We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Zoo”

Paignton Zoo Environmental Park
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Paignton Zoo Environmental Park is a conservation and education charity located in South Devon. With around 2,500 animals, we have more species than anyone else in the South West. These include: crocodiles, snakes, lions, tigers, giraffes, elephant, rhinos, lemurs, meerkats, orang-utans... the list is endless! We also have indoor play areas, the Jungle Express train and a lakeside restaurant. If you wish, we also offer special feeding experiences with certain animals, e.g. rhinos, giraffes, giant tortoises, etc. Paignton Zoo is a member of the British and Irish Association of Zoos and Aquariums (BIAZA).
Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't even know that there was a zoo in Paignton until I visited the area for the first time. Absolutely excellent with loads of interesting animals to view. I am very concerned about animal welfare and was really pleased to see that the enclosures were big and appropriately set up with all the animals seeming to be happy and well cared for. There were informative boards in each area describing the animal and its conservation status. The only slightly negative comment I would make is that it was a bit difficult to find anywhere to have lunch as the majority of the food outlets were closed. I do appreciate that in the middle of December there are less visitors, but we spent quite some time wandering about trying to find somewhere that was open.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank MarionMcCune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Marion, thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to us and liked seeing and finding out more about the amazing array of animals we are home to. We take great pride in our exceptionally high level of animal care and welfare, ensuring that all of the needs of our animals are met and exceeded.
I apologise if you found difficultly trying to locate a place around the Zoo to purchase food or drink. As winter is off-season for us, we inevitably do have fewer Catering outlets open around the site. However our main Island Restaurant is always open to guests from 10am, serving a wide range of options. I will ensure that your feedback regarding this is passed on to our Catering team.
Thank you for supporting us and our conservation work through your visit and we hope to welcome you back to the Zoo again in the future.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big cats"
in 118 reviews
"living coasts"
in 114 reviews
"baby giraffe"
in 67 reviews
"crocodile swamp"
in 57 reviews
"animals seem"
in 52 reviews
"reptile house"
in 50 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 60 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 49 reviews
"value for money"
in 177 reviews
"great family day"
in 67 reviews
"ice cream"
in 162 reviews
"plenty of space"
in 50 reviews
"train ride"
in 109 reviews
"car park"
in 92 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 48 reviews
"lions"
in 203 reviews
"talks"
in 196 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 4,507 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently took our nephew and niece to Paignton zoo. Their parents were totally against going to any zoo as they believed it was a cruel environment. I have grown up in this area and knew Paignton zoo had many conservation programs for endangered species going on. What an amazing day we all had. We were there 5 hours and they went so quickly. It's so educational and fun. Thank you to everyone we met that day, the helpful keepers answering our questions as we went around. Truly a day to remember.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank jeffdrew2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jeff, thank you for taking the time to leave your brilliant review!
We're super pleased to hear that you, your niece and nephew had a great day with us. We aim to offer an experience that is exciting and educational for all ages. I will ensure that your kind feedback about our staff that you encountered on your visit is passed on to the relevant departments.
Thank you for supporting us and our conservation work through your visit and we hope to welcome you back to the Zoo in the future.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here many times before and different times of the year so decided on a day trip as we now only live 30 minutes away. It was very quiet which is why we chose today as we never ever go during school holidays as It's lovely to walk around without crowds and noisey kids screaming everywhere with seagulls trying to get their food, but today it was pure heaven.

The best part is you get to see the animals without having to fight through the layers of people. We had a great few hours as always but there were a few things that were not as normal. There were only 2 gorillas on view, one inside who spent the whole time hiding in the corner and one outside, we came last in the summer and all of them were there, abit disappointing as they are the reason we go, but a keeper did explain they are split into different groups now and separated more, unfortunate for fans like me. Also there are a lot of animal enclosures that are empty and under construction, signs were up on some but not all, defnately a lot more than I have ever seen before, I wonder if they are doing all the work now as quieter, but then I personally think the entrance fee should be reduced slightly as again my son missed out on seeing certain animals, he loved the indoor bat area where the sloths are too but again it was closed?

The last moan was the restaurant, we usually sit outside with a hnemade picnic but abit cold today so decided to buy food. It took a very long time to get food, the queue wasn't particularly long but there clearly weren't enough staff serving and there should definateky be a separate paying till, not on the end of the food queue as this was held up too, I wouldn eat in there again as by the time I paid the food was nearly cold.

We love this zoo so everything I saw today wouldn't stop me from doing our usual 2 trips a year but it is expensive to get in and buy things, do as long as you are warned and go prepared you will have a great time,

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nicky, thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We're pleased to hear that you and your family enjoy your visits to us - thank you for your continued support!
Over the winter months can be a perfect time to visit the Zoo, as there are often fewer crowds outside the peak season, and many of our animals can be more active and easier to spot.
Our gorilla boys are indeed split into two groups for their welfare and during the colder seasons generally prefer to stay inside in the warmth of the indoor den. The boys do have access to the outside island or off show areas if they wish to access these spaces. The best time to see our gorillas be more active is at the daily gorilla talk at 2:30pm, where the boys are usually fed some of their favourite snacks.
We apologise if you felt that some of our enclosures are empty. The only planned exhibit closure at the moment is our Investigate bug house. Other exhibits may currently not be occupied due to proposed animal moves that are coming up. We always endeavour to put any of these plans on the Updates section of our website, in order to make guests aware before they visit. Our old Nocturnal House has been closed since September 2017, and the bats and sloth have moved on to other collections. Our meerkats have recently moved to a brand new exhibit by the Ranch area.
We also apologise that you experienced delays in our Restaurant. We always aim to serve guests as efficiently as possible, so I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the Catering team for consideration. Guests are of course always welcome to bring in their own food and drink, as we have plenty of seating areas around the site.
Thank you again for letting us know how the experience was for you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Zoo in the future.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have a yearly pass so visit quite often, we take our two grandsons and they really enjoy the alligators, giraffes and elephant.it's a great time for old and young. Plenty to see and plenty of places to eat either your picnic or buy a meal.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to leave your great five-dot review.
It's wonderful to hear that you are Annual Pass members with us and feel that we offer something for every age.
Our crocodiles, giraffes and Duchess our African elephant are definitely worth a visit!
Thank you for your continued support for us and our conservation work and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Zoo soon.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our kids love it here! As well as a beautiful park with lots of well looked after animals there are plenty of outdoor play areas and a good sized soft play area all inclusive of entry price. We do the annual pass as it includes Newquay zoo and living coasts too!!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank nkurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your brilliant five-dot review!
We're thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoy your visits to the Zoo and our sister sites from being Annual Pass members.
Thank you for your continued support for us and our conservation work and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Zoo soon.
Best wishes, the PZ team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paignton Zoo Environmental Park also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Paignton Zoo Environmental Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing