We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a perfect hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Russell Hotel
Ranked #91 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I'd just like to say a BIG thank you to Ann & Paul the owners of the Russell hotel. Myself and wife stayed there for a long weekend. Our room had a balcony that looked directly over the sea, the room was clean, spacious and had all the amenities we could need. The food and the service that we received was second to none and the owners could not do enough. They were very friendly and helpful. IF YOU ARE STAYING IN PAIGNTON AND WANT TO STAY IN A HOTEL WITH EXCELLENT FOOD, CLEAN ROOMS AND EXCELLENT SERVICE THEN DON'T LOOK ANY FURTHER.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

we have stayed 5 times now and will return again, ann and paul are great hosts and very welcoming , food is always good the rooms are comfortable and the location is excellent if just stopping for the night or travelling around devon or onto cornwall, got to be best find in the area.. dave.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

as an ex coach driver having stayed at many hotels i can honestly say from time of arrival with lovely friendly welcome from hosts ann & paul to the beautiful clean room with stunning sea view & balcony and the perfect start to the day with proper full english breakfast and finished off with superb 5 course evening meal was just fabulous. The hospitality , cleanliness of hotel & room the wonderful food will certainly take sum beating , without doubt will return and will reccomend to all my family, friends & customers many thanks for a perfect hoiday

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We got to the hotel at 8:30 pm. We had booked dinner which was at 6:30pm. Paul and Ann was absolutely wonderful they still cooked and served us dinner at 8:30 pm. It was the best dinner I have tasted in my travels. Our rooms was awesome sea views and very clean. Paul and Ann went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. I have stayed in 5 star Hotels before but Russell Hotel is better than them. They are not expensive either. I would rate this hotel 10 out of 10 in all areas. Thank you Paul and Ann for looking after us so well during our stay we would have stayed longer if we could have done.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

5 of us from the Midlands stayed at the Russell Hotel from Friday 11th May until Monday 14th May and we chartered a fishing boat with Kellys Heros on the Sunday. From the moment we arrived Paul & Ann were the perfect hosts. Breakfast & Evening meals were outstanding. One of our group has special dietary needs (which were fully catered for). The rooms were immaculate and the atmosphere was totally welcoming and relaxing. On the day of our fishing trip Ann prepared a packed lunch and provided cool boxes,flasks etc. Upon our return, we were able to freeze our catch in the hotel freezer.
Our every need and wish was fully catered for. Cannot wait to get back soon. Well done Paul & Ann.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulClose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a truely wonderful stay with Paul and Ann.
The hotel was was immaculate from top to bottom.
The breakfast was fantastic a proper full English breakfast it kept us going for the full day.
Our room (No 2) was beautiful with magnificent sea views across the bay even though it was April we made full use of the balcony.
I cant praise these people enough the icing on the cake for me was coming down to breakfast on the 11th April which was my 50th birthday to find a bottle of bubbly, a bar of chocolate and a card this was more than some of my family had done for me.
we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We've just returned from another lovely holiday at the Russell Hotel. This is our 3rd visit and we have already booked for Easter. The rooms are spotless and very well presented; the food is excellent; Paul does a 'mean' full English breakfast and the evening meal is 5 courses!
Ann and Paul are lovely people who cannot do enough for their guests, they always make us feel very welcome. The hotel is in a prime position right by the beach; well worth a visit.

Room Tip: You can ask for a sea view if available but all of the rooms that we've stayed in have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Lodge
Sefton Lodge
#65 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 100 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#60 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 31 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely hotel on the sea front with stunning sea views and recently refurbished to a high standard. Close to all attractions and restaurants. Free collection from train/bus stations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing