We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely site, nice caravan, great location ”
Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a sun weekend on this site. I was very pleased with the friendly staff & cleanliness of both the park and caravan. Great welcome pack with all of the essentials that I usually forget! Great location as near by car to Paignton, Torquay & Brixham. Also about a 15 minute walk to Goodrington sands which is a nice small beach & great views of the Dartmouth steam train as it passes.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed the site and the great locations nearby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Devon bay using the sun holiday offer. We have only ever been to haven parks with this offer and having never been disappointed so I was nervous about trying another park, without reason it seems.

I had read reviews previously and was also concerned as others had mentioned they felt as though they were treated differently as sun holiday customers.

My worries were eased when we drove onto the park, we found it clean, tidy and tucked away in a lovely spot. We were early so our caravan wasn't ready but the the receptionist said to keep trying, we did and were given the keys to our caravan as soon as they were ready and before he advertised time.

We were really really impressed with the standard of caravan, I'm sure we were upgraded to a better standard. The caravan was spotlessly clean and we were chuffed with our little welcome pack.

We didn't use much of the on site facilities so I am unable to comment on those however the staff we did come into contact with were all friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be visiting a hoburne site again, thanks for a great holiday.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephsoontobeough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We're glad you decided to try us out for your Sun holiday this year and we're really pleased that our Hoburne standards have impressed you! We look forward to seeing you again for another great Hoburne experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from Devon Bay following a great half term break.

We found the site to be clean, friendly and welcoming. All staff made us feel welcome from the receptionists, bar staff and arcade workers.

Special mention must go to the amazing entertainments team brilliantly led by Kev and the rest of his team. There was always activities going on, we joined in with the lots of them including bowling and air hockey. Alongside Kev, there was Lauren, Emma and Chris and their cabaret team shows were simply brilliant. We particularly enjoyed Fright Night and Festival Fever, it felt like like a west end production. Thank you all for your hard work, we really appreciated it.

We ate one night in the restaurant and this was reasonably priced and tasted fine.

The swimming pools were busy but not too overcrowded and the gym was well equipped.

Overall, we had such a great time despite the weather being a bit changeable.

Have booked already for next year can't wait!

The Jenkins family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for the great review! We can't wait to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We all enjoyed are stay at Devon bay the park was spotless the swimming pool was brilliant kids loved it the evening kids entertainment was fantastic we have a few sammy the sea horse fans in our house hold now DVD on non stop the only thing I would say club house was very cramped but was half term very busy you need to get in early for a seat . The views over goodrington sands are beautiful plenty to do near by perfectly placed holiday park for the zoo Brixham Paignton pier and the steam railway overall fantastic holiday had by all

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ohthet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello and thanks for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed the site and the great local attractions and would love to see you again soon for another great Hoburne holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

after visiting this site 3 years ago we thought it was time to return. we arrived at 12.30 and our caravan was ready, great! we unpacked and walked to the beach. the walk was about 15 mins for us with 3 kids which seemed a bit of a trek but coming back and when we did the walk again it didn't seem too bad.

we visited the very warm indoor pool everyday and it was kept very clean. the sauna and steam room were good too although I couldn't stay in there too long. we had a overcast day and went to the outdoor pool on the way back from the beach. it was closed. we did as the notice said and asked a lifeguard to open it for us. he was there within 5 mins and we ended up staying for 2 hours! it was also very warm water and the kids were allowed their big inflatable rings. the sun came out and we got a bit pink too.

we found the evening venue a bit small for the amount of guests. we arrived at 7pm most nights and there were no tables free but when the kids entertainment finished before the bingo started some of the other parents had gone home and we always managed to get a table before the bingo started. the evening entertainment was good fun.

the outdoor play area was well maintained and we could watch the kids outside from the entertainment venue or the decking.

very good site and all was well maintained will recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheap_family_hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for your review. We're pleased that you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A great place for children. My son loved the swimming pool and flume slide and could have spent all day there! The outside playground was also lovely and very well maintained and had lovely views across the bay. Indoors, there is a soft-play and large games room. Lots for children to do. The kids club also ran various activities throughout the day. Unfortunately, we didn't have great weather, so were most disappointed that we didn't get to use the outdoor pool as its lovey with lots of sun loungers all around! We went to the entertainment a few times, but we found that most of the tables were full by 7pm! There was a great band on the Saturday night which we all enjoyed. The park grounds were very clean and well maintained and the site was very peaceful and relaxing. It is rather hilly, and some of the caravans are accessed by 2 or 3 sets of steps so I would check the location when booking. We hired a privately owned caravan, which was very clean and tidy and was very well equipped. We could also park in a bay just by the caravan, and there were always plenty of spaces available. We made the most of visiting this area, and visited Brixham, Torquay and Teignmouth as well as a day at Crealy as its not too far away. Goodrington beach is not far from the site which is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon-SJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about our Devon Bay holiday park. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After reading some reviews We really didn't know what to expect! (Don't ever believe what you read, work it out for yourselves, We learnt.) On arrival to the park, it was clearly signposted to all of your amenities. Us living only an hour away, we like to make a start on our holiday early (with a large family of 5 kids and 5 adults I'm sure you'll understand that 'Hanging around' isn't an option!!) , going with the plan that if our caravan wasn't ready we'd pop into the pool or down to the beach. Arrived at the reception 11.30am friendly Staff one in particular, Beth. Caravans were both ready!! Amazed we drove over to our caravans M3 and M8. They were absolutely fantastic. Clean, tidy all you could want was in there, brilliantly kitted out, A welcome pack with tea, coffee, milk and sugar was definitely appreciated. Beautiful decking with outside furniture. After settling in we took a walk up-to the clubhouse area, had a spot of lunch on the decking, food from the snack shack was lovely. We went to the restaurant in the evening with was absolutely fab, great prices, friendly staff and lush food. Entertainment was great although you need to get to the showroom before 6 otherwise you were out of luck for seats! We were offered an extra nights stay for a reasonable fee, which we did! On the last night we won bingo, TWICE! Which finished the holiday beautifully. So much to do on and off the park, Swimming pool was lovely, crazy golf, play parks are fab, all weather pitch, arcades. Short walk to Goodrington where we visited Quaywest 'AKA' Splashdown was absolute fun. Had a lovely day at Paignton Zoo and Woodlands. Great trip into Brixham (advised to use the park & ride) and a short drive to Torquay. We really couldn't fit anything else in if we tried. All-in-all a great, memorable holiday! Well done Hoborne Devon Bay, give yourselves a pat on the back. We'll definitely be back. Thanks.

Room Tip: Go for gold!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experiences with us at Hoburne Devon Bay. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
291 reviews
15.5 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 25 in Paignton
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range: £21 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing