We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #25 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Candolim, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for the weekend. Chris and Lisa were very helpful. They could not do enough for us. Compared with other places we had stayed in Paignton our room and shower were spacious. Being coeliac they did everything necessary to met my special needs. When we go to Torbay again we shall be booking at the Cherwood.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
77
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from a short break at the cerwood. Room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean plenty of tea and coffee. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful and perfect location for the beach,harbour,town and bus station. Thank you Lisa and cris for you great hospitality.
We would reccomend the zoo for a day out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 double superior,very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice Hotel, owners are very helpful, room I had was very nice and very clean, breakfast was excellent, I think it would be good for anyone i.e, holiday or business, location is excellent close to town and railway station, parking is just around the corner next road not far and they give you ticket for your stay you can unload right outside as its a loading area so you do not have a problem off loading and going to park

Room Tip: Call owners they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed in a single room at the Cherwood for a weekend in January and I would recommend the place to anyone. Chris and Lisa were warm and welcoming, my room was clean and well equipped, and the vegetarian breakfast they provided was top notch.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 659Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I booked the Cherwood for a weekend away in January based on the majority of the reviews I read. The Cherwood is a lovely hotel.
Lisa and Chris were very welcoming and friendly on the arrival they showed me to my room which I was really pleased with, it was a good size room with its own en-suite and it very clean.
I then took a look around the area where there is plenty to do for all different ages. Load of place to eat out which were all reasonably priced. Great location!!! Will defiantly be coming back in the future as a lovely hotel and still got plenty more to see. They also do most amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ja b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Cherwood hotel last weekend with my wife and two children ages 4 years and 5 months. The atmosphere was very friendly Lisa and chris could not do enough for us. They accommodated for our baby with cots etc. The breakfast was one of the best I've had. There is continental as well as a full english. Both were fabulous. We have re booked for may bank holiday.
Will recommended this BNB to family and friends. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at The Cherwood and hopefully won't be our last. We love this part of the country and this was the perfect accommodation from which to explore. The pier and two great pubs are all within walking distance. The accommodation itself was clean and clearly well maintained. Chris and Lisa were welcoming, helpful and cook a brilliant full English!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mickey_Monkstain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.0 mi away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#11 of 96 in Paignton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#3 of 96 in Paignton
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 96 in Paignton
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birklands Guest House
Birklands Guest House
#31 of 96 in Paignton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Property: The Cherwood
Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing