We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a sun holiday to this camp site 4 my sons 2nd birthday but upgraded as its still cold and I hav a 2 year. And the gold caravan had separate sofas, a proper dinning table and heating in bedroom. When we arrived and got are keys are caravan was nothing like the pics it was hanging the lino was coming up wood all peeling off the kitchen rips in all the sofas it definitely wasnt a gold caravan. I went back to complain and the lady at reception said well u hav decking u should be lucky sun holidays dont usually get that. I thought thats was rude seeing as we paid to upgrade and I thought all customers were the same. We couldnt sit on the deckin as it was covered in birds poo so yet again had to ask them to clean it. no customer skills . We always go to haven campsite and I think in future we will continue as when you pay 4 gold u get it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyhayleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello, we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We're a little perturbed to hear that your caravan wasn't up to our gold standard, we've informed management to check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    154
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
400
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a cheeky cheap start of season holiday here with my family. The park is extremely clean and although we had the basic caravan it was amazing. With heating through the entire van, full kitchen and power shower it was more then I would of expected. Close to loads of trips and days out this place was perfect. Will be coming back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hopkinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello and thanks for your glowing review of our Hoburne Devon Bay park. We're really pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Came in June with 2 kids nice park, goodrington beach gorgeous, walking distance, indoor pool great for kids. Upgraded to gold, caravan nice but smelt of sweat... great location to explore, brilliant zoo 5 mins in car. Kids had a ball!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marrbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks for your great review of our Hoburne Devon Bay Holiday Park. We're glad you had a great time on your Sun holiday with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed during the October half term and had a fantastic time!

We arrived early and decided to see if our accommodation was ready, although check in time was 4p.m. The lady at reception was very friendly and courteous and we were allowed into our holiday home straight away (11a.m).

Wow! We had a beautiful caravan...although caravan does not really best describe our holiday home! It was very spacious, very modern, spotlessly clean and had a decked veranda. It was definitely the best we have ever stayed in. The bathroom was huge - you could have fitted a jacuzzi in it, and no wriggling around trying to find the `best position on the loo` as you find in most caravans!

Everything about Hoburne is first class....the area is beautiful, the park is very tidy and clean, all facilities are first class, the staff are friendly and actually look like they enjoy what they do and the entertainment is very professional.

We would recommend to anyone - our holiday was a newspaper deal which we upgraded to silver via Hoburne, although our caravan was so fab i think they upgraded us to gold for free, so imagine how great the platinums are?

Well done Hoburne - we have stayed at Parkdean and Park Holidays parks and you definitely win hands down! Our children are already asking when we are going again.........

Room Tip: We stayed in a gold holiday home but i would imagine bronze and silver are clean and comfortable too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Yet another brill week staying in a H and H Carvan on this site clean and fresh as usual wouldn't use another ownership on this site :-) pool was clean and warm, great entertainment, reception staff friendly :-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarelou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Decent caravan, clean and well maintained. Pool warm but a little shallow and not enough showers. Entertainment was good except for one of the acts over the four nights. Friendly staff and electrician rectified fault on fire within hours of us reporting it. Good central point for travelling through Torbay area. Would definitely visit again. Asda and Sainsbury's local for those self caterers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorky-Biscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just spent a great two weeks at Hoburne Torbay .... Start with the pluses, First the site has all the amenities you need for your stay this includes a shop, Launderette, outdoor and indoor pools (With the indoor pool having features such as a water slide, steam room, Jacuzzi ) Gym. The club house has a large bar and restaurant, arcade, kids club, outdoor play area, mini golf, the list goes on and on......... A special mention must go to the entertainment team, these guys were EXCELLENT !!!! especially with the kids entertainment (Worth the price of the holiday alone 10/10) The site as a whole was very clean and well maintained. The only down side (And this is the only reason I scored the overall score as a very good and not excellent) is during the off season the site allow "pool parties" for the under 12`s. Although I fully understand during these economic times any additional funding helps Hoburne, these pool parties which were generally from about 4pm to 5pm made the pool feel less welcoming. We will be coming back in 2014 and really hope Hoburne keep the same entertainment team.

Room Tip: If you come during the off season ask at reception if there are any pool parties planned for that da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umlout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
311 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#17 of 96 in Paignton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Property: Hoburne Devon Bay
Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing