We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.... Food to Thai for ;-)”
Review of Torbay Thai

Torbay Thai
Ranked #19 of 185 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow.... Food to Thai for ;-)”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Friends offered to take us to the Torbay Thai for a meal, and as I had never been asked where it was. I was shocked to find out the restaurant was something I passed every day but thought was a tiny take away.
DO NOT let the outside put you off from entering. The room has no more than about 6 tables so do book. The kitchen is open plan so you can see whats happening, and what they produce is heavenly. No greasy fatty foods, everything came out presented beautifully and tasted divine. Four of us all had different starters and mains so we could try each others.
The staff were most accommodating and friendly, in all a fabulous experience that I will be repeating lots. And a bonus BYO wine or whatever fabbbbb !!!!
Please ignore the rantings of John below....each to their own personal taste but I think the amount of fab reviews to his 1 bad one says it all...doesn't know anything about food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    19
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had the set seafood menu every dish just amazing staff so friendly and cant do enough for you wont be long before we go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Been lots of times. This is one of the most authentic Thai restaurants I've been to outside Thailand. Very small and cosy and friendly, but don't forget the drinks, they don't have a drinks licence. Don't be put off because it looks so small, it is 'Simply the Best' the food is amazing, close your eyes and you'll think you're in Phuket.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aloitious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“THAI HEAVEN!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Everybody's said it before me, small, charming, authentic, great food, bring your own booze, reasonably priced, really friendly staff including the aunt of Miss Thailand World! Book early, it's really popular, try the massaman curry, it's Thai heaven!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best takeaway for a long time”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Have still yet to try a sit down meal here ,but I must say we have recently had a few takeaways and they have been wonderful. The best I've had from any local take away.Well recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PineappleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torbay Thai also viewed

 
Paignton, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Torbay Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing