We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Superb Meal Here”
Review of TJ's Restaurant

TJ's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 183 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We pride ourselves on having a unique combination of menus; with our Tapas style menu consisting of over 25 smaller portion dishes that can be ordered individually as a starter or in multiples to provide a complete meal - a very social and interactive style of dining, promoting lively debate between couples, families or groups until a compromise is reached concluding everyones preferences. This runs alongside our 'Chefs One Plates Menu', vastly different in content, these main courses always including a succulent Steak. These frequently changing dishes focus on our chef's culinary and artistic skills creating thoughtfully flavoured and beautifully presented meals. Lovingly prepared to order, using, as often as possible locally sourced fresh seafood, meat and vegetables.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Another Superb Meal Here”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Took my son once again to TJs and not disappointed. Turned up early unannounced on a BH Friday and ofc they were busy...but luckily the sun was shining so we chose to sit outside and enjoy the absolutely stunning view across the harbour, pier and over to Torquay.

As usual my son loved the king prawns with garlic butter and i enjoyed the new Spanish stew with chorizo and fish. We both likes the chicken nibbles and sweet and sour sauce.

Pudding was shared and was amazing - Strawberry and white wine jelly with strawberry ice cream and wonderful home made shortbread.

Despite it was full with some big group celebrations going the staff as ever as super efficient and have time for a chat..Chris / Mike / Simon :)

Cant recommend it enough. Its not the cheapest place around but for that event / now and then awesome meal out it's perfect. The location and view is just an added bonus....any place has to live or die by it's food and TJs shows precisely why it's No 1 on TripAdvisor in the local area.

NB : i actually went to TJS the following evening as with a friend for a get together meal/chat/. Again i cant fault it we had wine, great tapas including the new Beef Bourguignon and lovely puddings as ever with superb service and good value.

Just visit !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asharak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    101
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful location, beautiful food and lovely staff.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have visited TJ's on many occasions now. For just a drink during the day, a romantic meal for two, family meals, a party for a relative consisting of over 12 people and even a New Year's Party. Every time the experience is wonderful!

The food is lovely, whether tapas or meal, and Heather (chef) is always happy to adapt where possible. The location is divine, a view over Paignton Harbour and Tor Bay, blissful in the summer sun and magical at night. There is plenty of parking close by, on street in winter and a car park in easy walking distance all year round.

The atmosphere is always welcoming, even when full. Beware, it's advisable to book, as it is often fully booked especially at weekends.

The only disappointment is that is that it's not open during the day!! Very highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good...”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here over the bank holiday weekend. The restaurant has quite a cute little balcony you sit on to eat and admire the view.

We ordered several dishes tapas style and whilst they were all pretty good I wasn't blown away by it. Perhaps it was anticipation of having read all the outstanding reviews prior that I was expecting something amazing. I've certainly had better tapas in the UK before.

However it's probably worth trying it out if you're in the area. Maybe there are some other dishes that we didn't sample that are as excellent as everyone says.

Helpful?
Thank ekim_zus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked this restaurant purely based on its previous reviews, we went for Tapas and had three gorgeous dishes each, each dish was well cooked, well presented and tasted fab, the staff were helpful and knew a lot about the dishes they served, the only reason I have given this a 4 instead of a 5 is because we were a little let down with the desserts, they were ok but nothing special ( we had Tiramisu and Cranakan) and wish we had had more of the tapas than saving room for the sweet!! , however this hasn't put me off and I will be going back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clevedonmrsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Visited TJs with friends who had discovered it last month. What a delightful place. Run by two couples there is a family atmosphere combined with fabulous food and beautiful views of the harbour. The service was good and timings not bad but the food was just spectacular! Starter, mains and pud if you want or tapas style dining with lots of different dishes to choose from made for an interesting and very enjoyable experience. Will go again and try for a terrace table to see even more of the lovely views.

Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TJ's Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to TJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing