We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Paignton Zoo Environmental Park
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Paignton Zoo Environmental Park is a conservation and education charity located in South Devon. With around two thousand animals, we have more species than anyone else in the South West. These include: crocodiles, snakes, lions, tigers, giraffes, elephant, rhinos, lemurs, meerkats, orang utans...The list is endless! We also have indoor play areas, the Jungle Express train and a lakeside restaurant. If you wish, we also offer special feeding experiences with certain animals, e.g. meerkats, giraffes, giant tortoises, etc. Paignton Zoo is a member of the British and Irish Association of Zoos and Aquariums.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

we took a picknick as the food is a bit on the expensive side but a full day andvery entertaining. we had a great day - and covered 3 generations.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank genine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,359
    848
    246
    74
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“the best zoo we have been to”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

we live close to wipsenade zoo in bedfordshire and visit quite regularly, however our visits there will never be the same again as paignton zoo has just eclipsed it! we loved this place and found that the tickets, food and souvenirs were all reasonably priced. we took our 4 month old baby and found plenty of shade and places to sit for feeds etc. the layout of the zoo is great and it seemed very natural with all the woodland areas. will return

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank snorklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"were going to the zoo,zoo,zoo"”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

lovely large zoo where the animals seem really happy and look very well cared for,lions,tigers were very vocal,and the silver backed apes were very obliging when it came to photos,highlight was the giraffes to see them running and playing was a lovely sight,very informative keepers,this visit took us 6 hours as it was a lovely day and lovely surroundings so well worth the price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jukes5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A day at the Zoo”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Took a coach party of mothers and young children.Easy to find, ample coach parking, lots to see and do young and old alike. Animals are well looked after in natural settings. A good day out.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SANDIE1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Cash for a full day out!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Normally this would cost the family about £50 we had vouchers so got in cheaper but compared to other attractions around Torbay all I will say living in Bristol with a Zoo at close proximity is if you are near Paignton then go - this Zoo is excellent value for money with so much to see and do- take your own sarnies to cut the cost but you will love it - there are Giraffes, Elephants, Lions and Tigers the list goes on and on compared to Bristol Zoo over which it obviously has a space advantage which shows by a country mile by its animal enclosures and facilites - I recommend this for a day out any day of the week!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank parkyschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paignton Zoo Environmental Park also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Paignton Zoo Environmental Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing