We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a lovely time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a lovely time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My sister and I bought our mum and dad Duchy Hotel vouchers for their Christmas and Anniversary presents and they decided to stay at The Palace in Paignton. They both had an absolutely wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and polite. The Senior General Manager, Lee Cullen, was extremely helpful and courteous and he is a real credit to the hotel group. It is also really nice to know that the owner of the hotel group, Steve, (The Palace, The Queen's and The Headlands) really cares about his guests and always wants to ensure that they have an enjoyable stay. I think that this is very important in today's hotel and leisure industry because one important aspect that keeps you motivated to go back and visit a hotel again is the friendly reception and great customer service, and The Palace definitely ticks these boxes. It is a beautiful hotel with stunning views which creates the perfect 'holiday' feel. Our mum and dad have stayed at The Palace twice now and on both occasions, the rooms were lovely and well maintained. All the staff were extremely welcoming and the food was also excellent. Our mum and dad are now really looking forward to visiting The Queen's hotel, part of the same group, later on in the year. We would all certainly recommend visiting The Palace.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beck_RR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving a wonderful review on the Palace we are so pleased your mother and father had a great time with us and that you rate us so highly.
The guest experience is paramount to us and we all work hard to make everyones visit a memorable as possible.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    99
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
123
218
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the Palace for lunch today. Every thing was first class, Service , and the food was excellent. Lots of choice. Staff very helpful. Will certainly be returning for a few days stay. Used the toilets and I always find this always gives you an idea what the place is going to be like. Toilets spotless. What more can I say about the place on a lunch visit . Just try it and you won't be disappointed I'm sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Good afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and that everything was first class.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the palace in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I find it hard to praise the Palace highly enough ! My last review covered a Celebration Lunch in October 2012. Since then myself and friends have held two small functions there. One was a Christmas Lunch Party in December 2013 for a group of 20 held in the Singer Room. This room was beautifully decorated and the service could not be faulted. We had requested canapés and Champagne on arrival and the canapés surpassed expectation. Many members of the group had travelled quite a distance to be there, many of them had been before and without exception they were impressed with what was provided. Sue, the restaurant Manager presided over the proceedings with firm,quiet and efficient friendliness and Karolina helped us with the organisation of the event from the outset. As a group, we are not easy to please....so well done !

Towards the end of March this year we held a "spur of the moment" Sunday Lunch for 10. The restaurant and the Singer Room were heavily booked, but once again Karolina and Sue organised a table in the Restaurant Annexe and even though the staff and kitchens were extremely busy we could not fault the service, the atmosphere nor the food.

The prices for both of these small events were most reasonable.

We regularly visit the Palace, and take friends, for weekday lunches in the conservatory and can highly recommend these. Most of our guests comment about the pleasant atmosphere.

This Sunday we took 93 year old Mother, who is not the most able of people but on her visits to Torbay, likes to have a Sunday Lunch at The Palace. The lunch was, again, excellent but Sue and her staff went to extremes to ensure that this elderly lady was made comfortable and enjoyed her visit.

Having been in the Hotel and service Industry for many years myself, I am very happy to recommend the Palace Hotel, and feel that it is a great asset to Torbay ! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMickyfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good afternoon, thank you for your excellent review on the palace, I am so pleased you keep returning to us for lunch and also for small functions,I am delighted you think our singer room is beautifully decorated. Karolina and sue are overwelmed with your comments and we all look forward to your next visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from a 2 night break at the palace hotel
From the time the time of booking the receptionist was very friendly
Which was the same on our arrival
The hotel is very nice and clean, We had a sea view room with a small balcony room 54 which was also quite a nice
The breakfast was good as were the evening meals although some May find the evening meal a little limited for choice but there is a al a carte option !
Again the waiting staff were friendly and seemed happy
There was evening entertainment on both evenings which Saturday night was much better than the Friday night
The bar in the hotel is very reasonable for drinks and stocks a good selection
We would recommend the palace hotel and it is good value for money...
Be sure to ask for the gate code if leaving the car park as we were not aware we needed one so looked a bit silly parked in front of the barrier until another guest opened the barrier for us

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JfKoxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good morning, thank you for leaving a great review we are so pleased that your stay wityh us was a good one we do our upmost to have the best people working for us from the receptionist to the waiting staff, I am delighted you would recommend us to other people looking for a holiday.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Have been to this hotel many times and keep returning - for value-for-money it can't really be beaten. The prices are probably 3-star but the amenities, food and service are well above that. The staff in general are fantastic - all of them are but if there were to be special mentions then those would go to Shawn in the restaurant (excellent service), Cherie who cleaned our room (an excellent advert for the hotel and always smiling), and Ivana (restaurant again - excellent service and I recall one evening when she kept her tray and contents deftly balanced when we all thought it would go crashing to the floor!). We had 2 Club rooms during our stay which both faced the sea - hopefully the latter one (27) is soon to be on the schedule for a refurb: the decor was a little "tired" with staining around the radiator. Having said that it did not detract from our enjoyment and we will doubtless return again next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigeljameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good morning, thank you for your wonderful review, i am delighted you keep returning to the palace and you feel it is good value for money and cant br beaten on price, i will pass on to Shawn, Ivana, and cherie your great recognition of their service, we do hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just spent 5nights at the palace 14 the to 19th may 2014 Beautiful hotel friendly and helpful staff bedrooms well appointed and spotlessly clean The food in the restaurant excellent with a very good choice at breakfast and evening meal Nice touch having coffee in the lounge Being very lucky with the weather made use of the gardens and the loungers Having been in hospital the previous week it was a lovely relaxing week Would come more often for weekends but it's quite a distance from Cheshire Will be returning though Thank you Sara

Room Tip: Room 75 was fine quiet at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good morning Cath & Bill, thank you for the lovely review you have left us, i am delighted you found our staff friendly and helpful and the hotel is beautiful, im so pleased you found the breakfast and evening meal excellent, we do hope to see you in the near future. Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Ok I just want to keep this review short and sweet. I visited the Palace Hotel on 16 April 2014 with family and friends food was fabulous service was even more amazing surroundings were beautiful I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a meal or to stay here and I hope to stay at some point in the future

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyTheInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good morning, thank you for taking the time to write a short review it is so lovely to here you had a fabulous time and the service was even more amazing, I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing