We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall loved every minute of this holiday. Staff were great, entertainment good. Only niggles were the site is very hilly and the restaurant choices. Would have liked the disco to run a little later 11pm just seemed a tad early but there are local residents so understand why. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janelounorellj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    146
    47
    15
    15
See reviews for
376
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Come down to stay for a fewdays as family already down here and have booked to come back for a week next year. Only problem was the breakfast on the Saturday morning took an hour for it to come, but they weren't that busy and chef was stressey. I hope they sort this out. Apart from that lovely place to stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank clairesteve20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for your review, your feedback is essential for showing us areas we need to focus on to improve our customer experience. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have just returned from a week on this site, myself, husband and 4 children, caravan was amazing, big clean and even had 2 toilets!! The 2 pools were good and we made good use of them, food wise we didnt bother trying any of the restaurants due to astronomical pricing and watching the food go past to other diners it really didnt look worth the money, few niggles are that the microwave in the caravan was over a year out of PAC test (illegal surely?) although there is security they seem to do little but stand at the main door, i saw many teen girls being brought alcohol by older boys and this just seemed to be overlooked, if you go into the clubhouse after 6pm you will NOT get a seat, room is exceptionally small for the size of the park!! I thought the entertainment was appauling, including the travelling acts. The area surrounding the park is phenominal with something for everyone from steam train and waterparks to beaches and amusements, we stayed here last year and we most likely will come again as generally we had a good time, just need to fine tune a few things.

Room Tip: booking a gold or platinum caravan seems to get the best pitches, anything less and you could have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for your review. Your feedback will help us improve the site for the future. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from this great park from 2nd-9th August 14 with my wife and three young children.
Okay reading from past recent reviews I will say, yes the restaurant could do with a spruce up but it's still exceptable and we eat there every night and good was cooked very well.
Can I say a big well done to the entertaments manager Kev, he is very good at what he does with the mic and effort he puts into his shows, ( I had to tell him this as I hope he stays at here next year)

We had a fantastic caravan L21 through H&H. Brand new this year.

Keep up the good work, few tips, spend some money on the restutrant, maybe a paint. Entertament room could be made wider.
Perhaps do bingo before Sammy show begins and keep it as a family friendly park no slobs or rough people.

By the way, going back to the very recent review, if it was that rough we would not be going to the entertament every night.

We will be back in 2015, will be our 5th year.
The Hunt family

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunt12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for your kind review and where you'd like to see improvements on the park. This is vital to us and helps us identify locations or areas our customers would like to see improved for their next stay. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is the forth year we have been to Devon Bay, we have also been to Minehead, must say I found the staff most helpful and the response from any problems we may have had were dealt with efficiently. I have two teenagers so the clubhouse for us was great they enjoyed both swimming pools and the other facilities around the site. The site itself was clean and efficiently run. We are looking to go back the end of August for a long weekend. We will most certainly be returning next year as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Veneta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for your great review! We're pleased you and your family really enjoy visiting Devon Bay and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Why, why, why do British caravan parks attract a certain type of clientele? We hired a 3 berth top of the range caravan for a family of 6, two young teenagers and two 11 year olds. The caravan was new, well decorated and clean. It was located on what should have been a quieter area of the park, but we had not been told there was a big building site in the adjacent field making it particularly noisy when sitting out on our balcony.

A visit to the clubhouse in the evening left me wanting a prescription of Prozac! Tattoos, screaming kids, football tops, rude teenagers, rubbish and cigarette ends everywhere. Topped with run down buildings, chip fat smell and bingo/entertainment hall, please someone wake me from the nightmare! Our children did however enjoy the outdoor pool in the day and sometimes, when not too busy with babies in nappies, the indoor pool and flume.

We try to go out all day anyway and the steam train and boat trip to Dartmouth was fabulous, a very pretty little town. Please avoid Paignton, unless you like cheap and tacky back to back fatty food eateries with fatty people eating in them, and we ponder why our nation is continuing to get bigger! Goodrington Sands, a fairly long walk from the caravan park was OK, reddish sands and slightly dirty beach didn't manage to coax me to sunbathe there. Tacky waterpark nearby, the kids will love of course.

We compromised this year as planning a very costly trip next year but this was so disappointing. We have so many beautiful places in the UK but somehow we still manage to get it so wrong.

Do yourself a favour, save more and try Center Parcs. Of course it depends on your expectations. This place sadly did not meet ours and we have travelled extensively throughout the UK and a Worldwide. Devon however continues to be a beautiful part of our country. Review by a professional couple.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
9 Thank Sammi517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for your review. It's a shame to hear that you didn't enjoy the park. Your feedback is essential to our decisions for the future of our parks and we will use it to improve and build upon the experiences we offer. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just got back yesterday from a great week spent at this site. Firstly, this park is in a great location - only 10 mins walk from the beach and plenty to do in the area to keep children entertained. We arrived at the park over 2 hours before check-in and our caravan was ready - which we thought was excellent. Reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient.

Our caravan was a Platinum and it was wonderful. Modern, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The site was well laid out and parking was very easy and close to the caravan.

The two swimming pools were both great, changing facilities clean and well maintained. The children's park and indoor play areas were also well kept and provided great entertainment for my two children (aged 6 and 3). We went to the clubhouse one evening and the children enjoyed the character entertainment and the disco. Bar prices were reasonable.

I appreciate that people have different expectations and experiences when they go on holiday but I must disagree with a previous reviewer and say that in our experience the other holidaymakers were perfectly civil and respectful.

Overall, a very enjoyable week, made even better by great weather. If we were to holiday in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to return to this site.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you and your family had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed your accommodation and the facilities on offer at the park. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,588 reviews
2.2 mi away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
13.8 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Property: Hoburne Devon Bay
Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing