We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent host”

Redcliffe Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redcliffe Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent host”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I had travelled to Paignton on the off chance. Stayed at the Redcliffe Lodge for two days which was a last minute decision.The room was clean, Dave was an attentive host, We had wonderful breakfasts,it was a smashing location with ample parking space We will be back.

Room Tip: talk to the honest owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a pleasant three days staying at The Redcliffe Hotel. This is a lovely hotel in a great location. We had a sea view and it was heaven! Rooms very clean and well kept. Food excellent too. Facilities great, especially the swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Staff very friendly and quick service when dining. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend for a large function. We have been a few times before and were expecting the same high standard we have experienced in the past. We were not disappointed. Many of the staff had been there for some time which is always a good sign.
Rooms 126 and 127 are good rooms to have, as both are sea facing and are at the end of a corridor so you are not disturbed by other guests.
The service and food were of a high standard . Drinks reasonably priced for a hotel. A very pleasant walk into Torquay and if you can't face the walk back there is an excellent bus service although in our case we got a taxi, as between 4 people it was only £2 each

Room Tip: Already in review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 44west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We called in to check the price of a double room for friends visiting on 14th Feb. I was shown a very nice room and wanted to book. I was quoted £40 including breakfast but I was told to phone back when the owner got back. The owner then quoted £50 because he said valentines day was a holiday (news to me and the government), and he felt he had the right to charge more. I will say the lodge was very clean and I would have been happy to book all my friends and family when they visit but by trying to make an extra £10 this guy has lost hundreds if not thousands of pounds of business.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank twoenglishladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A welcome at the door with a smile from David , the owner, who was very polite and accommodating. Arrived late but no problem and although past the hour for dinner, he made us some scrummy sandwiches and provided drinks. The turret room had fantastic views , very clean, tidy and comfy bed. Breakfast at a reasonable hour and it was first class and the service was of equal merit. We will visit and stay again.

Room Tip: Just ask for the turret room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was not the first visit to this hotel and we were a little disappointed.
The quality of the food was not up to the usual standard, neither was the presentation.
That really is the only negative thing to say. The staff are brilliant, very friendly and efficient and many have been there for years indicating that it is a good place to work and they are treated well.
Hotel lovely and clean and in a wonderful position.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, everything was as good as you could possibly want. It was pretty damn special to sit and eat the wonderful breakfast looking out at the fab views including the pier, sea and green. The gentleman that owns this hotel couldn't possibly do any more for us and we were very pleased with our stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanAckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe Lodge Hotel

Property: Redcliffe Lodge Hotel
Address: 1 Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Hotel Class:2 star — Redcliffe Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Lodge Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing