We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but the place is full of old people and smells of wee” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palace
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad but the place is full of old people and smells of wee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed here from 23rd Dec until 28th Dec with my family. Hotel is ok and some of the rooms have been refurbished and are around 3* standard. Hotel is mainly full of old people and the staff are not really on the ball, they also tend to go into a panic when you want something straight away. Everything is very laid back. The hotel is quite old and smells stale, this includes some of the staff that have probably been there as long as the building has been standing.
Service wise this hotel isnt bad, my only gripe is how unclean the room was when we came. Random hairs in the bathroom that were not mine did not bode well.
Id recommend this hotel for short breaks but not for shopping as Torquay is a bit of a hole and unless your into Pound land or low quality goods there isnt much to do.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    99
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
121
217
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

We felt a bit like we were travelling back in time staying at the Palace. We had a very large room with high ceilings, containing a queen bed (they say they have "king beds" but they are not North American king beds) and a single. There was more than enough room for all our stuff. The furniture and bathroom are quite dated, but everything was very clean and certainly sufficient for our needs. Just not very modern or stylish.
As two mid-forties adults with a 14-year old, we were the youngest family by a long-shot. However, had we been there during English school break, perhaps the mix would have been a bit different.
The breakfast was plentiful - one could eat a combination of a cold buffet (tinned fruits, yoghurt, pastries, cereals) and a hot made-to-order breakfast. However the choices were exactly the same every day. Given it was early July, we wondered at the lack of fresh fruit of any kind.
The hotel is well situated across the road from the beach, and just a short walk from a movie theatre and the main tourist strip of mediocre restaurants, tacky souvenir shops, and casions. The whole area had a slightly run-down, past its prime aura. Again, that may change with an influx of familes and children. But there were lots of services at the beach, including chair rentals.
Were we to go back, I think we might well opt for something in Torquay. We did enjoy a couple of meals at much nicer restaurants in Torquay, and on a rainy day, we enjoyed the small, pleasant acquarium.
The Eden Project was well worth the drive - a good full-day trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JH&PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, devon, uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

The check-in process was quick and reception staff polite and helpful. We were informed that if we came down after check-in we would receive free tea and coffee downstairs which is a nice touch.

Our room was on the top floor, it was spacious with a small hallway leading into a large room with a double and a single bed. The views from the room were outstanding, looking over the seafront and as we were up early in the morning we were able to watch the sun rise. There was also a small seating area with sofa and chair and table. The room had a flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilties and a good quality bottled water. The bathroom was large and both the room and bathroom were clean. I think we had a club room which I would recommend paying the extra for.

We asked the receptionists for some recommendations for places to eat in the evening and they were very helpful and seemed to have a good knowledge of the area. We also asked if they could bring breakfast up to us in the morning as my friend was getting ready for her wedding, they happily obliged to do this and brought up whatever we wanted - be aware there is a £3 pp charge for this though.

The bar area is nice and has a pool table and TV. The drinks are a tad on the pricey side but nothing too extreme. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities.

Overall I thought the hotel was fantastic for a 3* hotel, I have stayed in 4* hotels which were not half as nice as this one. The overall presentation of the hotel is good, although maybe slightly dated and some areas could do with a little touch up - peeling paint etc. But it was clean and the staff were great and willing to help with any requests we had. If I was to visit Paignton again I would most likely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I was recommended this hotel by friends who live locally and I was not disappointed. The hotel was first rate with elegant and tasteful decor, charming and courteous staff and bright, clean rooms with fabulous views. I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northernmonkey006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

This is the 5th time we have stayed in the Palace Hotel in the past 2 years as we have family in Paington. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in in the area!!

From the moment we first walked in, we were thoroughly impressed. The reception/ conservatory/ bar/ restaurant area are all beautifully furnished, with a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere (i didnt sit on one rickety chair during any of my stays as stated in a different review).

We stayed on both a dinner bed and breakfast deal and B&B. All meals were lovely and well presented. There are plenty of choices as there is a set a la Carte and a Table d'hote menu which is changed daily. Breakfast is always of a high standard with a continental buffet and the choice of cooked breakfast served.

The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to assist in making each stay perfect, In the evenings, we enjoyed sitting at the bar and chatting with the barstaff and other guests with the evenings entertainment in the background. There is a bar terrace with heated lights and a lovely garden with tables and chairs to sit out and enjoy the fresh air.

All the rooms that we have stayed in have been very well furnished and so clean and tidy that it seams that nobody has stayed in the room before. The bathroom is always absolutely pristine!

It is situated in the heart of Paington, with the lovely beach a minutes walk away and the town centre about 5 minutes walk away. Perfect spot!

NOT ONE COMPLAINT.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireKimico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mersyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

frendly staff' walk out the hotel right onto the seafront' the food is first class' i can not find fault' and can not beleave the price' i would go there year after year. great parking.
i tell all my frends that it is the best hotel to go to for the price.

i can not fault..
robert pensioner.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spartilfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth. Cornwall
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

I intend to sue this hotel.

It was that bad.

I am also going to contact Enjoy England and ask them to reconsider their star rating.

I have stayed in some lovely hotels over the years and in some dumps .. however, the "Palace" was the most overpriced, lowest quality hotel I've ever had the misfortune to stay at.

If you are offered a room for free .. and you're currently homeless .. and it's raining .. and J.Lo offers to share the room with you .. and then tells you she forgot all her clothes except her bikini .. then you might want to consider staying at the Palace Hotel, Paignton. POSSIBLY. Otherwise you should avoid it like Swine Flu.

When you are reading what follows, please bear in mind this 3 STAR hotel charges OVER £100 A NIGHT FOR A "STANDARD" ROOM - not some cheap B&B.

Personally, I think they should call their rooms "Sub-Standard" because that's what they are.

I don't have enough time to write up the full disaster that was out stay .. but take a look at some of our photos for an idea of how great this hotel was.

Here's a summary:

- Room was nowhere near the quality advertised .. everything was old and dirty
- Bathroom was a disgrace .. it was not even fit for a YMCA in the third world .. let alone a 3 star hotel in Devon charging over £100 a night. Toilet seat was chipped. Cheap stained Lino. Bath was stained. Tiles were chipped. Radiator was rusy, old and didn't work. It was caked in dust. Have a look at the photos.
- Room was disgustingly dirty .. parts of it hadn't been dusted in years .. that is not an exaggeration.
- We had workmen on on our room 50% of the days we were there .. IN AUGUST. They were throwing things off the room onto a skip outside our room.
- Breakfast took ages, toast was cold, no orange juice (had to wait ages .. and they never topped it up) .. and breakfast was tiny. I got 1 egg. 1 bit of toast. I sausage and 1 slice of Bacon. All tasted horrible. That's what they call a "Full English" in this 3 star hotel apparently.

The room we stayed in was less clean, and lower quality, than a £5 a night hostel in Malaysia I stayed at last August. Yet it cost over £100 a night.

DO NOT STAY HERE. Seriously.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CornishWebDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
3.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#8 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing