We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Versailles”
Review of Oldway Mansion

Oldway Mansion
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little Versailles”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We love this place. Visit every year. It's such a shame that it is closed to the general public at the moment, it was a brilliant singer sewing machine museum and the building itself was based on the Palace of Versailles. It was built by Paris Singer for the founder of modern dance Isadora Duncan with whom he was romantically involved. I hope when it is turned into a hotel that the wonderful marble staircase is retained. It was used in the film 'Isadora' based on her life story, and I can still picture Vanessa Redgrave dancing (floating) down it, so beautifully. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyGmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    14
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memories of Oldway Mansion”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

On the 8th of February 1989 we were married at Oldway Mansion, this year we celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. It was the most important day of my life, Oldway has to be the most amazing place and I hope that the hotel dosen't spoil all the memories. Since then we have visited many times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachtime_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old way Mansion Paington”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were married here on the 25th March 1989 , so it will be our Silver Wedding anniversary this year. We googled Oldway tonight as we planned to revisit on the day of our anniversary. This venue was so special for us, a really beautiful place to celebrate one of the happiest days of our lives. We then had our photographs taken in the lovely gardens, the sun appeared especially for the occasion and three ducks just happened to float by on the stream, it was idyllic .
We still plan to come back and have a wander round the gardens.
I really hope that whoever opens Oldway as a hotel retains the original features, it's such a lovely place and would lend itself to be a spectacular wedding venue. Jackie Frost.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We got married here. As did our mother and brother. All I can say is it was stunning! I do so hope that the hotel carries on the tradition as it would be lovely to go back and actually spend a night there when it's a hotel. Can't wait!
Our wedding photos taken in the grounds were amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGE120D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"shame"”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The mansion was shut 2 years ago , and will be turned into a 72 room hotel!!!. Although you can still walk round the gardens for now.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oldway Mansion also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Oldway Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing