We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoburne Devon Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
382
178
56
19
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
382
178
56
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolplatinum caravansammy the seahorsesun holidaywelcome packentertainment teamsoft playholiday parkwashing up liquidgoodrington sandsfamily holidaychanging facilitieson arrivalhaven siteclean caravanevening entertainmentnext year
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 658 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Decided to try here instead of our usual 'Haven Devon Cliffs'. Got here early at about 12, even though our book in wasn't until 4. We was able to use all the facilities and we kept popping in to see if our caravan was ready, but it wasn't ready until exactly 4 pm.

Our caravan was a gold one (D24), with veranda. Was situated in a lovely spot with plenty of adjacent parking and only a couple of minutes walk to the facilities. Nice clean caravan, although there was only enough bedding for one bed!, but this was sorted by a trip back to reception. The camp itself is lovely and quiet, and there was a good security presence all throughout the day. I was particularly surprised to see a security guard stationed at the front gate no matter what time of day or night we seemed to drive through!

The camp has two pools, one indoor and out. The indoor one is a nice size, clean with a flume for the kids. The major criticism is that the water was VERY warm. It was like getting into a warm bath. The weather was very hot, but it didn't feel very refreshing to use the pool as it was so warm. The outside pool was a nice size. I didn't personally use it, but my husband and son did. They said it was cold to begin with, as expected with an outdoor pool, but you got used to it! The criticism for this pool was that the pool didn't open until 10 am, but even when we got there at 10.30 ALL of the sun beds had been taken, not by people sitting on them but by towels. I had to sit on the steps whilst my son went swimming as there was nowhere else to sit, and even though I was sat there for a good hour, there still wasn't many people on the beds they were obviously just reserving them for later, which seemed a bit unfair and a bit of a waste.

Facilities wise, I think we have been spoilt with going to a bigger park. The complex felt a bit dated. The showbar was a nice size and you could easily get a seat throughout the evening. There was a ball park for the kids which was manned by staff in the evening. The children's area felt a bit 'grubby' and where people ate their breakfasts there in the morning the area smelt of food all day. The restaurant was very small, and looking at the menu, it didn't seem very appetising, but as I didn't eat there I can't comment on the quality. There is an arcade but this was downstairs to all the other facilities, so in the evening whilst we were in the bar area, my son wasn't able to go to the arcade as it was downstairs well out of sight.

Like I said, perhaps I have been spoilt by a bigger camp! The camp itself is in a lovely setting and the main plus is its location. By car, a couple of miles either way to Paignton and Brixham. The beach at Goodrington is a short walk or an even shorter drive!

If you like nice quiet camps, it's the perfect place!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks for your great review. We're glad you decided to try Devon Bay this year and hope you'll come back and stay with Hoburne again! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great site, excellent facilities. Entertainment for all the family. Caravan nice, clean and has everything you need. Lots to do on site and loads locally. Site is friendly, clean and I feel safe. Children have made friends easily with surrounding families. There's a local bus service this year to Paignton which is good if you want a day out and don't want to drive.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks for your review, we're really pleased that you're enjoying Devon Bay the more you visit! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just finished my second holiday at this site with family and friends. Once again we've had a great time.

The facilities are great and we managed to get some brilliant weather which makes this part of the world even more stunning.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. However one thing let it down for me this year and it was an incident at the food bar next door to the showbar.

My friend asked how big the pizzas were and the guy went to a freezer and pulled out a shop bought pizza and showed my friend and said 'this big.'

That's fine, however they were charging £10.95 for this pizza. For a frozen supermarket pizza! Then the cook also prepared an order for another man in two parts, the first part cooked then left 15 minutes while they cooked the other part of the order then gave it to the customer who saw it happen and asked for their money back.

If the food bar was sorted this site woukd be pretty much perfect, it just let the week down sadly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank JamesStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks for your review. We're glad the majority of your holiday was great! Our apologies for the issues you mentioned about the food bar. These are being investigated. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have been using Haven for the last 10 years and fancied a change this year, we were concerned if Hobourne would match up but they did and we were very pleased with site and the caravan.. The caravan was cleaned to a high standard and the site in general was excellent. A couple of little points may improve it though, the paths to the caravans were fine but we hit good dry weather and I can see them being slippery in wet weather as they are all on grass and a direct outdoor link between the 2 swimming pools would save the walk through the play park and amusements terrace. Security was very evident and we wondered why but after a chat with the very pleasant security staff it was explained that it was to make sure all those using the sites facilities were residents they made us feel really safe and happy to let our children enjoy the site.
The only problem which is inherent in the whole area are the seagulls, don't leave your food for a second whether it is on your table or in your hand or you WILL lose it. Torbay council need to look at this problem.#
Cheers from one very happy family who all in all a great holiday and we will happily rebook Hobourne again. Dave Drake-Browning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davgay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thanks for your great review, we're looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked through The Sun and upgraded to gold.
Quickly booked in with friendly receptionist.
Parking was excellent and close to the caravan.
The caravan was huge and very clean.
Nice little extras provided including tea, coffee and cleaning bits.
Amazing bathroom with an outstanding shower.
The kitchen was new and modern with a brilliant fridge/freezer, microwave and a full size cooker.
The living area had two sofas with a table and tv which was of a good size.
There was a lovely outside decking area with table and chairs which was brill to kick back and enjoy the sun on the English Riviera.
Club house is the best we have been too both for cleanliness, things to do and view out towards Goodrington beach/sea. Bingo was 50p per person admission and 3 pounsd a full book. Houses were generally starting on game one at 20 pounds, game two 30 pounds and game three anything from 50 pounds on. It is a bit slow going on the bingo and a wee bit cheesy but not too bad.
The little shop on site was quite reasonable and even wine etc was probably only 1.50 more than normal. Held lots of good stuff to save having to go out.
Lots to do locally including Torquay beach, Paignton Pier, Paignton Zoo,Steam railway and Babbacombe Model Village. HINT check your welcome pack when you check in at Hobourne as there are discount vouchers included for local attractions.
All in all we really enjoyed Hobourne Devon Bay and would return in the future. Only point worth baring in mind is that this holiday park is based on hill.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks for your great review of Hoburne Devon Bay. We're pleased that you really enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again for another great holiday! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews