We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Palace
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked originally for four nights bed, breakfast and evening meal but extended the stay for a further two nights as we enjoyed it so much. The meals were excellent with plenty of choice in all courses and more than ample servings. The hotel is warm and comfortable with a lovely lounge area and it has an indoor pool and spa. The grounds are attractive and well maintained, there is free parking for guests. The staff are all very approachable, friendly, helpful, and hardworking, doing all they can to make the stay special. The Palace Hotel is well situated on the sea front and is only a short walk from the shops. Special thanks to David the waiter, always smiling and cheerful. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie120555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalaceHotel, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Good evening, thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our hotel. I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to extend it by two additional nights.
I am also delighted to note that you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They really do pride themselves on offering the highest levels of customer service possible, and I am glad that this made your stay special. I will pass your kind words on to them, especially David, and I am sure they will all be overjoyed.
Your comments regarding our Paris Restaurant and menus are particularly pleasing as we work so hard to create the perfect dining experience for our guests.
It is very nice to hear that you found the hotel to be welcoming and comfortable and particularly enjoyed our leisure and spa facilities which are always ever popular.
I hope to welcome you back to The Palace Hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    98
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
121
216
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

we have now stopped in this hotel 4 times and we love it!, the rooms are great, the food superb but the icing on the cake are the staff (hope you are all well) and will be booking again soon as soon as i feel well
andrea and david wingate

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voodoolady24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Andrea and David,

Thank you for your very kind comments.

Customer service is paramount to us and we are pleased that you had a great time at the Palace Hotel for your fourth and previous stays.

It is also good to hear we excelled not only with our staff but with our food and the quality of our rooms.

I shall pass on your praise to all departments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Richard (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Have just arrived back from The palace hotel ,which was recommended by my brother to be very good he was not wrong.This was a excellent hotel in a great position for all shops and beach,the food was very good although the service on the Saturday night was very poor after 2 hours we were still waiting for coffees and cheese boards we gave up the ghost in the end as we wanted to go out Room 59 was ok though the bed was really soft to the point if one moved the other moved as well not a good nights sleep for us , The bar and lounge areas are lovely with there cosy fires one small niggle I was under the impression that you should be able to get a service 24 hours in a hotel why could we not get a drink from the bar when we came Bach on the Saturday? I did feel your bar did shut very early I guess this is because you have a lot of elderly residents all in all we had a great weekend and would return again well done to all the staff that run it you work hard. All in all this is a great hotel give it a try

Room Tip: Room 59 was not good near the lift which made it very noisy,ask for the seaveiw rooms on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WILLOWKIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
I am most pleased that your brother found the hotel to be so good that he recommended it to yourself, and also that you agree with his recommendation of excellence after your visit.
I am also thrilled that you found the food to be very good during your stay. Our team of professional chefs demonstrate their culinary flair when creating the menus and strive to make sure every dish is perfect for our guest’s optimum enjoyment. Your comments about service in the restaurant are quite perplexing, particularly that you only had a delay after your main course, and the fact that the restaurant service itself is only two hours long. I can assure you however that delays are not a regular occurrence and we strive to achieve the highest levels of customer service at all times. I am most pleased that you also noted that the staff were very hard working and your praise for them will be greatly received.
I am glad that you stated you enjoyed Room 59 with its contemporary décor, flat screen television, new bathroom and garden views, as well as partial sea views, make it ever so popular with our returning guests. The beds are all pocket sprung for our guests maximum enjoyment, however if you were not happy with this certain mattress, we would have changed it immediately had you brought it to our attention at the time.
Our hotel bar closes at midnight each evening by which time most, if not all, of our guests have already retired to their bedrooms.
I have noted your comments regarding the lift noise, and investigated this fully. Although there is a slight noise, it is the standard mechanics of the lifts movement, which is only just audible.
I am extremely pleased that you note that you have had a great weekend and that you would like to return to see us again. Your further recommendation of the hotel is wonderful to hear and I hope to welcome you back to The Palace Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just arrived back from a long weekend break this was our first time at this hotel but we will defonetlily be going back. Every thing about our short break was excellent the staff were very friendly and helpful the food was excellent, Our rooms were both very clean and comfortable even though we had to move after our first night. Both of our rooms had sea views and we were upgraded for having to move at no extra cost to us. The hotel was very busy as a coach had just arrived in front of us but they were all very friendly and nobody had to wait to long to be seen. the Palace is in a very good spot overlooking the sea and not far from Torquay & Brixham with some very nice places to visit around and about.This is a very high 3 star hotel i would have thought a 4 and would recommend to anyone thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
We are very pleased that your first stay over a long weekend was to your satisfaction.

It is gratifying that the staff were helpful and friendly as we do feel they are a great part of our overall customer experience.

The restaurnt goes from strength to strength and we are so pleased you rated the food so highly.

I will pass on your comments about the rooms to housekeeping as it is important that they get this well deserved praise.

We do hope you will be returning to the Palace Hotel, Paignton soon.

Regards,

Richard M. Soley. (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

stayed 8 days with a norwich coach holiday, rooms, staff, food all excellent. views to brixham and torquay from hotel right on the seafront and a 5min walk into town and train/bus stations. hotel lives up to the standard it states on its own website could find no faults at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank yu for taking the time to write your review on trip adviisor. We value your commenst and are pleased that your stay with us was anjoyable and upto expectations. We do hope we will see you again soon.

Richard M. Soley. (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just back from 4 nt stay in this Hotel. Hotel and rooms very clean and comfortable.
Food at breakfast and dinner was excellent with good variety and choice.
Staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
Facilities such as gym and pool very good. would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krazyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Your glowing edorsement is much appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed the room, food, service, facilities and your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Booked up at the last minute so had to accept a room change during our stay. That was ok but didnt expect to have to keep changing tables in the restaurant to accomodate others, despite being assured each time that ``this will be your table for the rest of your stay``
On arrival we were asked if we could leave dinner until 7.45 pm as the restauant was expected to be busy. We did this only to be told each time we ordered anything that it had run out and could we choose an alternative. Needless to say we dined at 6.30 pm after that.
Our first room was a double with a bath and partial sea view. This was quite reasonable but we were moved half way through our stay to a ground floor family room ( Room 83). On entering, our first task was to stamp our authority on the resident large spiders and trash their homes. The family room appeared smaller than our previous double with less less wardrobe space and also no bath. There were two of us, so how a family could cope in this room for any length of time I dont know. As I`m sure is apparant we were not overly impressed.
I must mention, the room did however have additional features . Pull the curtains back and the wallpaper was hanging off the wall. Move the single bed away from the corner and the reason for the musty smell was revealed. The paper here had fallen off and the damp plaster was deteriorating rapidly.
It was a shame really as the hotel is in a great position on the front.
We moved to this hotel after a stay in Torquay the previous week, where we stayed in a similarly rated hotel which was unfortunanately far superior.
Why didn`t we complain at the time? Well we did complain about the shortage and choice of food if you didn`t dine early, and the response to that indicated that we would probably be wasting our time.
We must mention that everything seems to be centred around the hotel lobby, the bar the lounge and entertainement area all being in that area in front of the reception desk. As the hotel seems to cater for a regular stream of outside functions and weddings this area becomes very crowded and residents have nowhere else to go.

In the end the stay provided us with quite a source of amusement and we put it all down to experience.

Room Tip: Just avoid room 83 on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for submitting your feedback, and my apologies that your experience with us was clearly not typical. Despite our best efforts unfortunately we will sometimes run out of particular dishes on our extensive menu, as they are freshly prepared.
Our rooms are continually monitored and maintained, and whilst we cannot guarantee to enforce a "no-spider" policy, I do feel that you have rather exaggerated the "features" which you mentioned. We would have welcomed the opportunity to address these matters whilst you were here so that you may have returned to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing