We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just came back from spending 2 nights at this fabulous hotel.
Room was so comfortable, nice view over the sea. Fresh fruit, bottle of water, nice biscuits and plenty of tea, coffee and even hot chocolate on the refreshment tray.
Great check-in, we were told to take our bags to our room and come back to reception to order complimentary tea or coffee, which we did - even got some lovely cookies.
Evening meal was really good - great choices, lemon sorbet between starter and main course, plenty of food, lovely puds and then cheese and biscuits with coffee and mints, served in the lounge if wanted.£10 per person for all of this - I don't know how they do it!
House wine was good and the price very reasonable.
Nightly entertainment was good.
Spa was well worth a visit.
All the staff are friendly and very helpful.A lovely atmosphere. A lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and have an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely looking building inside and out, great location. Best hotel by far !

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Detty91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

staff still do not give a monkeys. only has lunch which was fair. clean and tidy. we go as it is local looking for somewhere else to spent our money locally

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basil97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

On the spur of the moment , my husband and I deceided to spend a couple of days away at the seaside. I had looked at the reviews, but was skeptical of the level of service for the rate we were quoted for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. We spent time in the pool,sauna and steam room , relaxed in the comfortable room with seaview and dined on the magnificent repast that was deftly served morning and evening. The only thing that was not perfect was that we could only stay for two days. I am now trying to find time to return as soon as possible. Thank you to all Staff for making an excellent break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Everything that can be said about this hotel has already been said. I arrived home yesterday after a week's stay and can state that the Palace is the finest hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying at and will look no further for any future holiday. I have already booked for a fortnight in June and a further week in December and am already looking forward to them.

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller like myself, ask for room 60 (2nd. floor) or 20 (1st. floor), very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doreen709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Havent stayed here, but have had lunch here many times. also joined the leisure suite, which is well run with a lovely pool, of course if you are not resident you have to pay for, residents are free. I have been recently to enquire about a booking, about a Party to book a room. "Front of house" very professional , and attentive , we were offered tea/coffee until the manager was free.

Manager very smart and attentive , and supplied me with a brochure.

Hotel clean modern smart and warm .

I cannot vouch for hotel rooms, but would imagine .... if everything on ground floor is in order, bedrooms would be as good.!

Well done Palace Hotel. If I didnt live locally I would not hesitate to stay here.!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic weekend and this hotel. We had a second floor sea veiw room which was very spacious and comfortable. Lovely bed, huge plasma t.v., tea, coffee, hot chocolate making facilities with biscuits and even a large bottle of drinking water, comfortable armchairs to sit beside the window and enjoy the view across the sea.

Hotel was very clean with lovely decor and the staff were all so friendly and helpful..nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent, very tasty and plenty of it and the waiting staff were very attentive.

The evening entertainment was very good, singers, a comedian and a magician. Lovely big secure car park. Hotel well situated within walking distance to town centre and to Torquay.
The only slight downside was the en-suite bathroom, very clean but could do with a bit of a facelift but certainly wouldn't put me of going there again. So impressed that we will be booking again next year.

Room Tip: sea view is best as back rooms overlook buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.6 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £94 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing