We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guest house, couldn't ask for more!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trentham Guest House
Ranked #15 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic guest house, couldn't ask for more!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Myself and my family have stayed here before and wouldn't spend time or money looking for anywhere else now. We thought it may have been a fluke the first time we stayed here because everything had been taken care of for us but we have been back and the high standards definitely haven't slipped. A cot and highchair were provided to save us cramming ours in the car. The rooms and dining room are spotlessly clean and the breakfast is the best we've ever had from anywhere we've been. Joanne and Tyron are welcoming and were honest in recommending places for us to visit with the children which turned out to be excellent (saving us money from making the wrong choice) as they had visited many places themselves. The location is great, it is literally one street from the seafront, pier and park which keeps the children entertained for hours (and it's free)!! The main high street is not even a 10 minute walk. For older children there is a place called Parkfield with it's numerous ramps where they can go on their bikes or skateboards. It's little wonder this guest house gets booked up quickly and guests return year after year, it's a little gem!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
So glad you enjoy your stays with us. As you will know there are more and more things for children to do in Paignton every year thanks to the new developements, especially if the sun shines!! See you again very soon xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
89
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trefnant, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Excellent stay from start to finish. If I was at Paignton again I would certainly stay here again with out a doubt! Excellent find!! Very welcoming. Had a really good stay here. Breakfast was wonderful! Place was clean and tidy. Owners were lovely hosts. Couldn't fault it at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hi Kellie, glad the wedding went well, hope you can stay for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just arrived back home from a weekend break at Trentham with Tyron & Joanne and what an incredible stay we had. From the moment we arrived (which was late due to where we travelled from but Tyron had kept a space for us to park !) to the moment we regrettably had to travel home, we were made to feel like we'd been welcomed into one big happy family. The rooms are superb, Jo's breakfasts are outstanding & Tyrons jokes are certainly, well, cheesy ! but are a very welcome addition especially over a nice breakfast chat with the other guests. We booked another stay before we left for a week in the summer & that's purely down to our great hosts for making us feel so special & welcome in their home.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyron-Joanne, Manager at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review, It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all, we very much look forward to your return. Dont forgot the hoggie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Blanca, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at Trentham and can honestly say we will never look elsewhere when we holiday at Paignton. From start to finish this guesthouse is absolutely faultless. On our arrival Tyron had managed to reserve us a parking space so that we could park up straight away and stretch our legs after the journey. The rooms are spotlessly clean and every little detail has been thought of so there is plenty of space to put your things when you unpack - it really is like coming home from home. We are always a little anxious travelling with two small children, but we were made so welcome and Tyron and Joanne even supplied a travel cot and a highchair so that we didn't have to cram any in the car :-)
The location is perfect, just one street away from the centre - everything is just a couple of minutes walk from the front door and our boys loved the park area which was massive!
Breakfasts in the morning were amazing and there is everything you can think of on offer. Nothing seems too much trouble and both Tyron and Joanne really went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
We did the round robin trip and also the zoo during our stay and would fully recommend them to other families with children of any age.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyron-Joanne, Manager at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope its not too long before we see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just arrived home from what was originally a 3 night short break, but extended to 5 nights. Lovely clean accommodation, which is very homely. Jo and Tyron have got it just right and know how to make you feel at home. The guest house is very close to Paigntons attractions, turn left out of the street and the pier is directly opposite.Had several lunches at the Inn on the Green, a Marstens pub, food good,but a limited menu, staff pleasant too.We visited Squires fish restaurant in Churston, (heading out towards Brixham), which was superb.We also visited Totnes and ate at Bistro 67, which was also lovely.Back to Trentham I would highly recommend it. The breakfasts are individually catered and very nice indeed! I could not fault it, Thank you for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascalMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyron-Joanne, Manager at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks for the review, we are happy you were able to extend your stay,it was very nice to meet you all, hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Previously my holidays have involved lots of coast path walking, but this time I wanted something gentler, having recently had a total hip replacement. I was able to leave my car outside for the whole week and use Torbay's excellent public transport system. Tyron and Joanne gave me exactly what I needed: comfort, convenience, friendliness, useful information, good food, and excellent value for money. My standard, single room was clean and adequate for my needs, with toilet and shower just a few steps away, and the breakfast menu offered loads of delicious choices. I didn't need to eat again until the evening! Breakfast was always an event to look forward to: Tyron and Joanne were so eager to please and all my fellow guests were a delight to talk with. I have never felt more at home in a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
So glad to know that you felt at home with us. Hope all goes well with your recovery. Perhaps walking the coastal paths next time. Thanks for choosing us, look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

just got back from a few days break at the trentham, what can I say..... superb springs to mind. from when we rang the doorbell till we said bye the break was b&b at its very best. the road it is in is a cul de sac but tyron found us a parking space. the welcome was friendly.. very friendly with a cup of tea and biscuits. on to the bedroom and everthing was there that was needed. the breakfasts cooked by joanne were second to none. a good thing here was that you fill in a card the night before for what exactly you want and it was delivered with Tyron's jokes [ no charge for these]. help and advice was given where necessary, and very much worth the money.

Room Tip: does not matter, guest house is in a nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for writing us a review. sorry about Tyron's jokes. Enjoyed seeing you all, hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#3 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merritt House
Merritt House
#5 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Easton Court Guesthouse
Easton Court Guesthouse
#18 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trentham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trentham Guest House

Property: Trentham Guest House
Address: 6 Norman Road, Paignton TQ3 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trentham Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed and breakfast. Small and friendly, we do our best to make your holiday enjoyable. Double and twin en-suite rooms. Close to seafront, beach, shops, pubs etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trentham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trentham Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing