We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good location. Clean and friendly. Only downside was the car park had only 30 places for 90 rooms and cost £5 per day. The breakfast was of a high standard although the staff struggled to keep the supply of hot food constant when they got a bit busier.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    229
    147
    61
    62
See reviews for
280
294
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Basic rooms even for a travel lodge, No Climate control. A PARKING NIGHTMARE . Arrived on Sunday at 3PM with Luggage, wife in a Wheel Chair, Unloaded both, checked in, went shopping , came back to unload shopping and received a £60 parking ticket, whilst parked on the premises on double yellows displaying the Blue Badge. (Major rip off by Travelodge)
Hotel corridor on 1st floor STANK OF VOMIT, Reported and receptionist did everything possible but unable to remove smell. Awoken at 6 am by TV in the next room and again after midnight by same, not the fault of the guests as they too are on holiday, just poor room design. Here 3 days still unable to obtain 1 car park space for any length of time out of 5 disabled and 24 rear parking spaces. The cost at the time of booking appeared reasonable but with hindsight there are many B&Bs local with parking and vacancies at around 20 pp per night. Much better value.
Having had a poor experience at Travelodge Newquay, we decided to keep an open mind and try Paignton unfortunately This is equally as bad as is a fair proportion of the clientele attracted to this type of accommodation. Have stayed in Accor hotels all over Europe including Formula one basic and we find the superiority clear and evident aboard.. We found the staff helpful and cheerful which is always a plus. We will think long and hard before booking again with Travelodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarkan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paignton hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night last week with my wife and 3 daughters, on arrival was impressed by the modern look of the building, the location is excellent as it's literally only 30 seconds walk to the sea front. Managed to get one of the last car parking spaces around the back of the building which was lucky are there aren't really that many, parking costs £5 for 24hrs. We were checked in by Craig at the reception desk with a warm and friendly welcome. On opening the room door I was a little disappointed by the size of the room and we still had to squeeze in a travel cot for my 2 year old.
I noticed that the sash window was jammed open with a mug(assume the cleaners did this) and decided to close this as my 2 year old took a liking to the open window, I didn't realise the window weighted as much as a small family hatchback and it flew down and caught my finger, over a week later and my nail is still bruised purple and strangely not growing!!
Attention to detail could have been better as a few of the lights didn't work. Breakfast and dinner were fine and as you would expect, reasonable quality if a little over priced, to sum up a great location, clean room, descent food and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the sun as it became very warm and stuffy quite quickly ( unless you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vespaman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The rooms are to small. The parking is charged at £5 per night crazy.
Even so not enough space had to park two roads away.
Hardly any storage in the room.
Breakfast experience disgraceful.
Dirty tables,no plates or cutlery .
Food cold when it arrived. Tables were left uncleared.
Couldn't wait to get out

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very clean comfortable bed and pillows, staff very friendly and helpful, great location only 2 mins from sea Front and very close to town centre. Been to a few travel lodges and this is better than most. Only down side is very limited parking but staff will explain where car parks are.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We both stayed here overnight en-route down to Looe Cornwall, Very very pleased, rooms were nice and clean, comfy bed too ! ideal base for the great place of Paignton, Reception staff very welcoming, Thankyou once again,

Antony & Dawn, room 304 11/07/14

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here because we left booking quite late and it was difficult to get a BandB with family rooms (2 adults + 3 yr old). We got a fairly good deal comparing to other family rooms in Paignton - hence the 4 stars.

Location is very good - literally 1 minute to get on the beach, couple of mins to the pier and 5 mins to town.

beds comfortable, rooms very basic (stayed Travelodge before so knew what to expect) and could do with more of a clean between stays.

normally travelodges seem quiet, but the floors/walls in this place seem very thin - can hear people walking on all floors all the time.

The rooms were very hot and only had a very small fan. the safety windows were very small and didn't allow for any circulation - and the extractor in the bathroom didn't draw any air so that didn't help. Found it hard to sleep most nights because of the heat.

We knew parking would be a nightmare, so we didn't want the hassle so we parked in the nearby (few mins) Colin Road and bought a week ticket for £33 - this can also be used in a lot of the long stay car parks in Torquay and Brixham so saved us quite a bit of money. The car park at the TL was always full so we were glad we parked elsewhere - you could see people getting stressed.

We didn't eat at the TL so cannot comment on the food - we walked to town each morning for breakfast and ate out at various places in the evening

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz100uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Paignton Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Paignton Seafront

Property: Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Address: 3 Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Paignton Seafront 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Paignton Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Paignton Seafront Hotel Paignton
Travelodge Paignton Seafront Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing