We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as brochure or internet review says”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Hotel
Ranked #88 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as brochure or internet review says”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel...was shabby outside with weeds growing on the entrance steps, cig ends all over the place, crumbling and flaking paintwork etc.etc.
Room was dingy and the furniture was right out of the nineteen forties. Dark brown really outdated wardrobe and dressing table (probably got them from a carboot sale). The dressing table had a electric extension lead on it because the double socket on the wall would only take one plug.
No staff or reception after 8pm and doors locked at 10pm????No bar, no drinks such as coffee or tea after 8pm, GOD knows what would have happened if someone got stuck in the lift or their was a fire after 8pm???
I use the term GOD lightly because we did not know that this was a very religious hotel, morning and evening prayers and religious songs were the order of the day. I AM NOT AGAINST OTHERS WHO HAVE THEIR BELIEFS but their was nothing else for the NORMAL residents. We had to endure all of this plus evenings of singing were the most modern song they knew was 'Nelly the elephant' I remember my grandparents singing these types of songs in the fifties on coach trips, I am,by the way 67years of age and grew up in the late forties and fifties and enveloped all changes in music and everything else through the ages, but the hotel and the 'frequent' patrons to this hotel seem to be stuck in a time warp. It should be made clear in all advertising for this hotel that if you are not deeply religious or you don't like anything after 1930 then find another hotel.
I wonder when the AA rated this hotel 3star?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    16
    18
    14
See reviews for
21
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My mother and I had a really enjoyable stay for 5 nights at the Park Hotel, prior to my taking up a new clergy appointment. The room was really comfortable, the cooked breakfast was tasty & filling, the hosts were great. Furthermore, the Christian atmosphere makes it a unique environment and truly warm and welcoming. The location is also really central, and ideal for exploring the Torbay area. We look forward to returning there again at some stage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have been to Paignton many times but this time we decided to stay at the Park Hotel, When we arrived yes it does make you look back in time, but the staff are very friendly, the rooms very adequate and spotless. We were on the front and had the windows open all night, yes a little noise but not too much, and thats good for us because we are used to quiet. Breakfast was very good, we always had a cooked one but that was our choice. Fruit juice, porridge, cereals or fruit followed by Bacon, Beans, Eggs, Sausage etc. But every day you had different choices of sausage,(cumberland, lancashire, pork,) tomatoes, mushrooms.hash browns followed by toast,jams and coffee, tea. Just a few streets away from the High Street and over the road from the pier, lovely view. We had a very enjoyable holiday and will be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: we had a room on the front but probable if you want a quieter room you need one on the back, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were looking for a quiet and relaxed setting to take our sons both learning disabled. the staff were very welcoming and we sat in the restaurant which was light, airy and well presented. We ordered from their lunchtime menu which had a great selection including roast of the day and two vegetarian meals. Our party ordered steak, fish and chips and the vegetarian option. All were ample servings and really well cooked, including home made tartare sauce.

We were served by a very friendly and kind waitress, who was extremely helpful.

With desserts and coffee the bill came to £50.00 foe 4 people, which we felt we a very good price for the meal we enjoyed.

If you want a place far from the madding and maddening crowds of Paignton with a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, do stop off and try the Park Hotel for lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunburnt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

If you want friendly helpful staff this is the place for you. We have stayed in all sorts of hotels in various countries and found some good and some really rubbish places. The worst hotels we have stayed in have been in the uk. Including some from the big hotel groups. We arrived at the Park to be greeted by a really happy host which was such a change from the cold matter of fact greeting we have received at many others. We were shown to our room which had sea views, but we felt it was a little small and we asked if we could have a bigger room. They gave us a family room which was amazingly big, and so well equipped. Every Thing was really clean and the en-suite was excellent. There was a mixture of older and young guests staying and each seemed to be catered for. We will come again and stay longer next time. Great value for money. Happy staff. Love it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rogert87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbury on thames
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed 1 night 8th May, arrived at 12.30 and to my surprise the room was for me. As I was leaving at 4oclock in the morning this was very welcome..The room was clean, nice en suit & plenty on tea,coffee,biscuits etc.
The main problem was the very thin walls and the door to the room.
I could hear word for word the couple in the next room, even above my tv. the doors didn't shut very quietly, so all night you heard people coming and going.
The car park and the location were pluses as the clean room, but don't go if you want a quiet nights sleep.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are good but on a hot day expect to hear some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I have recently stayed here, having not visited Paignton before we were not sure what to expect of the hotel or resort. The hotel was lovely, a bit dated in places, but that only added to the charm in my eyes. The staff were polite, and on the whole, friendly and approachable. The room was homely and comfy. The location is superb. On balance we were happy with our stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARK HOTEL, PAIGNTON, is a large family run hotel, situated in a prime position overlooking Paignton Green and Seafront.We offer a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere to all our guests, regardless of age.Devon's mild climate makes Park Hotel Paignton an ideal base for enjoying what the area has to offer while on vacation. A perfect hotel for family holidays, coach parties, individual guests, long stay winter guests and business people.PARK HOTELWe can provide:- single, double or family sized bedrooms.- freshly prepared meals, everyday.- Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner menu's for staying guests.- Cream Tea's, Light Lunches, 4-Course Sunday Roast.We can also cater for:- Parties- Coffee Mornings- Club Meetings- Funeral Receptions, etc.Facilities include:- FREE PRIVATE CAR PARK for guests and customers- Large sun-lounge- Concert lounge- Licensed restaurant- Games room- Disabled access and bedroomsHOME DELIVERY LUNCHWe also provide a private care in the community, home delivery lunch service. It is available 365 days a year and includes a varied choice of meals. We can deliver to Paignton, Torquay, Brixham and Totnes. Please enquire for more information on our meals delivery service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing