We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkey and Tinsel”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Turkey and Tinsel”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We have just come back from a 5 day break at Paignton.Everything at the Hotel was super.The variety of food was excellent all the staff very helpful.Our room was very comfortable.clean and plenty of room.We look forward to going back there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your very positive comments regarding your Turkey and Tinsel break at the Palace. It is always pleasing to read that our guests enjoy the overall experience of their stay with us and also that you intend to return in the future, I will certainly pass on your comments to the team as they are always pleased to hear their efforts have been appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    100
    42
    7
    8
See reviews for
124
222
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have stayed there twice now and have booked for 2013.The meals are very good and imaginitive the whole staff is polite& helpful and the ambience is perfect.Although it is classed as 3 star we believe it should be more

Room Tip: Room 55 is arguably the best room although No.54 is a close second-both are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creakyknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your very positive comments regarding your stay with us at the Palace. It was great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure of your visiting us in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

In spite of the weather being October-like we spent a happy few days staying at this hotel, with a seafront room. One of the most comfortable beds ever, just right to accommodate my 6 ft. 4 in. husband. The hotel was warm and inviting and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room with view of the pier and prom lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelw419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Had sunday lunch at the Palace today..

Silver service by polte well trained staff, the food was well presented, starter, main, sweet, coffee... a good range of nicely prepared traditional english fare, the also have an a la cart menu.

If you like the finer things in life (i know I do), then you will enjoy the dining room at the Palace, a grand piano being played in the corner... the atmosphere is lovely, the decor to match takes the diner back to a better time... a real treat at especially on a sunday lunch time, we took our coffee in the conservatory overlooking the sea following the meal.... all in all a lovely dining experience, the Palace just takes it all in its stride.

Room Tip: We just went for the meal, but from what i saw it was excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank De465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Have had lunch at the Palace now on three occassions, we are locals, and have been really impressed with the service, quality and value for money of the meal. If you have visitors coming to see you in Torbay you would be well advised to take them to the Palace Hotel for lunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMPaignton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Good Afternoon,
thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments. It is wonderful to hear that you have had lunch at the Palace on three seperate occasions and have been impressed every time with the levels of service and quality of food.
We strive to offer all of our visitors the best dining experience possible and I am delighted that you have experienced this on several occasions.
Your recommendation is most kind and I look forward to welcoming you back for many more lunches to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed just for 1 night. Eveninv meal was nice they kindly dorted me a table as I arrived a little late for their normal routine. The food was slightly over cooked but nice. The staff were very attentive. The room was compact but clean tidy and comfortable. 2 nigles the remote needs batteries and the showers not great is a mix that is either scolding or cold! The shower head wouldn't point down either aimed at the curtain.
Breakfast was lovely and freshly prepared.
I'd say the hotel is mainly used by families and older couples for short breaks and caters well for this clientele.
Staff were lovely and friendly overall a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen19675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Good Evening, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am most pleased that we were able to accommodate your late arrival, and that you enjoyed our cuisine, particularly the breakfast.
I am disappointed to note these two minor issues, however we do have two maintenance personnel employed to be able to fix these issues immediately when they arise.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the service from the staff and that you found them to be very attentive, lovely and friendly. They really do strive to provide the highest levels of customer service possible.
I am pleased that you regard The Palace as a lovely place to stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Just had a relaxing weekend at the palace. wish we could of stayed longer as we were so well looked after. The food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and nothing was to much for them. The room was small and clean but who stays in the room all day?The indoor pool was also clean with lovely soft towels. Will be back again when the weather gets warmer. A big thanks to the palace for a lovely time. Mandy and Mike Phillips

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review of our hotel. I am most pleased that you felt so well looked after and that you wish you could have stayed longer. The fact you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly is wonderful to hear, and I will pass on your praise to them all.

I am delighted that you plan to return, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace Hotel before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#59 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing