We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who sends in all these good reviews?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbarn Farm Cottages & Angling Centre
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Within our travels around Devon to fish for carp; Newbarn Angling Centre was by far the worst.
We went there on the 27th Sept 2011 hoping for good things as we had read all the reports prior to our holiday. Imagine our surprise when we found the carp lake had lost nearly all of its water. We were informed by one of the staff that it had sprung a leak and that all the rain over the Torbay area had missed them. We were then directed to a higher lake which was impossible to reach by the car ( I am disabled ) In the end we gave up. Newbarn should inform people via their website of any problems. We wasted our time: but more than that I feel sorry for the people who had booked a holiday there. At the moment this place is just hyped up to be something it is not.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Newbarn Farm Cottages & Angling Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were looking for an unusual wedding reception venue.. We hired the main 'block' of cottages to open them up and used the field for a large tent, hog roast, stage set-up & the lil'ones could run around...FAB evening, fab views towards Dartmoor and the cottages where very clean & well presented (the Buzzard catching his dinner in the field was a nice surprise!) We're local so know the area, but finding this as an alternative venue has made our day!! Catherine & Richard went out of their way to help...if your looking for somewhere for a family get-together/anniversary/celebration we would say its a great place to make it more intimate & private...Everyone who attended our 'doo' gave the cottages 10/10...the only draw back we could see is disability access.

Room Tip: It's off the track but not far, good as a central point to travel out & about...esp if you l...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Actually stayed there in July, 2006. I chose the earliest date on the list.
My paternal ancestor, Deacon Samuel Chapin, and come over to Massachusetts in 1638 from Paignton, and is memoralized in the church there, so my daugter had the idea of the whole family going to Paignton. She found Newbarn Farm and it was the ideal place. We stayed in a total of 3 of the cottages -- 7 adults and 5 pre-teens and teens from 4 families. From the Farm, we were able to travel to Dartmoor, Dartmouth, Totnes, Torquay, and all through the wonderful little cottage areas and villages. We took the boat trip from Totnes to Darmouth and back on the little "Thomas the Train" steam engine, saw the wild ponies on the moors and went to the farm for them. We got a wonderful personal tour of the old church in Paignton. The young adults loved Totnes.

We were able to cook almost all meals at our cottages, and the rooms were comfortable for evening relaxing. The kids loved the trampoline, and spent one session fishing with Grandpa. In short, we would all recommend this for a family, and I'm sure a couple would enjoy it as a central location for this part of England just as much.

Our trip was in July 2006. I would love to return to Devon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SharonToji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages and were pleasantly surprised by how well equipped they were. Clean and tidy with great views of the country side. Richard the manager gave us a very warm welcome and was extremely helpful.
Not being a fisherman was not a problem as the cottages are set back from the fishing lakes, not that there was any noise.
This was a great romantic get away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tattersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Recently stayed at the facility and in total there were a total of 12 people and 2 dogs that stayed for a week. We have to say we all had a fantastic time and Richard and his team were very attentive and helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was a problem for them although to be fair there was nothing untoward that happened. Kids and dogs loved the open fields and fishing and the adults basically just chilled and had a very relaxing week. Would recommend Newbarn Farm Cottages to anyone who wished to spend some time in the Paignton area and who dosent mind being just out of the hustle and bustle of the town itself

Room Tip: All of the rooms were very well decorated and kept in tip top condition. No complaints could be leve...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
2.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
399 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
75 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#68 of 96 in Paignton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbarn Farm Cottages & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbarn Farm Cottages & Angling Centre

Address: Totnes Road, Paignton TQ4 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range: £30 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newbarn Farm Cottages & Angling Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your piece of tranquility between Dartmoor and Paignton. 8 luxury self catering holiday cottages in South Devon. What do you want from your holiday? Breathtaking views over a world-class national park? Activities for the kids? Bustling harbour towns or dramatic walking terrain? The sort of bed you’re thrilled to sink into? Newbarn has all this – and much more.Why Newbarn? Situated between wild Dartmoor and the holiday town of Paignton, Newbarn Farm is the perfect base for exploring dozens of attractions. The farm really does have everything: glorious views, fresh groceries, barbeques, even a footy field – lots of special touches to make your holiday magical. Adults will love the breathtaking views and the Devon brownies; meanwhile, the kids are certain never to forget our trampoline!What to expect As you meander down the private drive to Newbarn, you’ll discover just how special it is – a haven you’d never expect to find just a stone’s throw from so many amenities. Newbarn is home to eight holiday cottages, each with its own character and charm. Renovated to a very high standard, your holiday cottage is equipped extremely thoughtfully. What to do on your holiday Experience wild Dartmoor and enjoy Devon ice-cream in Paignton, or take a bird watching trip from the harbour. You can do nothing or everything from your holiday base at Newbarn.Fishing in Devon, Newbarn Farm situated on the south coast of Devon, is an ideal location for fishing in Devon with well stocked tranquil lakes, Devon promises to leave a lasting impression, please use the following link for more information on fishing in Devon. Devon Fishing Holidays Devon fishing holidays with breathtaking scenery, is the perfect location to introduce the family to carp and specimen fishing, alternatively walkers and hikers can also enjoy Devon’s wild and rocky coastline, please use the following link for more information on Devon fishing holidays. Holiday Cottages and Fishing Our luxurious well-equipped accommodation, offers all the creature comforts to help you relax after a long day fishing or exploring Devon, for more information and availability on our holiday cottages and fishing facilities please use the following link for more information on holiday cottages and fishing. Self Catering Cottages and Fishing Newbarn Farm has an impressive selection of top quality self catering cottages and fishing facilities right on your doorstep, we are confident you will want to return to the wild coast of Devon again and again, please use the following link for more information on self catering cottages and fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbarn Farm Cottages & Angling Centre Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing