We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Party at The Palace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Garden Party at The Palace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My family and I went to a Garden Party at The Palace Hotel Paignton for The Jubilee weekend. It was fantastic. The staff were lovely and we were treated like royalty!! On our arrival we were offered a glass of Pimms. The band were playing and the whole place was decorated in red, white and blue. The food was amazing, There was a full buffet and a whole array of seafood which included delicious prawns, mussels and oysters. We were then treated to a cream tea with huge scones, clotted cream and fresh strawberries. Delicious!!! I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family and will definately be returning again shortly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magical6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    99
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
123
218
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brixham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Met some friends for lunch at the Palace and was really surprised what a lovely place it was Food was good too. Dont think I'll leave it another 70 years before I return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I have just returned home from a four night break at The Palace Hotel in Paignton on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. This was my third visit and once again I found it a very pleasurable experience. The hotel is positioned right on the sea front and has a large car park. The staff are all delightful, the food is of an extremely high quality and always nicely served and the public rooms are very comfortable and pristine. It most definitely deserves more than its three star rating in my estimation! A lovely traditional hotel with standards that are difficult to find of late! I look forward to our next visit.........

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank appleblossom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had previously stayed in the sister hotel "Headland" but decided to try this hotel at the sea shore, it had a great car park, and the welcome was excellent with free tea and biscuits. The staff especially Anna were very cheerful and courteous and made you feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble they were always smiling. The room was an executive and had a great view of the sea and the green in front of the hotel, it was spacious and comfortable, only downside was that it did not have a power shower. The food was very good although the service was at times a bit slow but after having a word with Sue the restarant manager it went up a gear, tables could have been better placed with a little more walkway room, did feel isolated from others as we were in a corner. All in all this was a small glitch in what was an enjoyable and restful stay in a high standard hotel, would definately recommend it and we will be back later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hobsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Have just spend one night's bed and breakfast at The Palace Hotel in Paignton, whilst attending a family funeral. After a friendly and efficient check-in we were immediately offered complimentary tea / coffee which was waitress served by friendly staff. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms are far better than I expected. We had booked two rooms (an executive room which was at the very front of the hotel - contained a double and a single bed), sofas and table with plenty of room and was just lovely. The other room was a twin room and although smaller was one of the nicest twin rooms I have ever stayed in!) The hotel was lovely and warm. Large drapped windows - all double glazed in bedrooms - very comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious. you helped yourself to juice, cereals, crossaints etc then you were served tea / coffee in pots at your table. You had a choice of breakfasts and your orders were taken quickly and served promptly. The service was 4 star without a doubt and I would nt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Being a bank holiday week-end and Paignton hosting the "Bikers Festival" we were unable to get booked into a local guest house at such short notice. We had previously visited The Palace Hotel to have lunch on a previous visit to the area, so therefore knew that the Hotel was very conveniently located for where we needed to be. It is right on the sea front of Paignton with ample parking and is within walking distance of both train station and coach station.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jensongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

well what can we say this place is joke!
1 star prices
5 star treatment
5 star quality
5 star food
5 star facilitys
5 star staff
this place should run courses for other hotel owners on how to do things
in the correct and proffesional manner,
we stayed mid april 2012 many thanks to all staff who made our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed recently at the Palace with my wife's elderly mother, our daughter and her partner.
The staff were very helpful and the rooms were brilliant, The food was extremely good and the menu was varied, no problems at all, we recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value and excellent food, we will certainly visit again! Denise and John Harrod, Southampton. 18/4/12.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing