We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first stay at the Palace Hotel”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Palace. We booked late for 2 nights, so only a standard room with no sea view. The room was what you would expect from a *** standard room, clean and comfortable. What sets this hotel apart from other hotels are the staff, nothing was to much trouble. Food was very good and David the waiter really looked after our daughter. The Reception staff were also very helpful. The. Swimming pool is spotlessly clean and a very pleasant place to spend a hour. The common and outside seating areas are a really nice place to sit and have a drink. We will be back - hopefully this month if we can book a room! Don't be put off by negative comments about this hotel - you could miss a gem..

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Good evening, i would like to thank you for taking the time to write a great review for The Palace, we pride ourselves in employing great staff so the customers get a great experience every time they visit, I'm so happy you had a great time and david that looked after you all.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Sarah Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife for our 3rd anniversary & had the DBB offer we was a bit sceptical after reading some reviews with people saying it's full of old people who are very rude but that wasn't the case at all there was a good mix of all aged people and the old people where very pleasant. The Spa was lovely and having free use of the swimming pool sauna & steam room was a added bonus. The food was some of the nicest we've tasted and there was plenty if it. The waiting staff where second to none very pleasant & polite on to the rooms we stayed in a standard double which was plenty big enough for us although we did have to move rooms because on the first night we was in room 79 which is above the extractor fans for the kitchen and there was a awful drowning noise when the kitchen was running & woke us up at 6.55am on the Saturday
morning we did mention it on the Friday evening but the hotel was full so they were unable to move us but ounce a room became available on the Saturday they moved us right away. All in all a lovely hotel & we will be back. 1 more thing if you stay on a Saturday make sure you stay to see Tony Baffles he's a magician/comedian and he's fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pu33y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Good afternoon, Thank you for your wonderful review, i'm so pleased you had a great stay with us and you would love to return in the future, and i'm delighted that you managed to use all the facilities we have on offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Sarah Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just spent a wonderful three days here with our parents. We stayed in rooms 25 and 27 which had lovely sea views and had no problems at all. The rooms were immaculate and well equipped. The staff are a real asset always polite, helpful and really cannot do enough for you to make your stay wonderful. I must say a special thank you to Sue the restaurant manager who made sure that I had no problems with the food as I cannot eat gluten. She went beyond what I expected always helpful, pleasant and with a lovely smile. Also thank you to the chef who sent me a message one night to say the lady who cannot eat gluten can have what ever she wants a really nice touch. The food is excellent and is plentiful. We have now stayed in all three of their hotels, the Queens and Headlands as well as here and enjoy all of them but this is our favourite and we will be back. The night entertainment is for older people which our parents did enjoy, not quite our taste as we are in our forties but you cannot please everyone and it has not put us off as everything else is excellent. I am very well travelled both in England and abroad and I can honestly say this is a real find and a hotel I look forward to visiting many times in the future.

Room Tip: Room 25 and 27 are quiet and have lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank debra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your lovely comments you have left, I'm so pleased the staff looked after you well in the restaurant and i will pass all the great comments on to them. we really look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Sarah Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
42
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

First time at this lovely hotel. Can't wait to visit again. Great location with ample parking. The food is outstanding - compliments to the dining room staff especially Sue, David and Philomena. Bedrooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Lots of comfortable seating both inside and out. A real jewel on the Torbay coast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Good evening, I would like to thank you for choosing The Palace for your stay, we are pleased that your first visit to us was a great one, and i will pass on your compliments to all the staff mentioned in your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Sarah Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently visited this hotel with family and would highly recommend it. Its like stepping back, in a very good way, to how things were and should be. The staff are very pleasant and attentive, the service good and the food is excellent. The cleaning staff are also to be commended as the whole hotel is spotless. Our family room was large and the beds were very comfortable. The garden area and terrace are a great place to relax and the position of the Hotel on the seafront meant I could park the car and not use it again for the whole break. Marvelous. It is also set far enough back not to get a lot of noise from the promenade The weather was lovely while we were away so we only used the indoor pool once, but that is a good facility to have .All in all I think this hotel is great value for money, not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back so it was very quiet. We didn't have a sea view but as we were not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Good evening, thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on the Palace, we are delighted that you had a great stay with us and found all our staff excellent it means alot to read such great reviews.
\we do hope to see you in the not so distance future.
Kind Regards
Sarah Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from 4 days at the Palace hotel and it was an excellent 4 days, we could not fault it in any way, Sue and the chef went out of their way to accommodate my numerous food allergies and I was able to have an excellent meal every night, my husband was able to tuck into his excellent meals the food is delicious, and a good choice every day, the rooms are kept spotless and cleaned every day, the entertainment every night is very good, this is our first visit to the palace but it certainly won't be our last, we are looking forward to our next visit hopefully soon!,

Room Tip: All good rooms as hotel was full we had to have a room at the back no sea view but nice large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Good afternoon, thank you for your great comments left in your review, we are pleased that you found your first visit to us excellent and could not fault it in any way, im so pleased that the chef and restaurant manager sue looked after you well and went out there way to make sure you had a great meal experience every night.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Sarah Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just come back from a 4 day break at the Palace.We have stayed there a number of times over the last 15 years. Although it's been 3 years since our last visit the standard is still as it always was.It is exceptional value.The food is first class.Sue and her team are excellent and nothing is to trouble for them as they go out of there way to make sure you will enjoy your meal.The housekeeping is also excellent as the rooms are kept spotless.The reception staff are also very helpful with any of your needs.The lounge,bar and outside seating area is very comfortable.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough and will be returning within the next few months.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dennis_percival1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Good afternoon, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are more than happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you would recommend us to anyone, its great to know that our standards are still the same as your last visit, and all the great things you have said about the staff i will pass it on to them.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the next few months.
Kind Regards
Sarah Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.6 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
291 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £96 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing