We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoburne Torbay review - August”
Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hoburne Torbay review - August”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Myself, husband and 2 young children aged 3 and 5 went on our first caravan holiday this year to hoburne Torbay. We have always gone all inclusive abroad but were shocked how expensive school holidays are which we can only do now. I researched into this as I'm used to 4/5 star all inclusive hotels.
Sainsburys is just a couple of miles away so we stocked up on drink and fancy ready meals you just put in the oven such as fish pie with baguette. We ate in at the table and it was very spacious and home from home. There was no way I was cooking on holiday and I can't stand burgers, chips and other kids screaming!
The caravan was gold with decking outside, we didn't go out onto it as weather wasn't great all week and when it was we went out. The beach is a short walk and the kids loved being in the sea in a rubber dingy, building castles and watching the train puff along. We took out pic nics. Brixham is not far to go on a bot trip and nice walks with great fish and chips.
The caravan was lovely I could live in it. Microwave was missing a nob and microwave was replaced with a new one in hours. The only fault were the beds - typical camp bed with wires sticking into my bones - I got round it by sleeping on loads of pillows!
Spammy the sea horse, larry the lobster and the turtle were a massive hit with the kids, we would eat then walk to entertainment for the kids at 6 and go back to caravan after sammy had sung his bye bye song.
The indoor pool was small with one slide and did the job for a few hours on days it rained, the soft play and arcades for the kids are great. The outside play area is great.
Would definitely go again as price was £740 gold for one week and spent £150 in sainsburys and £100 on activities including model village, zoo which was great and little bits like tram.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    158
    48
    17
    17
See reviews for
415
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

we stayed here in may 2012 and had an absolutely fantastic time. we stayed in the gold 2 which was clean, spacious and had a great decking area - you could even see the sea if you stood on tip toes in the corner! our 4yr old son who has learning developmental delay and mobility problems loved the play area, swimming pool and even joined in with sammy the sea horse - a big breakthrough in his social skills and development! It was a great base to explore Devon - we do not tend to stay on site during day and prefer to go out and about. the bus service stops at the top of the road and goes to brixham, paignton and torquay and you can walk to goodrington train station in about 10-15 mins and catch the steam train to dartmouth - a brilliant day out especially during the music festival in may. we have already decided to go back next year and look forward to seeing what the gold 3 is like as my mum is coming too (assume we won't have the walk in wardrobe this time though!).

Room Tip: we always go for the gold as you never see a bad review and they tend to be the newer caravans. if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomartinsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We arrived back from a 4 night break yesterday and loved the park. We booked through Sun holidays so it was fantastic value for money and we opted to upgrade to a "silver" 12 ft caravan - definitely worth upgrading as last year we stayed in a 10ft (different park) an we noticed a massive difference to the amount of space we had this year (very important with 2 under 4's in the caravan!).

There's lots of parking, ours was a stones throw from our caravan. The pool's clean and a great temperature for young children plus I was very happy to see the slide's only open when there's a lifeguard supervising the children at the top.

I cant comment on eating/drinking on site as we ate off site or in our caravan.

The playgrounds were clean and safe with a separate area for under 6's.

The shop's well stocked and very reasonably priced!

Checking in/out was easy and the staff were all very helpful (on guy even took 5 mins out of his break to help us find the swimming pool as we got a little lost finding it!).

Brilliant holiday, we'll definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Silver caravan's are great for young families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed her for 4 nights, the first week of September. This park is clean, lovely to look at and easy to get around - we even had a sea view from our decking. We had a Gold caravan which was lovely. Two proper sofas, DVD, flat screen TV, shower room and loo, plus an extra loo. This might well have been the nicest caravan we've ever had. We didn't use the entertainment so didn't pay for the passes, so can't comment on the bar etc. We did use the shop and it seemed well stocked. The park is quite hilly so you might want to bear that in mind if you have any mobility issues. It is very easy to get to Torquay, Paignton, Dartmouth if you have a car - not sure about public transport. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The laundry service is very, very expensive. If you are here a week or more and need to put a wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I booked 1 week to stay in one of the silver caravans for me and my wife and paid £340.00 and on our arrival got to the caravan and had the shock of our lives.
The caravan was old and when we got in there was bleach stains on the carpets in the living area.....and the carpet looked like somthing out of the seventys(bright terracotta),cobwebs on the ceiling,the coffee table looked like it belonged on the skip,it was chipped everywere,the electric fire was open at the bottom showing all the wires to the elements and looked like a death trap.
The toilet was a joke,you would of had to go outside to wipe your bum there was that little space,there was make up in the drawers of the bedroom that had not been cleaned and the beds were great if you was 3ft tall.
We complained straight away and to be fair we got our money back after the owner came round and checked if everything was still in the caravan and that we hadent stolen anything?
What a joke all of it should of been put on a skip or burnt.
DONT BOTHER WITH THIS!!

Room Tip: Get a hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst - Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just returned from holidaying here for a week. We stayed in a silver caravan which was the best one we have ever stayed in. Super clean, bright airy with modern fixtures and fittings, the shower was even powerful for a caravan!!. The only downside was it rained heavily a couple of nights and our path flooded and was not usable, it meant we had to walk on the grass which was very slippy and dangerous.

The outside pool was a fair size with stunning views and lots of sunbeds and the inside pool had a great slide which the kids loved although the warm was really warm and they could do with having bigger changing rooms for families to use and better showers (you had to stand with your hand on it to keep it going and they did'nt have much flow).

The bar had a lovely terace with stunning views to coast (Goodrington Bay). The resident entertainers was very good, they kept the kids and adults amused and the dancing/singing shows were good. The only compaint was the speaker volume needs to be controlled a bit better a visiting act was signing and wherever you sat you were completely defened. We ate in the restaurant once and our food was OK, they need to get there act sorted with regards to being able to have a tab. My husband asked if he could have a tab and was told no only to read on a notice on the tables that you could have a tab.

The play areas were lovely and the grounds really nicely kept. The amusment arcades were also good. We had a problem with a light and maintenance were there within minutes of me calling which was very impressive. The site is very hilly so you need good walking legs. Goodrington beech takes about 15/20 minutes to walk to, its one of the best ones we've ever been too. Really pictureous with the steam train at the back of the beech, rockpools and lots of sand.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and we will definately be going back sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatfeet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

when we arrived at torbay we had expected it to be quite a bad standerd, but i was wrong the place was fantastic the staff were excelent and the caravans were excelent, we had gone for a silver (c) caravan it was as clean as a wistle the entertainment was a bit childish like bingo and singing when when it got later in the night it was fantastic the swimming pools were of great standered and cleaned every morning. the resturant as a bit pricy but the beach hut cafe was good value and good products, their were lots of place to go if your under 16 like the park outside or the amusments, the place did offer me wifi as i went with the hoburne company otherwise you have to pay but i was a bit dissapointed when i found out it was really slow, their also was a lot to do outside the park like the beach and quay west (which is a big waterpark) and the steam train. you can get to all these by walking so transport is not a problem.

Room Tip: my tip is to get a silver c type caravan is it is perfect for a big or small caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Whitehill Country Park
Whitehill Country Park
#3 of 24 in Paignton
406 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cofton Holidays
Cofton Holidays
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
845 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 96 in Paignton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Property: Hoburne Devon Bay
Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing