in a superior room and we had a lovely time. Breakfast is good, with a varied choice, Location perfect for the beach and an added bonus is that parking is included . Perfect place in Paignton

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teabrewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Myself and my two children aged 9 and 4 and also two close friends and children aged 7 and 13. Our room was the most comfortable I have ever stayed in, I even slept better than I do at home, we had a three night stay over the 1st weekend of August, We had a three hour drive from portsmouth and were welcomed by Lisa and Chris on arrival, we were shown straight to our rooms and helped with our luggage. Tv, Dvd, ceiling fan, fridge, tea and coffee facilities were a great added bonus, the kids had their own den with bunk beds and their own tv/dvd with a curtain which pulled across for a little more privacy when they fell asleep, out room was spotless and the bathroom had a lovely walk in shower with plenty of hot water and fresh fluffy towells. Breakfast was fantastic with a very wide choice, the full english was fresh hot and plentifull, we didn't really need lunch. You will not get bored the hotel is a stones throw from all the main attractions, lovely beach, great water park, fair rides and even fireworks on the saturday night, the hotel bar serves drinks at a very good price (not like the ususl rip offs!!) this is a beautiful place to stay and we wish we had longer to explore, the kids wanted to stay forever. If you are looking for a great getaway with warm friendly hosts then get booking, we WILL DEFINATELY be returning...oh and free parking for the whole stay!! Thankyou Lisa and Chris for making a short getaway into a really special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the cherwood at the end of july the b and b was in a good location close to the beach. The rooms were lovely and were very clean. Lisa and chris was very friendly and helpful. Good choice at breakfast time of cooked breakfast cereals fruit and yoghurts and you were welcomed at breakfast time with a smile and good morning would stay there again and recomend to friends thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellakiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Travel

We are from Scotland and decided to fly to Exeter airport, hire a car and then drive to Paignton. Certainly a good way to do it as short flight, great wee airport and only 30 minute drive to Paignton

Arrival

Chris greeted us at the door and explained how things worked, buzzer if we needed them, breakfast etc. he showed us to our room and showed us where everything was and left us to it.

Room

Room was fine, nothing particularly fancy about it but comfy bed, nice sofa and ceiling fan which was excellent given the weather. Plenty tea n coffee stuff and also shampoo etc in the bathroom which was good. Also a fridge was provided -also great given the weather as able to keep cold drinks and after sun in there!

Breakfast

Easily one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had in any hotel. Cooked fresh in the morning and plenty of choice. I actually also like the fact we were left alone just to eat it in peace!

Parking

Parking is provided at a car park on the next road to Garfield Road, beside the Inn on the Green pub and tickets for this were provided by the hotel so that was good too.

Location

On a road leading off a green which sits alongside the pier and the beach so good location and quiet enough for where it was.

Area

The area of Paignton, Torquay and surrounding is gorgeous. Must do visits are babbacome cliff railway to the beach and to the village of Cockington as both are stunning. Also Brixham is beautiful although busy. Dartmouth is also lovely.

Pubs

Inn on the green best for food. The factory round the corner also good. Not impressed with the wether spoons or Henry's bar.

Overall

Good holiday, good b n b. one major annoyance was almost every place we went to checking if they could accept our money due to their being Scottish notes!!!!! They are Pounds sterling whatever way you look at it!!!!! Incredibly annoying and actually began to make us very angry and it would actually put me off this area again to be honest. However, good outweighed the bad and, all in all, a good holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnemch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malvern
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this quality b&b,beautiful, spotless room with loads of little extras, comfy bed, Breakfast wonderful selection, of cereals,fruit juice, fresh fruit , dried, fruit,and a beautifully presented full english!! the staff were friendly,seeing us off when we left, we will be going back to this little treasure. this the first b&b that i have been to that has a dish of sweets ,shoe polisher,and a sewing kit in the room!!! so hows that for caring .thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel was one of the nicest (for the price) that we have stayed in before. We stayed in May for a joint birthday weekend, when we arrived the owner welcomed us and asked us if we were parking (we were) and he gave us a parking ticket for the lot around the corner. We were then shown to our room which was lovely, everything we needed and more. Luxurious extras and lovely couch, double bed, en-suite with tv, digital radio and fridge. BUT...we then started to feel very unwelcome at the hotel, the owner didn't really feel as happy to have us their as all the other b&b's and hotels we have stayed in, this may be because it was only for one night over a weekend. We brushed it off as we were on holiday. Sleep quality was lovely and no noise from the outside. At breakfast it was a bit harder to brush off the bluntness of the staff. Breakfast was just given to us, not much good morning, how did you sleep. We really didn't want to stay much longer so we packed and went to pay our bill, in front of us their was a young family paying and the staff were laughing and giving them a discount card for next year, thanking the for coming, and saying next time ring us and will book you in with discount instead of using booking.com. Our turn to pay, we were given the discount card with not much explanation of how it works, we paid and this followed an awkward silence where they would normally thank us for coming and to have a nice day, but it didn;t come. We just said goodbye and left. We feel very let down by this, for what we paid we feel we did not feel satisfied with the level of service

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishJoe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your comments.We are sorry that you didn't feel welcome by us but we do try and make all of our customers welcome.We have a lot of people booking for 1 night stays as this is no problem for us at all but unfortunetly,when someone arrives late afternoon and is out for the evening, we haven't really the time to get to know you as much as we would like too.We ALWAYS greet our customers with a good morning and try to socialise as much as we can but breakfast time is always our busiest period and we find customers like to enjoy there breakfast without much interruption. Again, all we can do is apologies to you that you didn't feel welcome, but it was is no way intentional. lisa & chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#12 of 96 in Paignton
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#32 of 96 in Paignton
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Paignton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carrington Guest House
Carrington Guest House
#33 of 96 in Paignton
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#16 of 96 in Paignton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Property: The Cherwood
Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing