We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palace Hotel, Paignton”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Palace Hotel, Paignton”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Have just spend one night's bed and breakfast at The Palace Hotel in Paignton, whilst attending a family funeral. After a friendly and efficient check-in we were immediately offered complimentary tea / coffee which was waitress served by friendly staff. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms are far better than I expected. We had booked two rooms (an executive room which was at the very front of the hotel - contained a double and a single bed), sofas and table with plenty of room and was just lovely. The other room was a twin room and although smaller was one of the nicest twin rooms I have ever stayed in!) The hotel was lovely and warm. Large drapped windows - all double glazed in bedrooms - very comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious. you helped yourself to juice, cereals, crossaints etc then you were served tea / coffee in pots at your table. You had a choice of breakfasts and your orders were taken quickly and served promptly. The service was 4 star without a doubt and I would nt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Being a bank holiday week-end and Paignton hosting the "Bikers Festival" we were unable to get booked into a local guest house at such short notice. We had previously visited The Palace Hotel to have lunch on a previous visit to the area, so therefore knew that the Hotel was very conveniently located for where we needed to be. It is right on the sea front of Paignton with ample parking and is within walking distance of both train station and coach station.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jensongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    109
    42
    8
    9
See reviews for
131
251
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

well what can we say this place is joke!
1 star prices
5 star treatment
5 star quality
5 star food
5 star facilitys
5 star staff
this place should run courses for other hotel owners on how to do things
in the correct and proffesional manner,
we stayed mid april 2012 many thanks to all staff who made our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed recently at the Palace with my wife's elderly mother, our daughter and her partner.
The staff were very helpful and the rooms were brilliant, The food was extremely good and the menu was varied, no problems at all, we recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value and excellent food, we will certainly visit again! Denise and John Harrod, Southampton. 18/4/12.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have just spent a 2 night break at the Palace with our extended family - 11 of us in total. We had a relaxing and extremely comfortable stay.
Our room overlooked the sea and offered comfortable beds, good facilities and plenty of space for the 4 of us.
Both the breakfast and evening meals were good although the children's menu was limited and lacked imagination.
The pool was an added bonus and thoroughly enjoyed by young and old a like.
The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicksclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just came back from spending 2 nights at this fabulous hotel.
Room was so comfortable, nice view over the sea. Fresh fruit, bottle of water, nice biscuits and plenty of tea, coffee and even hot chocolate on the refreshment tray.
Great check-in, we were told to take our bags to our room and come back to reception to order complimentary tea or coffee, which we did - even got some lovely cookies.
Evening meal was really good - great choices, lemon sorbet between starter and main course, plenty of food, lovely puds and then cheese and biscuits with coffee and mints, served in the lounge if wanted.£10 per person for all of this - I don't know how they do it!
House wine was good and the price very reasonable.
Nightly entertainment was good.
Spa was well worth a visit.
All the staff are friendly and very helpful.A lovely atmosphere. A lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and have an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely looking building inside and out, great location. Best hotel by far !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detty91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

staff still do not give a monkeys. only has lunch which was fair. clean and tidy. we go as it is local looking for somewhere else to spent our money locally

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basil97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.6 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing