We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance”
Review of TJ's Restaurant

TJ's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 189 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We pride ourselves on having a unique combination of menus; with our Tapas style menu consisting of over 25 smaller portion dishes that can be ordered individually as a starter or in multiples to provide a complete meal - a very social and interactive style of dining, promoting lively debate between couples, families or groups until a compromise is reached concluding everyones preferences. This runs alongside our 'Chefs One Plates Menu', vastly different in content, these main courses always including a succulent Steak. These frequently changing dishes focus on our chef's culinary and artistic skills creating thoughtfully flavoured and beautifully presented meals. Lovingly prepared to order, using, as often as possible locally sourced fresh seafood, meat and vegetables.
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I visited TJ's with 7 members of my family as we were on a break in Paignton. Not one complaint about anything. The view from our table overlooking the harbour and bay was terrific. The extensive menu meant there was no problem finding anything. We all chose the tapas - 3 each which was plenty. The food was sublime, I couldn't fault any of it. I even had my 3 year old son eating osme of my Calamari! It didn't matter how much it cost as it was worth every penny. The service was great, they couldn't do enough for you. We will definately go back next year and recommend to anybody to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjsrestaurant, Owner at TJ's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

hi graeme, 'master lee' and all your lovely family,
thankyou so much for your very kind words, it means an awful lot to us that you enjoyed your evening as much as you did and that you left tj's with a feeling that you want to return.
we will certainly look forward to your next visit and seeing your little boy again, because he was an absolute delight, as were you all.
thanks again, kindest regards, chris, heather and all at tj's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 878 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

we had heard about this resturant and thought we would try it, 4 of us went. the other 2 had been here a few times.
we were shown to a table all of us had odered a drink when we were told it was the wrong table, drinks in hand we moved. nearer to the view of the harbour. which was lovely as long as the door was kept shut.
there was a party of 8 guest near us. nice to hear people having a good time. but they were were so loud we could not hear each other.

my starter of squid was devine. i could of ate it again and again.

i think we then made an error with our main course 3 of us had the duck meal and my husband had the belly pork. the duck i think was £16 and the belly pork about £14.
i think we should of ordered tapas and shared betwen us.
we had to order vegetables seperately. they also wee devine though but at £2.95 a time not cheap.
our duck was eatable but it was over cooked. the service was slow as they were busy.
we had 2 drinks each our combined bill was over £141 which i think was expensive. oops yes we did have a pudding each.

would i go back debatable not sure if i would. i have been nicer and cheaper.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tina_small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjsrestaurant, Owner at TJ's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

hi, i must admit your review has come as rather a surprise because every time we checked with your table everything seemed to be fine and you appeared to be enjoying yourselves, however may i thankyou for taking the time to comment on some matters that we can take note from and be more vigilant with in future. some things we cannot control like, as you mentioned, people enjoying themselves and the fact that some customers were so delighted to have some good weather they wanted to sit out on our beautiful terrace to eat their meal, which did indeed mean the door was opening more that usual, so apologies for that. my mistake with the table was rectified quite quickly, i thought, and i did give you the option to stay where you were if you had got settled, in hindsight that may have been the better option for you. we are really glad you enjoyed the food even though you feel you may have preferred the tapas.......perhaps if you did come back you could try some of the many tasty dishes on that menu!? hope to see you again, kind regards, chris, heather and all at tj's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I booked TJ's Restaurant, Paignton Harbour for a family meal for 6 as a surprise to end the week for my mums birthday and was not disappointed. Friendly staff, fantastic food, great atmosphere and what a beautiful view across Torbay on a spring evening.
A cold bottle of rosé and a pimms were ordered whilst main meals of seafood, Bass and a mix of Tapas were being prepared, the food was delicious and everyone ended up trying each others with just enough room left for dessert.
A great evening and so nice to sit and chat without any rush. I will definitely be booking again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjsrestaurant, Owner at TJ's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

hi, thankyou so much for your review. your family really did seem to be enjoying themselves which is extremely important to us. the evening should be at your own pace, the chilled out and relaxed atmosphere is what we strive to acheive so the fact that you were served in a 'non-rushed' manner is music to our ears. we are delighted that you enjoyed the food and that everyone wanted to share their choices, the great thing about tapas is that you get to try a bit of everything and don't look across the table thinking 'i wish i had that one' !! we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. kindest regards, chris, heather and all at tj's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

It was my first visit to TJ's and what a wonderful experience. The tapas was wonderful, such a good choice menu. We had a table overlooking the harbour, The staff were superb and very attentive.
I can't wait to go back when we are next in Paignton

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Durham58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjsrestaurant, Owner at TJ's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

hi, thankyou so much for your lovely comments. we are very proud of the variety of choices we provide on our menus, so are really glad you enjoyed the food. the view is certainly amazing from the terrace and the dining room....something we cannot take credit for, we just appreciate it every day when we walk in! we will very much look forward to your return next time you are in paignton, kindest regards, chris, heather and all at tj's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It was my first visit to this resturant, friendly welcome ,good service, first time i have tryed tapas it was better than i expected

Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjsrestaurant, Owner at TJ's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

hi there,
thankyou for your very welcome comments....its great to think that your first experience of tapas has been so successful and that you enjoyed the whole tj's experience...... we look forward to seeing you again soon so you can try some more of the tapas style dishes we offer or maybe try the georgeous chefs specials this time! kindest regards, chris, heather and all at tj's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TJ's Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to TJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing