We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“65th Birthday”
Review of Villa Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Marina
Ranked #64 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I spent my 65th birthday at the Villa Marina ,and it was Fantastic every thing was spot on. I would highly recommended this hotel , PLEASE ignore the one bad review,from the moment we checked in it was brilliant

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alden2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I agree totally with the previous review in that the negative review should be discounted. This is a Superb Hotel !!! We too felt totally at ease and relaxed in this beautiful hotel. I travel constantly and found the level of cleanliness and service to be first class. The owners are a delightful and very professional couple who always provided us with an exemplary and charming level of service and attention to detail. (The breakfasts were sublime!!) The rooms with their balcony and sea views are outstanding.My wife and i enjoyed many lazy mornings after breakfast sat on the balcony listening to the waves gently lapping the beach and the seagulls going about their business, looking out over a sun drenched sea. We came to Paignton for relaxation and found it and more here at the Villa Marina. Highly recomended and will return again ...soon hopefully!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhonguojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

PLEASE ignore the one bad review, we have just come back fom a long weekend break and could not fault the hotel.
From the moment we checked in to when we left the service we had was brilliant.
The room had sea views, you could lie in bed and look out to sea, open balcony doors and lie in bed listening to the waves breaking. The bathroom was not just clean but sparkling, plenty of hanging space, 2 comfy armchairs and tea and coffee facilities.
Freshly cooked breakfast, served by the owner, gin nothing too much trouble.
Will definitely be back, thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryprobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was a beautiful seaside home built for the founder of modern dance Isadora Duncan. We have stayed here during the last week in June for the last few years to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and it would be unthinkable for us to stay anywhere else in Torbay. The dining room overlooks the sea and is beautifully peaceful. The breakfast is consistently delicious with a good choice of cereals and full English fare. I cannot praise highly enough the owners Marilyn and Steve, who are always so friendly and accommodating, even with people like us who can't book in advance for family reasons, even to the point of moving us around the various rooms should we wish to extend our stay as we invariably do. The bedrooms are superb, spotlessly clean and fresh, and the view are to die for. Going to sleep to the sound of the sea is truly fantastic. Just got back home from another wonderful stay, thank you again Marilyn and Steve. Well done! Hope to be back again very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 are our favourites, you could almost think that you were on a ship. Room 4 takes up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyGmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Villa Marina has been our home from home for the last few years, we visit Paington at least twice a year, and this hotel cottage by the sea shore is where we always stay. Terrific location, great views over Torbay, open the back gate and you are on beautiful sands. The staff knows us by name, very friendly and helpful, breakfast is always freshly cooked, with good quality ingredients. It's the one and only for us, very highly recommended...you will not be sorry!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Idris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed in room 8 on this occasion. The top floor room has view over the sea and to Torbay.
The room is large and very comfortably furnished with the 5ft bed centrally positioned against the back wall so you can lie in bed and look out at the sea. We left the windows open on the tilt setting so that we could fall asleep and wake to the sound of the sea lapping over the sand.
There is tea/coffee facilities, a small fridge, a free standing fan and a heater if you need them.
There is good hanging space, small drawers at the sides of the bed, and a large mirror on the inside of the cupboard.
The bathroom is modern and has a large shower, loo and basin.
Everything is well presented, spotlessly clean and tidy.
Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are so very friendly and accommodating.
Breakfast is lovely, with cereals, juice, full English, toast, tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Breakfasts are staggered between 8am and 9am, and you will be given a time which is flexible.
The table for room 8 is in the window with a view out to the sea, the pier and green.
There is private parking for guests at the side of the Hotel.
Finally, a couple of observations, but these are in NO WAY a criticism, merely observations to help you..
There are vertical blinds at the windows which are fine, but, when it gets light, they don't keep the room dark, and if you are like my husband, the slightest crack of light wakes him up... so take your own sleep mask.
There is one electrical socket either side of the bed which has the bedside lamps plugged into them, and so nowhere for you to plug in your mobile phone etc. There is a trailing socket at the side of the fridge which you can use for one side of the bed. I only found this as we were leaving.
Overall the Villa Marina is a wonderful place to stay with the most friendly, professional people looking after you. We shall visit again.

Room Tip: In my opinion, room 2 and room 8 are the very best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times and each time I request the same room, members of staff are always at hand to help with any queries I have and are certainly polite and well presented. Regardless of the nature of my visit I am always greeted with a warm welcome from staff members and especially from the Manageress/Owner. Every time I stay in the hotel the food is consistent with its quality and value for money. The attention to detail throughout the building and surrounding areas maintained by the establishment is definitely worth mentioning as it is part of why this hotel is a mark above the rest. balcony rooms are, without a doubt, worth booking as in my own experience they are the perfect way to relax and retreat without feeling enclosed to four walls.
The location of the hotel is another reason why this is the BEST and ONLY place I would stay when travelling down south.

Cannot wait to return,
Many Thanks to everybody at the hotel for making my visits so special!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony add effortless luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 97 in Paignton
249 reviews
0 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Address: 2 Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £55 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation with stunning sea views across Paignton Seafront. When looking for a Hotel in Paignton, The Villa Marina is ideally located in the heart of Torbay on the English Riviera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Marina Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing