We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TJ's Restaurant

TJ's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 179 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We pride ourselves on having a unique combination of menus; with our Tapas style menu consisting of over 30 smaller portion dishes that can be ordered individually as a starter or in multiples to provide a complete meal - a very social and interactive style of dining, promoting lively debate between couples, families or groups until a compromise is reached concluding everyones preferences. This runs alongside our 'Chefs Sample Specials Menu', vastly different in content, with starters and main courses always including a succulent Steak. These frequently changing dishes focus on our chef's culinary and artistic skills creating thoughtfully flavoured and beautifully presented meals - basically Andrew is let loose to show off his passion!Lovingly prepared to order, using, as often as possible locally sourced fresh seafood, meat and vegetables.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Went here because of a recommendation. Greeted by very friendly staff. Super clean. Food could not be faulted. Cost was no more expensive than any other restaurant. The difference is it was that much better than any other restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    97
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal, well cooked and beautifully presented. We had the tapas option and loved the relaxed unhurried approach.

TJ's is a lovely bistro with a great atmosphere.

The staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Plastic Tablecloths!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Unfortunately this restaurant wasn't for us. Plastic tablecloths, had to ask for water, wine was plonked on table, we weren't asked to try it, also a bottle of wine should be opened in front of us, it was already open, had to ask for salt and pepper and the pepper grinder was also just plonked on table. We felt the price we paid was expensive for the service. The welcome be got was good, the food not bad, but we wouldn't visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaretMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We travelled to Paignton for a long weekend and pre booked TJ's through their on line booking page on their website.
The restaurant has lovely views of the harbour and the sea beyond. The menu offers a range of meals and a tapas menu. We opted for the Tapas and struggled to decide on what to have as every dish sounded yummy. The staff at TJ's were brilliant and also recommended that we dropped a dish off our order as there was a lot of food. Many places would have just let you carry on as they still get the money. We appreciated the honesty and support.
The food was fantastic and we didn't manage to finish what we did order so were pleased that we didn't have the extra dish.
Fantastic food and excellent service. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lolaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dine With A View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Opted for the tapas style menu which has an emphasis on seafood surprise surprise! Lightly battered calamari, king prawns in garlic butter with cherry tomatoes, local moules West Country style & local scallops with pine nuts, spinach & nutmeg seasoning were all sublime! The Moroccan lamb Tangine whilst excellently presented was over spiced and the crispy chilli beef unfortunately overcooked and otherwise disappointingly bland! So the lesson is when in Rome do as the Romans do! Setting was perfect, overlooking the cute little Paignton harbour, ideal walking distance from the Esplanade and service friendly & accommodating! Happy to recommend, delighted to be able to return in the near future!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Concierge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TJ's Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to TJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing