We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cath&bill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palace
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cath&bill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just spent 5nights at the palace 14 the to 19th may 2014 Beautiful hotel friendly and helpful staff bedrooms well appointed and spotlessly clean The food in the restaurant excellent with a very good choice at breakfast and evening meal Nice touch having coffee in the lounge Being very lucky with the weather made use of the gardens and the loungers Having been in hospital the previous week it was a lovely relaxing week Would come more often for weekends but it's quite a distance from Cheshire Will be returning though Thank you Sara

Room Tip: Room 75 was fine quiet at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good morning Cath & Bill, thank you for the lovely review you have left us, i am delighted you found our staff friendly and helpful and the hotel is beautiful, im so pleased you found the breakfast and evening meal excellent, we do hope to see you in the near future. Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    98
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
121
215
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Ok I just want to keep this review short and sweet. I visited the Palace Hotel on 16 April 2014 with family and friends food was fabulous service was even more amazing surroundings were beautiful I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a meal or to stay here and I hope to stay at some point in the future

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyTheInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good morning, thank you for taking the time to write a short review it is so lovely to here you had a fabulous time and the service was even more amazing, I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

stayed 3 weekends ago for a friend's birthday with the spa overnight deal. what a fantastic time we had. loved the beautiful art deco styling. as there were 3 of us, we had a room with 1 double, 2 single beds and ensuite facilities. afternoon cream tea was served with hugh freshly made scones. we were pleasantly surprised at our 7 course dinner in the elegant dining room where we also had breakfast the next day. had a lovely lazy time in the swimming pool while we waited for our individual free treatments. loved our facials with decleor products. definitely a place to visit to celebrate any special occasions

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wongtalk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good morning, thank you for taking time to leave a wonderful review on the hotel and spa, we are so pleased you had a fantastic time and that you would recommend us to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for my birthday on 3rd may. Room not good bed awful and shower total waste of time. Staff were very good though. Was very disappointed with our stay. Dont know if we would return after poor sleep and rubbish shower.

Room Tip: Avoid room 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathyno17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Lovely hotel although could do with modernisation of the rooms as they are a bit dated, the gardens however, are gorgeous. We stayed for one night B and B and the breakfast options are fantastic everything you could want for breakfast is there and the service is fantastic.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheralynyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good moring, thank you for leaving a lovely review. i am delighted you have had a great stay and you found the gardens gorgeous, I will pass on the good words to the staff in the restaurant and kitchen. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this really nice sea front hotel in Paignton. From first pulling up the gardens were well maintained and the hotel in good nick. We were greeted in a friendly and efficient manner. The room was in a good condition with all the amenities one would expect. Breakfast was excellent and service fantastic. The gym and pool were well looked after and a great way to work off the breakfast!

My only gripe and hence the 4 rather than 5 stars was the excessive heat! The hotel was roasting, we had to have the fan on in the room all the time so as not too bake!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Good morning thank you for your great comments you have left, I am very pleased you were impressed with the appearance and decor of the hotel.
We do continuously maintain the gardens and hotel to the highest level.
We look forward to welcomeing you back to the palace very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights half board. Beautifully kept hotel, in immaculate grounds. Situated on the main road, with only a short stroll over to the pier and beach. Fantastic hotel. Friendly, helpful, courteous staff. Nothing ever too much trouble. The room was clean, and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Only criticism was that the lighting was poor, there was no central light.
Although we don't really go for the evening entertainments, we could still sit in the lounge without it being obtrusive.
The food was DELICIOUS. From the breakfast to the 6 course evening meal. Plenty of choices, generous portions and all served at the table by the waiter or waitress onto 'hot' plates. Prompt and pleasant service. Only one morning a slight hiccup which when we complained was swiftly dealt with by the duty manager in person, and sorted to our immediate satisfaction.
Has a health suite attached, and whilst neither of us are 'gym' bunnies, I did indulge in a massage.
We were sorry when it was time to leave. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. in the UK. Certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: if like me you have eyesight problems let the hotel know in advance as duty manager said they do hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greypowerKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Good morning thank you for the wonderful review you left, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the palace, and you referred to the palace as ( The best hotel we have ever stayed in the uk).
I am so pleased you enjoyed our food, we strive to make only the best home cooked food for our guests, I hope you'll be returning to stay with us in the not to distance future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing