We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Review Highlights
Great day out

Love this zoo. Take as much time as you want walking round seeing the animals and birds. Kept clean... read more

Reviewed yesterday
v_burchell1
,
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
via mobile
Giraffe experience and zoo visit.

We visited the zoo today for a giraffe experience that my partner had brought for my birthday last... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
U7092EGsamanthas
,
Breierley Hill, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 4,531 reviews
  
Reviews (4,531)
Filter reviews
4,531 results
Traveller rating
3,005
1,075
304
97
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,005
1,075
304
97
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big cats living coasts baby giraffe crocodile swamp animals seem reptile house annual pass animal enclosures packed lunch value for money great family day ice cream plenty of space train ride car park well worth the money lions
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 4,531 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Visited here many times before and different times of the year so decided on a day trip as we now only live 30 minutes away. It was very quiet which is why we chose today as we never ever go during school holidays as It's lovely to walk around without crowds and noisey kids screaming everywhere with seagulls trying to get their food, but today it was pure heaven.

The best part is you get to see the animals without having to fight through the layers of people. We had a great few hours as always but there were a few things that were not as normal. There were only 2 gorillas on view, one inside who spent the whole time hiding in the corner and one outside, we came last in the summer and all of them were there, abit disappointing as they are the reason we go, but a keeper did explain they are split into different groups now and separated more, unfortunate for fans like me. Also there are a lot of animal enclosures that are empty and under construction, signs were up on some but not all, defnately a lot more than I have ever seen before, I wonder if they are doing all the work now as quieter, but then I personally think the entrance fee should be reduced slightly as again my son missed out on seeing certain animals, he loved the indoor bat area where the sloths are too but again it was closed?

The last moan was the restaurant, we usually sit outside with a hnemade picnic but abit cold today so decided to buy food. It took a very long time to get food, the queue wasn't particularly long but there clearly weren't enough staff serving and there should definateky be a separate paying till, not on the end of the food queue as this was held up too, I wouldn eat in there again as by the time I paid the food was nearly cold.

We love this zoo so everything I saw today wouldn't stop me from doing our usual 2 trips a year but it is expensive to get in and buy things, do as long as you are warned and go prepared you will have a great time,

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Hi Nicky, thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We're pleased to hear that you and your family enjoy your visits to us - thank you for your continued support!
Over the winter months can be a perfect time to visit the Zoo, as there are often fewer crowds outside the peak season, and many of our animals can be more active and easier to spot.
Our gorilla boys are indeed split into two groups for their welfare and during the colder seasons generally prefer to stay inside in the warmth of the indoor den. The boys do have access to the outside island or off show areas if they wish to access these spaces. The best time to see our gorillas be more active is at the daily gorilla talk at 2:30pm, where the boys are usually fed some of their favourite snacks.
We apologise if you felt that some of our enclosures are empty. The only planned exhibit closure at the moment is our Investigate bug house. Other exhibits may currently not be occupied due to proposed animal moves that are coming up. We always endeavour to put any of these plans on the Updates section of our website, in order to make guests aware before they visit. Our old Nocturnal House has been closed since September 2017, and the bats and sloth have moved on to other collections. Our meerkats have recently moved to a brand new exhibit by the Ranch area.
We also apologise that you experienced delays in our Restaurant. We always aim to serve guests as efficiently as possible, so I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the Catering team for consideration. Guests are of course always welcome to bring in their own food and drink, as we have plenty of seating areas around the site.
Thank you again for letting us know how the experience was for you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Zoo in the future.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

We have a yearly pass so visit quite often, we take our two grandsons and they really enjoy the alligators, giraffes and elephant.it's a great time for old and young. Plenty to see and plenty of places to eat either your picnic or buy a meal.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to leave your great five-dot review.
It's wonderful to hear that you are Annual Pass members with us and feel that we offer something for every age.
Our crocodiles, giraffes and Duchess our African elephant are definitely worth a visit!
Thank you for your continued support for us and our conservation work and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Zoo soon.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

Our kids love it here! As well as a beautiful park with lots of well looked after animals there are plenty of outdoor play areas and a good sized soft play area all inclusive of entry price. We do the annual pass as it includes Newquay zoo and living coasts too!!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank nkurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your brilliant five-dot review!
We're thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoy your visits to the Zoo and our sister sites from being Annual Pass members.
Thank you for your continued support for us and our conservation work and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Zoo soon.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

So, I wasn’t expecting anything amazing, and I wasn’t disappointed. We got there about 10.30, but the hot food counter did not open until 11.00, and my brother and other half had to order the drinks, hang around a bit, and then go back up for hot food- what a palava!

I had steak pasty and my boyfriend had a steak and ale pie, which were both nice.

Our bill was about £24.00, we had a pasty, pie and chips, 2 coffees, 2 kids drink cartons and a pack of pom bears.”- so pretty expensive.

They also add a donation to the food order ticket, so at the till you are asked if you want to donate. Which is a clever means of peer pressure of getting you to donate, this is on top of the ticket to get in the zoo, the expensive food, paying for the train and trying to get the children through the souvenir shop- which you have no option but to go through.

I’d recommend taking a packed lunch, if you don’t get attacked by the seagulls, because your own food in the restaurant.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Liz-OBeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to us, particularly the catering aspect of your experience.
Our hot food counter opens at 11am in time for the lunch period. As we serve mostly from a hot counter we are restricted by the amount of time the food can be held there, and this time frame seems to suit most of our guests. The restaurant does open from 10am offering a selection of sandwiches, drinks, cakes and hot breakfast items (including toasted teacakes, toast and breakfast baps). We apologise that we did not meet your requirements on this occasion, or if the team did not offer you alternative choices when the pasties were not available.
Unfortunately as the cost of food and ingredients rise, we have to reflect this in our pricing. We believe that we offer a range for products at varying price points, that are in line with other tourist attractions in the area.
We do not ask for an extra donation at any of our food outlets, however we do have collection tins at the till points. The only donation we ask for is at the ticket desks, where guests have the option to add on a Gift Aid donation, which makes a huge difference to us as a charity and our conservation work.
Thank you for supporting us and for letting us know how our experience was for you.
Best wishes, the PZ team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2018 via mobile

Went to Paignton zoo actually last year and have been before too. Amazing experience and the animals they have there is superb. It was sunny both times I went and I definitely recommend seeing the elephant and the gorillas. Food is a bit limited and a bit expensive but with a packed lunch you will be fine as there is loads of seating. The zoo is very well set out and sign posted to make sure you do see what you went to see. It’s a good day out.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank hollya93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Hi Holly, thank you for taking the time to leave your five-dot review.
We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and managed to get a lot out of your visits. Our beautiful elephant, Duchess, and gorilla boys are definitely worth seeing!
We're sorry to hear that you felt our food prices were a bit expensive. We feel that our prices reflect the quality and varying options of food and drink that we have available. However, as your state, guests are absolutely able to bring in a packed lunch to enjoy in one of our many seating areas.
Thank you for supporting and our conservation work through your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Zoo again in the future.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews